We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delight and in a perfect spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square to your Saves list
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
nj/usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“a delight and in a perfect spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We are 2 adults, ages 45&55 traveling for business and site seeing.

Background--we are walkers and explorers.

Arrival- we came on train up from Portland and stepped out and grabbed a taxi for $8 i think to hotel, about a 5min ride. The hotel is being restored, its a historical bld, so there was scaffolding everyplace. Lobby was big and sharp looking with easy quick efficient check- in and the gals had maps for me and knew their information. 3 nice quick elevators. We were on the 10th floor with a view of city and water (see photos) Older bld which added wonderful character and the room didn't disappoint. Sink/vanity outside the toilet/tub area which we like. Nice clean tub. All the normal amenities of a courtyard like mini fridge and coffee station. Very comphy bed, couch and chair and good work station with quick easy internet......couple weird things.
1. The TV is on a pull out tray and you cant see it that well from the bed because our bed was on the side. This may not be the case in other rooms. Again older hotels have odd shaped rooms sometimes. 2. Our wiring. The lights have a master switch upon entering and you had to have that on in order to put on the toilet light, so in the middle of the night a light had to go on almost over the bed so you can have a light on in the bathroom. Not a deal breaker.

But the windows...ahhhhhhh what a treat, big old windows THAT OPEN just a bit so you can have fresh air and we had views 3/4 ways around.....lovely

The bar/cafe was run by starbucks and good food, and great staff. Bar was hoppin and nice adult mellow fun crowd with drink specials and bar food/munchies. We only ate breakfast here but it was yummy and good pricing.

I walked to the space needle and pioneer square and the the shopping area all with ease, but bring good shoes cause the hills are like San Fransisco, but like NYC i think its a city best explored on foot!

For those of you into architecture please take a trip up the solid marble staircase and then into stairwell to check out the old stairs and railings...i even forced myself to climb all 10 stories after a big lunch and it was worth it...looking down through the middle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to fully enjoy the city! As you mentioned, the marble staircase in our building is a rare treat and fun to look at – a nice perk of being in a historic building!! We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    215
    49
    8
    6
See reviews for
103
138
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel could be so much better. Convenient location. Courteous and friendly staff. Unfortunately, my room with a great view was ruined by scaffolding. But curiously, it did not seem like any work was being done to this historic building which must have been more attractive in the past.

This hotel badly needs a major renovation. The large single pane windows don't fit the window frames right, and as the result, the room was drafty. These windows could not be locked either. Anyone on the scaffolding could easily walk into the room. The room itself is renovated. Functional and bland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I’m glad to hear that our staff was a high point of your stay. Since we are located in a historic building, we do have the scaffolding up for an inspection that was done. As you mentioned, we are not having any work done at the moment, so there is no noise or construction going on but the scaffolding is there. All our windows are part of the historic building and cannot be opened all the way, so no one would be able to climb into the window from the scaffolding. I hope you consider staying with us again on your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I didn't stay long, but I really liked this hotel. The rooms have a fun, colorful decor and are quite comfortable. The location was good for my purposes, and the staff were nice. Good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, it is very appreciated!! We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Positives:
Friendly service and gave several good dinner recommendation (went to Cafe Bengodi).
Close to Smith Tower and Columbia Center Observation (go to the Starbucks instead of paying for the observation deck view).
Clean room.
Firm bed.
Valet service was quick to retrieve my car.
Free WiFi in room.

Negatives (nothing major):
Room is smaller.
Ocean view - yes, but its partially through another building across the street and its of the docks.
Room lighting could be brighter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beyond expectations!
This inner city "select-service" hotel provided me with full-service! * Exceptional valet parking service complete with readily-volunteered driving instructions around the complex one-way system; luggage service provided by front-desk staff; delightful, helpful check-in and check out. The lobby is not large, but there's comfortable spaces to wait for whatever causes you to wait …. It was unexpectedly excellent. There's a bar and restaurant which I didn't use.

Only small niggle is the US-compact size of the room, but if you're used to European hotels you'll think it's fine! The double-sash windows don't fit perfectly, and certainly some double-glazing would help; but traffic noise is lessened the higher the floor.

The hotel is located in an historic building a couple of blocks from Pioneer Square, half a dozen blocks from Pike Street Market. There's a number of interesting restaurants at Pioneer Square, and lots of day-time-only cafe's around the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! I will be passing on your great comments about the Valet and Front Desk staff to them. As you mentioned, we are located in the Alaskan Building, which was built in 1904. As well, we are very close to many of Seattle’s attractions. Your review is very appreciated and we hope to see you again!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On the positive side: friendly staff, spacious and clean room, very convenient location.
On the negative noisy ventilation, doors not insulating so that I could hear my neighbours going in and out, very basic bistro, not open for lunch.
OK for a short stay, for a longer one not fully adequate.

Room Tip: Better to ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad to hear that our staff was so friendly and that you enjoyed your room. I am sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy our Bistro. Although not open for Lunch, it is open every day for Breakfast, Happy Hour, and Dinner. We also have plenty of great restaurants in the area for Lunch that any staff member can recommend. We hope to see you again in your next Seattle visit.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was only there one night, but I had a very pleasant stay. The staff was eager to please and very friendly. The facility had the current styling. The exercise facility was larger than expected as was the pool. Didn't eat in the bistro, but it also looked larger and nicer than normal. If you want a great deli sandwich, try Tat's just down the street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and BookIt.com so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.