We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Starbucks

Original Starbucks
1912 Pike St, Corner with 1st Avenue, Seattle, WA (Pike Place Market)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Original Starbucks like an insider
Private Tour
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Seattle Highlights
Ranked #87 of 506 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See where it all started: America's most popular coffeehouse is Seattle's biggest claim to fame.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Original starbucks store (Seattle) and upon entering the door all the staff are smiling and greeted us what a great start of the day. We ordered our usual coffee and tea, buy a souvenir mug and we even get a free taste of caramel flan latte. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    170
    129
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very cool to see. Extremely long lines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Even though I am not a coffee drinker, this was a must see. I was with friends who ordered various coffee drinks. Small quaint shop. Be prepared to wait in a very long line if you want to get in. Not sure I would go back to this location as Starbucks has many other locations. It was a "Be there, Do that" one time experience. I was impressed at watching the baristas handle multiple very specific orders.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Iconic, but nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Crowded, very small shop, no chairs to sit on, bad parking, but of course as a tourist you just have to go and take a picture to post on your Facebook to show off to your friends about it.

Good thing is it is across from Pike Place Market, so go to Starbucks and see the market as well. If its just to see Starbucks, I'd say no.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Caffeine with a side of shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It was a fun, touristy thing to do while visiting Pike's Place Market across the way. We were able to pick up some mugs & t-shirts that will make great gifts since this is the only place you can get them. I'm still kicking myself for not getting their bags of special roast since I can now think of a half dozen folks who I'm sure would like it in their x-mas stocking. There was a line but it moved quickly & the staff were delightful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very popular place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Seemingly millions of Starbucks, and here's where it all began. Well, kinda. The original Starbucks was actually at 2000 Western Avenue, the moved to Pike Place Market where the "original" is now. No matter. Every time I walked past, there was a line out front, people taking pictures, and a general excitement in the air.

I didn't find it all that exciting but many will if they really love Starbucks. The Pike Market store is actually pretty small so if you have any fellow feeling, you really can't linger inside for very long. Someone else is hovering to take your seat.

If you're into souvenirs, the store is well-stocked with mugs and tumblers and similar stuff. For me, it was just another store and the Pike Market has much more interesting things to offer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Starbucks also viewed

 

Been to Original Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Starbucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.