We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the Maxwell Hotel for meetings at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, which is only 7 minutes walk away. The hotel is also close to the Space Needle. My room included free wireless internet, coffee, bottled water, and microwave popcorn. It had a refrigerator and microwave oven. The room was very large and so did not feel especially cosy, but was well appointed and distinct from your standard chain hotel room. My room was connected to the neighboring room by a lockable door that conducted quite a lot of noise from next door. This interrupted my sleep a couple of times, but this is my only criticism and was a relatively minor issue. Cupcakes and coffee were provided in the lobby each afternoon. Staff were helpful and knowledgable about the local area and Seattle. I took the Shuttle Express from the airport to the hotel (USD 18), and a hotel-arranged private limo from the hotel to the airport (USD 42); both worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello GHJohn! Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We enjoy having the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation guests stay with us and try to take great care of you. I'm so sorry about the noise from the connecting door. We only have a few of these in the hotel so hopefully you won't have to worry about that noise again. We also will be able to see which room you stayed in and put you in a quieter room next time. We hope to see you again soon!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    419
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
409
557
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lakr City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Seattle. Was a great place to stay. Room was very nice with modern and trendy touches. Friendly staff. Offerred free shuttle service to area attractions, which allowed us to just park (in their free parking!) and explore the city by foot or their shuttle. Also had bikes to use if needed, we will use those next time. This hotel was very close to city center, an easy walk. Also had a lot of nice places to explore like Yeti Yogurt! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Great review! We want to give you a tremendous thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle, friendly staff, and the hotel design. We hope to see you with us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love where this hotel is located and the rooms are very comfortable and staff is friendly. Would not want to stay any where else. Restaurant in lobby is very good. A+++++++++++++, It is close to the needle, ride the ducks which we went on and all the other places close by the needle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
What a great review! We truly appreciate your response and wouldn't be here without great guests like you. We very much would like to see you again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is a gem! A block from Seattle Center, down the street from great bars, restaurants and 2 grocery stores, and you can rent bikes! The decor is bright and modern, and there's coffee everywhere--Pineapple Espresso in the lobby, K-Cups in the room, and free coffee and muffins in the afternoon. The rooms are big, clean, and the bed is orgasmic. If you get a chance to stay at The Maxwell--DO IT!!!!!!! It will be my new go-to hotel in The Emerald City

Room Tip: The only bad room is the one you don't reserve at The Maxwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Amazing review! We truly appreciate it and hope to see you very soon. We are glad you enjoyed the location, the amenities, and the beds. :)
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've been to Seattle many times and typically stay closer to Pike Place. We recently stayed at the Maxwell which is closer to the space needle in the Queen Anne before going on a cruise and the hotel was a great choice. The hotel also had AC which was nice since not all hotels have AC in Seattle.

The rooms were very large, new beds and the bathroom was great. After a long day on a plane they were able to check us in early (I called in advance to let them know we'd be getting there 3 hours before check in and they put it in their notes and had the room ready for us, which was a huge surprise.) The staff was very helpful, something I'm not used to in the DC area.

The hotel also has a shuttle that will take you around town - reservations are a must as space fills up quickly since they also pick up at their sister hotel. The driver was a font of knowledge about the city and I learned some things I didn't know before.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will go back the next time I'm in the area if I get to choose my hotel and don't have to use a room block.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less street noise since there are several neighborhood bars in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms, AC, early arrival, and the shuttle driver. He definitely knows a great deal about the city and isn't afraid to share it which we appreciate. We certainly hope to see you back with us soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great area and I would recommend to normal travelers, but we travel with dogs and this hotel said they were dog friendly. My comments are only with respect to dog friendly. The up side was that online they showed pet services that were good. We used a dog groomer to get our mutts washed and dried. The down side was that we were required to sign a form that said that we wouldn't let our dogs use any of their property nor their neighbors property for their personal needs. When we asked where we could let our dog use some area we got a bewildered look and told to go two block away, which we did. I wasn't expecting to walk two blocks in the morning first thing to relieve my dogs. To their defense and their neighbors defense, they really only have concrete around them. The Maxwell allows dogs but they are not dog friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Bill H. Thank you for staying with us here at our nice hotel and we appreciate the recommendation for normal travelers. We are so sorry that we didn't give you the greatest impression with our dog friendliness. We have dog treats at our front desk, free disposal bags, dog bowls, doggy beds, and more. It's a shame that we weren't able to convey just how friendly we are to our four-legged friends. The team just wasn't sure what to say at that moment and I have since spoken to them. We have plenty of grassy areas within 20 feet of the hotel that is not on our neighbors property that your dog can certainly go on. We just ask that you clean up after your dog which is normal these days. I'm so sorry for the misinformation and for the unpleasant feeling that you took away.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent one week here while visiting Seattle's sights. The hotel and rooms are attractive and comfortable, the free shuttle service downtown is convenient, the staff is very friendly, wifi worked very well, and the free parking garage is a real plus. No free breakfast but there are some hot and cold breakfast foods sold in the lobby at a reasonable price. The pizza/pasta restaurant (The Rock) is very good for drinks and a light supper after a long day of sightseeing. The Queen Anne neighborhood is a very pleasant area with several nice restaurants nearby as well as the Space Needle and fabulous Chihuly Glass Museum and Garden. (Don't miss it!) The hotel is pet-friendly and we did have one unfortunate evening with a yelping dog that took some time to locate. We were not provided with any sightseeing or hotel information in the room, but all the room amenities were nice (safe, microwave, mini-fridge, Keurig coffee maker, bottled water). And the darkening drapes did definitely close!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review GoldieSC. We are pleased that you enjoyed the very friendly staff and all that the hotel has to offer. We ask that every dog owner register their pet with us so that we can contact the owner in the event of a bit of a bit of a yapper but this didn't occur. It took a little longer than usual to find the owner so we very much appreciate your patience. We would love to see you again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Hotel features stunning design and decor, blending fun, artful elements with traditional elegance. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction begins at check-in; a gorgeous inlaid tile pineapple, the symbol of True Hospitality, is at your feet before the front desk; a reminder that you are our honored guest. The experienced staff in this downtown Seattle hotel delivers genuine,heartfelt service. Reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.