We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 6th Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This was a great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Free shuttle to down town, Easy walk to the Space Needle, Walgreens right across the street, 2 blocks to Mc Donald's,
Stayed 2 night before a cruise the shuttle recommend by front desk was wonderful.
Everything was clean and free wi-fi. I will stay at this Hyatt Place again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    190
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
220
162
23
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Now, this hotel is our new family favourite. We stayed here for four relaxing nights, in a king bed suite that comfortably accommodated all of us (my wife, me, our teenage boy and our 8-year-old son) thanks to the comfy sleeper sofa. We didn’t need to get a bigger (and costlier) suite with twin queen beds.

Hyatt Place granted our request for a higher-floor room ---- in our case, on the topmost 9th floor. That made a big difference --- we enjoyed the rear-facing view of part of the Seattle skyline and the residential Cascade and Capitol Hill neighborhoods beyond (the gas station directly below might have marred the view from a lower-floor room). Well, there was this garish pink neon elephant sign (at a car wash lot across Denny Way) that kept rotating day and night, but that only added zany flavour to the view.

Room amenities were top-notch --- desk, a good-sized fridge and counter, a flat-screen TV, bright and cheerful lighting, a fresh feel overall. The king bed was a real dream machine ---- just-right softness and luxurious covers --- and puts 5-star hotels to shame. The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable too (we didn’t even have to pull out the full sofa bed, that’s how spacious the sofa was).

The closet is a bit cramped and hard to find, tucked away behind the TV area and a mirror (at first we thought there was no closet), but it was serviceable. I would have preferred more drawers and storage space for a family with lots of luggage (but there were six open shelves right below the TV shelf in the center divider of the room). The shower and toilet are inside a small room, while the sink and washing area is outside … which made for an awkward arrangement, but you learn to live with it after a while.

Service was uniformly excellent, and I give this hotel top scores compared to many of the 5-star hotels I’ve tried. (And this isn’t a five-star hotel, more like an upscale 3-star business hotel.) The front desk personnel went out of their way to help us, even taking us on a gracious tour to show us the pool area, the gym, the brochure counter (which is in a hidden corridor well past the elevator area), the business center, breakfast lounge, etc.

We received great money-saving advice from John the shuttle driver on certain Seattle tourist spots, plus insightful tips on how to neutralize aggressive beggars and stay safe on the streets even at night. (I must say that the area surrounding the hotel seemed a lot safer now than it did on my last visit 18 years ago, when I stayed at a motel 2 blocks away from the Hyatt Place’s current location).

The free shuttle service is indeed a great perk, giving us access to much of downtown (at least up to the Westlake Square shopping area and the waterfront, but also up to the Queen Anne hill).

The free breakfast was quite satisfactory, with hot gourmet-style egg/muffin/ham combinations changing slightly every day plus other goodies (cereal, yoghurt, pancakes, juices, bread and rolls, etc.). It did get a bit monotonous on the third day, so a little more variety would have helped. Kudos to Janet, one of the breakfast hall staff, for her work ethic and amiable service. One drawback: the breakfast hall is far too small, and kept filling up rather early.

Overnight parking in the hotel basement is pricey at USD20 per night. Once you get over the confusing layout of the parking areas, it could be a little challenging to park a car that’s bigger than your average compact sedan in the cramped parking slots, but you get used to it. The moment we were done with our car-borne forays, we returned our car to the rental agency and availed of the free hotel shuttle and Seattle’s extensive transportation options, including ferry services. One tip: they let you park the car on the curb fronting the lobby entrance for 30 minutes max, ample time to unload luggage, go through check in services and settle down before taking the car to the parking levels.

Side story: On our third morning, the fire alarm rang, and we had to go through an emergency evacuation (this is no fire drill, the staff told us, and everyone rushed out into the street on a cold spring morning). It turned out to be a false alarm, just a bit of a scare, and naturally my wife and teenage son had to walk up the stairs, nine floors up, to return to the room (one disadvantage of a higher-floor room!). Elevator service was restored by the fire department about 20 minutes after the alarm sounded, per usual safety protocol. One elderly guest complained that there was no announcement to evacuate, but we told ourselves that when the alarm rings (loud and insistently), you don’t really need an announcement but you just have to run, run, run.

Small quibbles: We got conflicting information on taxi service to the airport, with one staffer telling us that they could call for a larger cab (with enough space for several suitcases) rather than the usual small sedans; but the staffer on duty at 5 am on our departure day said it couldn’t be done ---- but was able to make the arrangements anyway. We were initially charged for 3 days of parking when we only used 2, but that was cleared up quickly. The hotel also doesn’t accept travellers checks for payment, unlike other U.S. hotels we’ve tried (e.g. Holiday Inn Express in L.A.). Also, we were not allowed to pay for our room charges on the night before departure because of system constraints (I prefer to pay the night before to avoid last-minute delays and hassles at check out time, particularly if we have a flight to catch).

Warning: some of the streets near the hotel were closed for major construction projects (a subterranean tunnel, we were told), mainly around the Mercer street area north of the hotel and around Seattle Center, forcing us to improvise and find detours to get to and from the interstate and some areas.

In sum, though, this hotel was hospitable, elegant, convenient and blessed with a caring staff. I won’t hesitate to choose it again if we return to Seattle some day. Now if only we could forget that pink neon elephant grinning and spinning, grinning and spinning , grinning and spinning …..

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor. Rear-facing views from higher floor are OK. (Don't know about side-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We are staying one night prior to departing on a cruise tomorrow. The helpful desk staff coordinated the shuttle to pick us up at the light rail and we were able to check in at 9am at no additional charge. Had free breakfast which included an egg, bacon and cheese biscuit and juice- very good. Have enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked the room with a view so we had a great view of the needle right outside of our window. Close to a lot of the attractions in our city pass so we were able to walk most places. Walgreens right across the street - very convenient. Good service - most of the front desk were great, a few seemed more interested in their computers than saying hello when you come through the lobby. Breakfast is included - decent offerings, weekend options seemed better that weekday. Will definitely stay again when in the area. Good size rooms and very clean. Loved the huge shower!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Normally in a decent hotel you have staff in reception, bar, restaurant, concierge etc. but here you have a small multi-disciplinary team doing everything from checking in to waiting tables, so any of them can, and willingly do, help you with whatever you want. The design helps a lot, the front desk wraps round from bar through food area to reception so they can move freely between areas so you can check in, order food and a drink all at the same time. Very useful!
The breakfast (free) has a limited but very well chosen selection so you don't feel like you're missing out on choice. The rooms are large - I've seen much smaller "suites" - well laid out with lots of comfy seating, good work areas and a large, very comfortable, bed. The location is great, only a couple of blocks from the Space Needle and the free hotel shuttle will take you there if you don't care to walk. From the Needle you can take the monorail downtown so you don't have to park in motorist-hating Seattle. Secure parking is available at a reasonable price and the elevators go from the hotel to the parking levels - no dark stairwells.
For the savvy traveller who just wants a decent room and service without unnecessary, expensive add-ons this place is hard to beat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my first stay at the Hyatt Place Seattle and I will definitely stay there again. I had a room with a view of the Space Needle and the hotel offered free shuttle service within a one mile radius. They provided transportation to the convention center, Pike Place, the Pier, and other surrounding attractions. And the free breakfast options were particularly tasty--including an egg, spinach, tomato open face breakfast sandwich on a wheat bagel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay - it's in a great location with a free shuttle to anywhere that a tourist, or others, would want to go. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and the continental breakfast really is amazing. Lots of variety and always someone there cleaning up and re-filling foods. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. While there was sleeping room enough for everyone, there really was no privacy and the room seems quite small but it was clean. Pool was nice for the kids - very chlorinated - to the point the kids broke out in a rash from it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceSEA, Manager at Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We're sorry to hear about the rash after using our pool. Our pool is saline, so the chlorine is actually released by the salt in the pool and it should result in lower levels. We will check into this. In meantime, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Address: 110 6th Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.