We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What! No food....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Starbucks

Original Starbucks
1912 Pike St, Corner with 1st Avenue, Seattle, WA (Pike Place Market)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Original Starbucks like an insider
Private Tour
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Seattle Highlights
Ranked #87 of 506 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See where it all started: America's most popular coffeehouse is Seattle's biggest claim to fame.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What! No food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

and not much for tea drinkers. I visited because of the historic value and the atmosphere was ok. There was a busker outside, Bruce, lovely voice singing 70's songs to match the era in which Starbucks began. Inside the coffee was efficiently served but the rest of the shop was full of displays of cups and packs of coffee for sale.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    170
    129
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cool to see in person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

yes. first starbucks. but night life venue? probably not.
lol unless u wanna stay up late and walking down to pike for no reason but to go by the water front

its nice during the day. i wouldnt personally come down at night though, then again, thats just me

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You have to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Service was quick. There was a long line out the door but didn't have to wait long. Its the original so you should definitely visit if you're a Starbucks fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am a huge coffee addict so it only seemed natural that I would visit the birthplace of Starbucks. Whether you like the organization or not, I believe it is worthwhile to visit the original starbucks simply because it has become such a large part of the culture. In many ways, this is storefront has become a part of the story (for better or worse) of what our country has been and is becoming.

The people were very nice (as they normally are at startbucks) and it was generally a good experience to see a piece of americana...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Fairly Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hey ....... I don't even drink coffee, but wanted to visit "The Original" at 1912 Pike Place to purchase my wife a small gift (I'm no fool). It was crowded, but the line moved fairly quickly. The 4 man A capella R&B group on the street serenaded us with some classics. The staff in the store were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The mug and tumbler I purchased were very well priced, to my surprise and delight. Am home now .... my wife let me in ...... and she absolutely loves the items!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Starbucks also viewed

 

Been to Original Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Starbucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.