We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a Downtown Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Downtown Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Paid less than $100/night for a nice, clean, downtown hotel. It's a block from the underground station, and a block from all of the major bus routes. You do not need a car to get around downtown seattle, in fact, good luck parking. Many restaraunts and shops in the area. Pioneer Square is an edgier part of town than the Pike's Market area. Pikes Market and the Main downtown shopping area are in walking distance, but you may prefer to grab a bus or cab up to that area. Straight downhill walk, about 3 blocks to the wharf and Washington ferries to Bainbridge and Bremmerton.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    160
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
81
112
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Just came back from a 3-night stay in Seattle. Decided to check this hotel out not only because of the reviews on here, but also because of the great value. Booked a 1 King, 2-room suite, and was not disappointed. It's a brand new hotel, in an old building. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Free WiFi, which is a big plus, and I like how everything is key-card access..doors and elevators, after night time. It's a good 15 minute walk to Pike Place/Westlake Downtown. Centrally located next to the light rail, and bus stops as well. Area can be a little sketchy, but coming from LA and having traveled to other sketchy cities, the bums/crackheads here aren't any trouble. Also enjoyed the free complimentary umbrellas the hotel provided.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I am perplexed at all the people complaining about "parking" costs at this hotel. For openers DON'T DRIVE or rent a car. There is NO parking in Seattle anyway and the new mayor is promising that all street parking will be eliminated. Traffic, especially on I-5, is a 24 hour nightmare anywhere in the city. Why bother?

Seattle has a perfectly good train which takes you from the airport right to the back door of this hotel! $2.50. 30 minutes. It will take you more than 30 minutes to drive from SeaTac to downtown almost any time of the day, and money to park IF you can find a spot to park at all. Why? The public transportation system is extraordinary, and FREE all through downtown. Just hop on a bus anywhere! Walk down the hills and take the bus back up them. Queen Anne, Capitol Hill, the waterfront, Bellevue, Georgetown? The bus, train, monorail or trolly will get you there faster than driving.

Okay - the hotel. The Pioneer Square bus & rail station entrance is almost underneath the hotel. Walking from the airport train, with luggage, will take 2 minutes. It's in the "old" section of Seattle so places look "old" on the outside, but there are dozens of fine restaurants within 5 or so blocks and many more very good smaller places. The hotel is a converted office building. The rooms are cozy, but pleasant and clean. Security is good. The lobby is small. There is a coffee shop directly across the street from the front door and 5 or 10 more within 2 blocks.

Caution: If you are staying a Friday or Saturday night, do NOT choose a room on an upper floor. The band & party noise from the 14th & 15th floors rolls down the outside walls as if all the windows were open. Stay BELOW the 10th floor. It's an old building. The lower floors have more traffic noise, but there is little traffic in that part of Seattle in the mornings on the weekends.

Check your room after housekeeping leaves. Housekeeping's sketchy occasionally. You might find there are no drinking glasses, or the coffee perc wasn't refreshed, or, you might be missing soap or shampoo. Just careless, but on the flip side, the front office staff will bend over backwards to accommodate you.

I didn't try the attached cafe.

Overall, it's a Courtyard. It is its location which makes it special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

GOOD: I read ALL posts before making the reservation and was skeptical. But I was pleasantly surprised with everything of this fantastic hotel. It is more like Renaissance chain than typical Courtyard all around the country. I was upgraded to a studio as soon as I requested for one. Rooms are be little bit smaller than most (typical) Courtyards hotels. But the they are beautifully decorated, the drapes, curtains were class of its own. All rooms are absolutely sound proof from its surrounding room, which itself is something unheard of any other Courtyard. Receptionist was really nice.
I needed little bit of milk to make my tea...I went to the Starbucks within hotel. Although it was closed a guy came out the kitchen, open the closed refrig. and simply gave me small container of milk for free !!!
Most striking was the service I got from the valet parking. They greeted us with smile, carried our luggage, opened both the car doors, brought the car within seconds with heater on. Simply out standing. And the charges were far less than anyone else in the downtown area.
Overall, I think they are the best Courtyard in the country - I have stayed in 22 different ones all over the states.
Location was outstanding....forget what other say about high hill walk. You are in downtown Seattle....its all the same up & down toward the water. BTW, it was a very pleasant short walk.

BAD: The noise from a neighboring bar on Saturday night. Our room was all glass with spectacular view but that caught up with the noise from the street.. It is nothing to do with the hotel just the fact that there is a bar next door and that can get rowdy on weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the Seattle Art Musuem so we could view the Picasso exhibit. Their weekend,senior rate, for elite members was only $84 a night. We were upgraded to a studio, corner room with a straight on view of the Smith Tower and the large Public Health hospital on the hill. Both are lit up at night and are beautiful. The other window had a very nice view uptown. The staff was very friendly and informative. The location to Pioneer Square is very convenient. We grew up in Seattle so we thought the area had really been cleaned up in the last 40 years. It is a pleasant place to stroll the streets at night, and we did not feel uncomfortable at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is a very new Courtyard Marriott located just south of Pioneer Square so you are about 6-8 blocks away from the central downtown core (but half a block from Pioneer Square transit station). Pros: modern well equipped rooms, free wifi, great service, decent breakfast in hotel restaurant, great value compared to nearby hotels. Rooms on front of the hotel on high floors have a fabulous unobstructed view of the Seattle harbor. Has an indoor pool in the basement but it is very small. Parking is valet only at $26 but there are much cheaper lots close by. Rooms on front of hotel on low floors may be noisy. Overall a very nice hotel and a great value ... will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We were schedule to stay for two nights at the end of October 2010. Due to airplane delays we were there only one night. The cancellation of the first night was taken care of quickly and professionally. When we did finally arrive the staff was very courteous and helpful. We loved our room. It had a King Bed and a sofa bed. The furniture was very nice and nice decor. We walked there from the Pioneer Square station. Luckily it was all downhill and we did not have to walk back that way when we left.

After our arrival we immediatley walked to Smith Tower for the view of the city from their observation deck. The builiding itself was nice to view and enjoyed the old style elevator. The view was outstanding.

After that we walked to Pike Place Market. It was a gradual up hill walk but was not too difficult. After visiting Pike Place Market we walked further north for a while. On our way back we stopped for dinner and then went to a small bar close to the hotel.

I would definitely come here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.