We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average HP” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 6th Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Below average HP”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I love Hyatt Place's. This one was disappointing. The shuttle service was a joke. They say they'll pick you up off the train station - but instead ask you to walk a few blocks with all your luggage and then wait outside of a Starbucks amidst 40 teens all high on coffee and misc. Very inconvenient. Don't let the location fool you either - it's not that close to much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    189
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
219
162
23
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great overall hotel with central location to tower. The rooms were very clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities and maid service. Breakfast was provided in the cost and consisted of American type with fruit juices, cereals, toast etc.Having an ice making machine on every floor was a bonus. Good gym and quite a large swimming pool, although there appeared to be a lot of chlorine in it because of the colour of our swimsuits.However we all enjoyed it and there were lovely fluffy towels provided for the pool area alone. The Hotel is a step away from the Needle and the Ducks. Worthwhile seeing both of these. I would recommend the amphibian duck rides as you get to see Seattle on land and then go to sea, where you can view the house that was filmed in 'Sleepless in Seattle'. Overall a great experience and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a great night's stay for a girls night out. Our room was large and spacious so we weren't on top of one another. The beds, pillows, and couch were comfortable and we slept well. Very clean. Lobby was very open and comfortable. Service was great. Very easy to check-in with a self park garage below for $15. We didn't use the shuttle service since our dinner reservations were outside the mile radius but were able to get a Taxi right outside the hotel.

Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I've stayed here twice on business and once with family in the past year. Every time it's been a pleasant experience. Rooms are clean & comfortable. Pool is nice for the kids, but a bit warm for lap swimming. The location is great, in my opinion: walking distance to the Needle and nearby attractions (children's museum, nature/science museum, Experience Music Project, etc.). It's an easy walk or monorail ride downtown for business meetings. The only shortcoming is the continental breakfast: selection is a limited, for a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: Get two-queens + sleep sofa if you have a family. Our room slept 5 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on the last part of our holiday from Australia. I booked this hotel on price, recommendations and also the room style. The hotel was very neat and extremely clean. I found that this hotel is one of only a handful that has a fridge in the room. This comes in handy especially if you would like to keep some wine or fresh milk cold. We bought some cheese and wine from a winery tour, and as we had some left it was great to put it away for later. There was also a lounge area that was spacious and nice to relax in instead of having to sit just on the bed. The huge flat screen TV was also a bonus. I had requested a view of the Needle and I got just that - what a view at night! The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were just right and I slept very well. Loved the shower, huge shower head and nice hot water!! I enjoyed this hotel, nothing seemed to be a problem, the free 24 hour shuttle service was really good, as the main center of town was quite a walk. The shuttle drivers were very good, dropping you within a mile anywhere from the hotel. They even came to collect you later when you call them. Another bonus is the free internet access in your room and free local calls. This made it easy to book things for me as I did not have a mobile phone in the US. Breakfast was fine, fresh fruit and yoghurts, cereals, bagels, muffins and juices - all fresh. Coffee was available offered by the way of help yourself in the mornings and you could even take one with you. You could order a hot breakfast for a small fee if you wanted to. There was a small bar area where you could order a drink or a coffee and a samll selection of food and soft drinks that you could purchase. The staff were very attentive and polite, helping you with anything you required. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to all and also happy to stay there again. Well done Hyatt Place, we had a lovely stay in your city.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a room facing the Needle, avoid the side that has a 24 hour gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Our son just moved to Seattle and lives in the Belltown area so we were looking for a place near the Seattle Space Needle to be walking distance from his apartment. We were very happy with this Hyatt Place. It is EXCEPTIONALLY clean and the attentiveness of the staff amazing. I requested via their website a room with a view of the Needle and that is exactly what I got when I arrived. The staff called my room to check on us, the beds are very comfortable and it was quiet. Internet is free(always a plus in a downtown hotel). The hotel is a great price and the parking fee($15) is way less than any other hotels in downtown Seattle. The continental breakfast is nicely laid out, tasty and enough to satisfy until mid day.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the Space Needle side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My sister, my husband, and I decided to take a Memorial Day weekend trip to Seattle and after researching hotels, chose the Hyatt Place Downtown for its location, price, and quality. The Hyatt delivers on what it offered: the rooms were clean and actually fairly spacious (the bed is sort of sectioned-off from a living area with TV and couch), though bathroom sink is outside the bathroom itself, which can be disruptive for a light sleeper when someone else uses the bathroom and washes their hands in the middle of the night.

Some of the nice things the hotel had to offer were its continental breakfast - plenty of fruit, muffins, cereal, bagels, and (for an added cost) eggs. The breakfast room can get kind of crowded in the morning, though, so be sure to grab a seat early! One of the other nice things was the shuttle service that the hotel offered, which took us to and from various locations throughout Seattle.

One drawback to our stay was that they were doing maintenance on their elevators so there were a few times that it took quite a while just to get up and down from our room as there was only one working elevator for the entire hotel.

The bigger drawback, however, was that we had stayed for about 2 nights, then had 1 night in Vancouver, and then another 2 nights again in the Hyatt. We had no trouble with the hotel finding our reservation for the first two nights, but when we returned from Vancouver, they couldn't find our remaining 2 nights reservation and were fully booked. We had a lot of back and forth with the manager, who tried to show us his paperwork on how we'd only booked the first two nights, but luckily, we're organized people and had our own print outs of the confirmed second two night part of the reservation to show him. We'd booked through Expedia so the manager got on the phone with them (they, too, had their own confirmations on file for the two separate bookings). Essentially, the hotel had "overrode" our second two night reservation with our first two nights, and our back and forth with the manager added at least an hour to our already tired day (we had driven back down from Vancouver in the evening and all we'd wanted was to go to bed when we'd arrived). The reason this review gets 3 stars instead of 2 is because ultimately, the manager did the right thing and put us up in another hotel The Maxwell, AND they paid for it. It should also be noted that the Hyatt actually paid for TWO rooms, since our original reservation with them was one room for my sister and one room for my hubby and me. So, even though the process was fairly frustrating, we give the Hyatt credit for ultimately doing the right thing in the end.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Address: 110 6th Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.