We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - perfect for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talaris Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Talaris Conference Center to your Saves list
Talaris Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it - perfect for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location, will absolutely return the next time we need a place to stay in Seattle.

Room Tip: When booking be sure to ask about the Lodge vs. the Suites so that you get the type of room you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
24
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the night before riding in the Seattle to Portland bike ride. The starting line for the ride is at Husky Stadium and Talaris is only about a mile from the stadium. We were able to ask for an early check in and were accommodated with friendly smiles and the utmost politeness. The staff are very friendly and we felt like our business was appreciated. The room was spotlessly clean and had nice amenities, and the complimentary snack bar was really nice.
The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, set in a beautiful residential neighborhood (made it VERY quiet and peaceful), and the UW Botanic Garden is just a few steps away (check it out, it's lovely) We walked to restaurants and shops and had a nice meal. I would highly recommend this hotel for a nice stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at Talaris for our son's UW graduation. Here are the positive experiences and reasons we selected Talaris.
- able to reserve for just 1 night
- proximity to UW
- gorgeous grounds!
- VALUE! You will not find a larger, cleaner, nicer room in Seattle unless you stay at a $$$$ property
- continental breakfast plus
- comfortable linens and bed
- SUPER QUIET locale! No freeway or university noise

We are travelers on a budget and appreciated everything this great place offered.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer area of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We travelled with our dog and loved having beautiful open green spaces for him to exercise in, as Seattle seems to be a very fenced in dog friendly type of city. It was right near the conference we were attending and minutes from the university. The city was 15 minutes away, but I5 made it easy for us to be dropped off in which every part of the city we preferred. for a country landscape and setting admist a city, this is a nice spot

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had family that came to Seattle for the Husky/Husker Game in September. I looked for accommodations where they would be comfortable, the price would be reasonable and they would be close to the stadium. At the end of their stay I asked what they thought about the lodging. These were their comments:

- How did we get so lucky? This place is fabulous

¨ I love the way the rooms all open up and you can go from one to the other – not at
all like a regular hotel where you are stuck in one room

¨ When you are in a hotel one room becomes the “party room” – isn’t it great that they
have the common area for visiting and hanging out

¨ Mom – why haven’t we ever stayed here before? This is awesome!

¨ I’m never telling my friends about this place – it will always be full (They actually will
brag about it when they get back so no worriesJ)

¨ I can’t believe the open space outside it’s just like a park

¨ The walk to the stadium was perfect – we could have fun and not drive

¨ I don’t want to leave!!!!

¨ That Andrew is so wonderful – do you know that he actually walked us to the
location and then came back to check a couple of times to see if we had everything
we needed – what hotel would do that??

¨ Bob was so nice when we went to set up the welcome basket – he just seemed
like family right off the bat

Once this place is discovered you're going to have a hard tim getting in!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Talaris is like an oasis in the middle of a huge city. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The staff was excellent. Kevin the front desk person went out of his way to find us a taxi when the taxi couldn't find us. The continental breakfast was superb and the General Manager went out of his way to make us feel at home. The staff at Talaris are a fine example of the high standards shown at Columbia Hospitality Properties.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My stay at Talaris over Labor Day was due to an unusua situation.

Imagine this: you've planned your vacation/holiday to the letter, you think. All letters of confirmation, printed. All flight details, sorted out.

Then, the day before you're due in Seattle (after a few idyllic days on San Juan Island), you get a voice mail message from a rather odd-sounding B&B manager, saying she's canceling your reservation because she didn't receive a check (huh?). She had your legit credit card number.

So, it's Labor Day weekend in Seattle. Bumbershoot. You're SOL.

I was at Lakedale's lodge desk, and they were present for my freakout.

So they kindly said, you know we actually have a sister property in Seattle? It's a conference center, so I think they may be able to accommodate you."

It wasn't walking distance to downtown Seattle. There were closed-off roads which made it tougher to get around. It wasn't the neighborhood I wanted to be in...but....

It worked out and I can't say enough about how lovely I was treated by the staff that weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talaris Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.