We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square to your Saves list
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Came here for a romantic overnight stay. Excellent service. Very nice clean, quiet room. Location is great...walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Had delicious light snack in the lounge. If you go, take time to look around the hotel. It is a heritage building and is full of history. All in all, found the experience thoroughly enjoyable. Will be back, and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we are located in a historic building - the Alaskan Building built in 1904. I believe the best part of the building is the marble staircase which goes all the way up to the 15th floor! We hope to see you again soon.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    215
    49
    8
    6
See reviews for
103
138
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed here a couple times and would highly recommend this hotel to others traveling to Seattle. The downtown location is great, close to the market, shopping and safeco field. The valet and staff are always friendly. The rooms are big, bright and clean with large windows to urban views. The beds are comfortable and the linens are soft. The food in the resturant was good. See if you can get a corner room (there are a lot of them given the odd building shape). There are some great views to be had on higher floors. The only downside is the lack of parking options beyond the expensive valet. You can park in an open lot for less money, but it gets a little more sketchy south and east of this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get the advantage of two sets of large windows for even more light and bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Although our Valet parking might seem expensive ($28 + tax a day), with it you get access to your car 24 hours and unlimited in and out privileges. There are other parking lots in the area that can be cheaper but some are not open 24 hours. As well, on Sundays there is free street parking. We hope you stay with us again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had a quick stay in Seattle and ended up getting booked here by someone else. What a pleasant surprise! First off, the location is perfect....I took the light rail from the airport for $3 and it dropped me off around the corner from the hotel! Walkable to just about everything, but the real treat was when I had an hour of free time I was able to walk up to Pike Place Market and along the waterfront.

Check in/out was less than 3 min each. Comfortable bed, great view of Puget Sound. Love having a mini-fridge that I can stock myself. Didn't try the restaurant as there is so much right outside the door. Only thing (which was minor) was that the elevators were a bit slow. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned, we are in a great location to explore the city. We hope to see you soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was here for a business trip and enjoyed my stay in the hotel...Breakfast was a cross between a restaurant and a Starbucks coffee shop which I found weird (but perhaps it's just an American thing) it's a lovely old building with nice big rooms and everything was clean and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful it was just missing that something extra that would have made me give it 5 stars. The gym was ok but was very busy first thing in the morning and a nice swimming pool.

There are a lot of homeless people around and arriving on the train from the airport at night can make you feel uncomfortable but it's only a few minutes walk from the station entrance...I did not find the homeless people bothered me and I went walking most evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we did not reach our full potential in your eyes. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice Marriott Courtyard in the heart of downtown Seattle, with plenty of restaurants but also plenty of homeless people. The homeless people in the area are a bit more aggressive than other cities (i.e. coming up to you to ask for money) but are generally harmless.

This hotel is located in a historic building, but the interior is all new. The exterior is currently undergoing major renovations so there is scaffolding on the outside of the building.

Rooms are adequate, perhaps a tad small. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, although I didn't like the square shaped pillows. I prefer traditional shaped pillows. Sleep quality was excellent, very quiet especially since my room faced a rooftop courtyard (ugly view but quiet).

The furniture selection in the room is a bit odd - a bit too much stuff for such a small room. The desk in my room was way too high, because underneath the desk they store a small "dining" table. Good concept, but not practical.

The free internet was nice and fast. The Courtyard also has a premium internet option but I did not need it.

Restaurant was average, breakfast choices inside the hotel were limited and the menu not that great. Essentially 15.00 for eggs, toast, and potatoes.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for the business traveler. Families may find the rooms a bit too small.

Room Tip: Second floor holds conference facilities; perhaps choose a higher room to avoid conference traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. As you brought up, there is a homeless population in the city of Seattle; however it should not stop any of our guests from enjoying the city. I appreciate that you do recommend the hotel to others, especially the business traveler, yet I believe this hotel is great for any kind of traveler including families. Thank you again and hope you stay with us soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The best feature of this hotel was its location, right downtown. We gave the car to the valet upon arrival and didn't see it again until checkout. We were able to walk to everything from the hotel and used the monorail to get over to the Space Needle and Chihuly Glass Display. We booked through Expedia and it was made known to us on check-in that we would be getting an undesirable room. Our room was very small but had everything we needed for our stay. Very happy that you needed to use your room key to activate the elevator, one more security feature.

Room Tip: Higher floor would get you further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. You are right that we are in a great location in the city. It seems like you were able to fully enjoy your trip! We hope to see you again soon.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj/usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We are 2 adults, ages 45&55 traveling for business and site seeing.

Background--we are walkers and explorers.

Arrival- we came on train up from Portland and stepped out and grabbed a taxi for $8 i think to hotel, about a 5min ride. The hotel is being restored, its a historical bld, so there was scaffolding everyplace. Lobby was big and sharp looking with easy quick efficient check- in and the gals had maps for me and knew their information. 3 nice quick elevators. We were on the 10th floor with a view of city and water (see photos) Older bld which added wonderful character and the room didn't disappoint. Sink/vanity outside the toilet/tub area which we like. Nice clean tub. All the normal amenities of a courtyard like mini fridge and coffee station. Very comphy bed, couch and chair and good work station with quick easy internet......couple weird things.
1. The TV is on a pull out tray and you cant see it that well from the bed because our bed was on the side. This may not be the case in other rooms. Again older hotels have odd shaped rooms sometimes. 2. Our wiring. The lights have a master switch upon entering and you had to have that on in order to put on the toilet light, so in the middle of the night a light had to go on almost over the bed so you can have a light on in the bathroom. Not a deal breaker.

But the windows...ahhhhhhh what a treat, big old windows THAT OPEN just a bit so you can have fresh air and we had views 3/4 ways around.....lovely

The bar/cafe was run by starbucks and good food, and great staff. Bar was hoppin and nice adult mellow fun crowd with drink specials and bar food/munchies. We only ate breakfast here but it was yummy and good pricing.

I walked to the space needle and pioneer square and the the shopping area all with ease, but bring good shoes cause the hills are like San Fransisco, but like NYC i think its a city best explored on foot!

For those of you into architecture please take a trip up the solid marble staircase and then into stairwell to check out the old stairs and railings...i even forced myself to climb all 10 stories after a big lunch and it was worth it...looking down through the middle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to fully enjoy the city! As you mentioned, the marble staircase in our building is a rare treat and fun to look at – a nice perk of being in a historic building!! We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.