We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local eatery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citizen Coffee

Citizen Coffee
706 Taylor Ave., N, Seattle, WA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 3,492 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good local eatery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Friendly service and tasty interesting food here. A good place to mingle with the locals in this area. Nice casual vibe.

We found the dinner menu here very interesting as we had been travelling for 5 weeks by this time and were a little bored with the same old, usual menu choices. Crepes or gourmet sandwiches, not overly huge servings but big enough for the prices charged.

Glad we found this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    50
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went here as a group for breakfast, while staying at the Four Points, only about a block and a half away.

The place is tiny, but has a lot of character. We were seated upstairs (other seating options included a couple of small tables downstairs, a "bar" along the window downstairs, and some outside seating).

The breakfast menu was limited, but included some great-sounding options. I ended up getting the "Harvey's Scramble", which I believe included jalapeno peppers, pork sausage, and a couple of other items scrambled with eggs, served with black beans, roasted breakfast potatoes, and a bread (I ended up with warm tortilla shells). The food was very good, although at first I thought the portions were small for the price...one of my co-diners pointed out that I had the black beans "held", and that if that was to be included, there would actually be a sizable amount of food on the plate. He had a point, so based on that and other dishes I saw being delivered, I think the portion sizes were decent for the price paid. I do know the coffee cups were huge!

Our waiter was a bit slow and distracted, but other than that, he was very helpful through the ordering process. It was busy, so we can definitely understand his attention being divereted elsewhere.

I would definitely return if ever afforded the opportunity again to try other menu items, and maybe have a drink on the outside seating. Overall, a very eccletic, very local, and very good "neighborhood" option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local coffee shop/bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Fantastic service and quality. They even had almond milk on occasion instead of soy, understanding their client base and their needs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Theses are the best places to find . Not very big ,so there is a wait if its busy. The coffee and food was wonderful. Biscuits and gravy or crepes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had my first meal here on my recent trip to Seattle. It's around the corner from the Four Points, whose staff recommended it. We sat outside in the beautiful weather and had a delicious lunch and wonderful coffee (and thank you for the almond milk). Our waiter was terrific. Skip breakfast at the hotels in the area and head here for breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Citizen Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citizen Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.