We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Pioneer Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square to your Saves list
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good option for Pioneer Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a newly remodeled historic building in Seattle’s Pioneer Square area and would be a great choice for those going to events at CenturyLink Field, Safeco Field, or the WaMu theater, as well as those who will be moving through Seattle’s cruise terminal (Argosy, Victoria Clipper, or regular cruise ships.) The hotel is an easy walk to each of these, as well as some great neighborhood bars and restaurants.

The remodel was tastefully done, and the addition to the rear of the building for newer rooms was also done appropriately for a historic building. The basement features a nice pool, but note that there is not a lot of lounge space around the pool so its best used for a workout rather than a “hangout” spot. The exercise room is huge and impressively equipped.

I had a King room with the “Bay view” which was on the tenth floor, putting me just high enough to see the water over the building across the street. The views are impressive and certainly worth an upgrade. While the room is not large it is intelligently designed with furniture whose flexibility allows you to make it what you need – a desk that can be pulled out and moved if you need a larger table, a small ottoman that works both as a table and seating space, etc. It was very well done. The bathroom was large enough to feel spacious without sacrificing square footage in the room itself. We had no problems with noise, even given that it was New Years Eve when we stayed.

My only real complaints about the room were trivial – rather than properly strip the woodwork and repaint they saved money by just repainting on top of the old (which I suppose is better than ripping out the original features entirely!) There was also a long hair left on the side of our tub which grosses me out more than it probably should, but there you go.

The hotel had friendly service, and is firmly in the 21st century with convenient electronic terminals set up for guests in the lobby to print boarding passes, valet service that takes a text message when you need to order your car, and free wi-fi that worked very well. I can’t remember what we paid for valet, but given the dearth of available parking in downtown Seattle I found the fee worth the unlimited access to my car. We didn’t try breakfast, but enjoyed a late night snack at the comfortable bar while watching the world go by out the floor-to-ceiling windows on the street.

All in all this is a great option for the Pioneer Square area, especially if you are a Marriott member or prefer familiar corporate chains (and their lower prices) to the smaller boutique options nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    200
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
99
131
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Really nice hotel. Large stylish bedrooms. Pool very small, kids enjoyed the gym! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The staff was friendly and efficient, the hotel is clean and modern, and the rooms are spacious with all the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is my second stay in as many years. I gave it 4 stars the first time but decided to bump it up for this review. I've been here over Thanksgiving both times and have enjoyed this hotel thoroughly. It is easily accessible to all local transportation options, which are extensive in seattle, so no car needed! It's a cool urban hotel with the new courtyard design. Surrounded by many local establishments. Easy walk down to the pier and Ferry terminals. The light rail to/from the airport is 2 blocks away. I can't think of anything they did not take care of, from early/late check in, to loaner umbrellas. I can't think of a better value in any of the major cities that I travel to.

Room Tip: High floor facing west or south get's you a view of quest field or the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Seattle's center may have moved but Pioneer Square is where it all started and Marriott has placed a new hotel square in the heart of the old city. This is a 15-story hotel, so it's not typical of a suburban Marriott Courtyard but it uses the urban model of a high rise, limited amenity hotel.

The location is terrific. It's a block from Pioneer Square and a block from a light-rail stop that takes you to/from Sea-Tac Airport in 37 minutes for $2.75.

The staff is terrific. I cannot recall a more engaged, friendlier staff at any Marriott property I've ever patronized.

The rooms are pretty good. This hotel has been installed in a former office building called the Alaska Building and some of the old building shows through in the lobby where you can see mid-20th century marble and the old-style, multi-story mail chute dropping into a large brass mailbox in the lobby. You'll also see some of the old buildings in the windows, which use the old casings equipped with new double glazing. Our very large room had a terrific view of Seattle's sourthern downtown. Two flys in the ointment for us:

1. The room chair (an adjustable desk chair) was uncomfortable due to its design. This is the first such chair I've encountered at a Marriott Courtyard and I hope it's not the new "official" desk chair.

2. The credit-card room keys just didn't work well and we had a second set made (done cheerfully, of course). We had to try 3, 4, or six times before the door would open. We had similar problems with using the key in the elevator to access our floor from the lobby (a good security feature in any case).

From this hotel, we walked to the ferry terminal for an inexpensive ride to Bainbridge Island (free return!), to the famous Pike Market to see fish tossed around by loud fishmongers, to the Underground Seattle tour (highly recommended), and to the light rail stop for a return to the airport. This area is well served by the Seattle mass transit system.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar called The Bistro and we ate three meals there. Frankly, the food was good twice and mediocre once but the service was always spectacular. Note that this restaurant has a somewhat limited menu (hence the name), but you should be able to find something to dull your hunger. They serve Starbuck's coffee, in case you're an addict. Otherwise, there's a Seattle's Best coffee shop across the street.

There was a ballroom located on our floor (14th) and we snuck in to take a peek. It was set up conference style and could accommodate about 50 people at tables set up in a chevron pattern. I'd certainly locate a conference there given the opportunity.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside DC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Despite having an excellent stay in another property the last time we were in Seattle, we decided to stay here this time around. For >$100 per night less, we had a similar sized room (1 BR, 650 Sq, Ft) that was every bit as nice. Granted, the bathroom in this hotel isn't as nice as the other property but the hotel does feel almost (but not quite) as upscale. As another reviewer mentioned, this property seems more like a Renessaince than a Courtyard.

The hotel is located in the Pioneer Square District which could be viewed as a strength (proximity to tours, market, etc) and a weakness (number of homeless in the area). As someone else noted, the windows in the rooms do not seem to be the type that reduce noise and we did have a lot of street noise even though we were on the 12th floor. This doesn't really bother us but if you are the type who needs quiet when you sleep, you should be aware of this issue.

All in all, we thought this hotel was a good, solid choice. When price is considered, we thought it was a bargain for Seattle and we don't regret our decision to stay there in the least.

One other tip: As others have said, do use the Link light rail to get here as the Pioneer Square Station is literally a block away and the cost is less than $3.00 each way.

Room Tip: We thought the price we got on the 1 BR was a great bargain. We did end up having a rollaway bed bro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was in town for business. The location is only 1 block from the Light Link Rail - Pioneer Square stop, so it was exceedingly easy to get to from the airport. And since I was visiting a company only 2 blocks away, there was no need for me to rent a car.

The hotel was in excellent condition, perhaps recently remodeled? I asked for a high floor, but was told that the rooms up high were smaller, and they recommended a lower floor. I believe I ended up on the 4th floor. The room was great - it reminded me of a modern room I stayed at once in Tokyo. And it was very clean. It was fairly quiet from within the hotel, although I did hear a siren or two outside.

The fitness center was great! It was fairly large, had a number of treadmills, a couple bikes, and a couple ellipticals, along with weights. Everything was in great shape, and it included towels and wipes for the machines. The pool appeared to be a typical hotel pool - nothing you'd attempt to do laps in.

There's a restaurant in the hotel where you can buy breakfast (and lunch & dinner, I believe). The breakfast was delicious and reasonably healthy, but I thought it was expensive. Regarding the downtown, it seemed like most of the restaurants closed early, leaving only the more fancy places open for dinner. I did, however, locate a Thai place about a block away (to the south), and an Indian place about 10 blocks away (to the north), both reasonably priced for dinner.

Room Tip: According to hotel staff, the higher floors have smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Seattle
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#39 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.