We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong but not terribly friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strong but not terribly friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, great decor, and very nice rooms (slightly above average size). Very convenient to everything near the Space Needle as well as several good restaurants. Free parking is a big plus. That said, found the staff helpful but not particularly engaging or interested in guests. Walked into a pretty empty lobby at least four times and, despite being within two meters of the desk, wasn't greeted once. A bit strange, especially relative to usual behavior at similarly priced properties. Also, didn't find it particularly kid-friendly (11 and 9). Had better stay experiences for less nearby in Seattle and likely will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm very concerned to learn that the front desk wasn't as friendly as they could have been. They usually are very engaging and offer warm greetings. I will certainly look into why this is not occurring. I hope that you do choose to come back and stay with us. We have plenty of fun things for a 9 and 11 year old including complimentary bicycles to ride, a pool to play in, and complimentary wifi for watching movies and playing games.
All my best,
Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    469
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
456
620
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at The Maxwell for 2 nights when I was in town for a business meeting. Overall, my stay was super pleasant from check in to check out. The staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The room itself was one of the best I've stayed in around the Seattle area. It was very spacious, contemporary and had large flat screen TV. The bed was super comfortable. The only 2 minor issues had were with the parking (which was non-existent at the hotel) and the curtains didn't fully close in the room. Other than that, you're guaranteed a top notch room located within walking distance of everything you'd need.

Room Tip: Try eating at "The Rock" which is located right next to the lobby - very good food at reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello BChamp73! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences. It sounds like you enjoyed the spacious rooms, the friendly and helpful staff, and the comfortable bed. I'm sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding parking. We have over 80 complimentary parking spots below the hotel in a secure garage and we can always point out street parking in the area. We are happy to help! The black-out drapes are behind the curtains closest to the windows and can be hard to find at times. I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience. Please come back and see us soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at The Maxwell Hotel one night post cruise along with another couple and could not have been happier with our choice - we were both able to check into our rooms upon our 10:00 AM arrival from the ship! We were impressed with the front desk staff's friendliness and helpfulness; the lobby is very open and welcoming. We really appreciated the wood floors, modern fresh decor, and extra amenities - safe, microwave, refrigerator, Keurig coffee/tea machine, bottled water. The room and bathroom were a good size - the bed was very comfortable as were the chairs and a nice desk area, the bathroom and shower were well provisioned. Everything was spotless (number 1 requirement on our list). We liked the many safety features - key card entry required for access to elevator, pool/fitness etc. and there was free parking in a secure/gated garage. Did not have time to use indoor pool or fitness center - definitely will use next time.. Our room had a view of the space needle - which wasn't expected but an added bonus. Pineapple cupcakes and Starbucks available in the afternoon were such a wonderful treat as we returned from the Space Needle - only 2 blocks away! Also 2 blocks to the monorail which took us to Pike Place Market.
Cannot say enough good things about our stay here - and if in Seattle again, this is the place we will stay! The only FYI comment we have to the staff - the hallways are FRIGID on floors 2 and 4 (where we stayed)....we laughed about our "Arctic" experience everytime we entered the hallway! The room temperatures were easily controlled by the in room thermostat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are thrilled that we could accommodate you post cruise and that we were able to get you into your rooms early. That's always a treat. We appreciate your review and we are happy that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the Maxwell has to offer. We are sorry that the hallways were so cold! I will have engineering look into why this is occurring and how to fix it. Thank you for letting us know.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our trip was planned around the Eagles Concert occurring at Key Arena. We did not want to have to be doing a lot of driving. On searching the best choice appeared to be the Maxwell. We planned on staying in Seattle for a few days and was looking for some fun things to do. While booking the Maxwell we saw they had a glass blowing package. This included one night stay, two 30 minute glass blowing classes at The Seattle Glassblowing Studio and two passes to the Chihuly exhibit. These experiences were superb! I have always wanted to try glassblowing and we loved it. The exhibit was breathtaking! That in itself was a great deal.
The Rooms: We booked the double queen with the view of the space needle. To me this was a waste of money as the window with the view was in the hallway. I would just take a regular room the next time and save the money.
The hotel is on a pretty busy street. A lot of very noisy traffic. There are insulated curtains and windows but the noise is still pretty loud. It didn't affect sleeping at night, but were not really able to sleep in once the city started waking up.
The rooms are supplied with complimentary coffee, and popcorn. The coffee maker is a Keurig but they only give you 2 pods per day, so if you like to have several cups in the morning as you are getting ready for the day, I would suggest you purchase some before your stay, so you dont have to track the housekeeper down to ask for more.
The soaps and lotions in the room are very nice Tommy Bahama brand. The hotel is somewhat "green" so they are in dispensers rather than little plastic bottles.
The rooms are very contemporary or eclectic decor and very clean. The floors are actually laminate, which I have never seen in a hotel room before. So it may be safe to get a room on the top floor to prevent hearing people walking around on the floor above you. It was not a problem until on morning apparently the people above us were dressing for a formal event and the lady was walking around in high heels.
The beds are very comfortable Sealy posturpedic mattresses. We both slept very well on them.
The Hotel:
On arrival checkin was quick and easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful during the entire stay.
The hotel listing states there is a fitness center. If you are planning on using a fitness center during your stay in Seattle I would not recommend this one. It appears like someone went and purchased a couple of excercise machines and put them in a small room so they could say they had a fitness room. There is no hot tub, only a very small pool.
The restaurant "The Rock" is VERY good! We had a pizza and loved it!
So, as I said we were mainly there for the concert at Key Arena. It was literally within walking distance of about 2 blocks. Very convenient, to get to the Space Needle, the exhibit and all the activities at the Seattle Center. If we wanted to go downtown the hotel shuttle gladly scheduled it for us when they had openings. These must be scheduled in advance and are free. If you are somewhere and need a ride back to the hotel last minute there is a chance they are booked. This happened to us and we had to figure a way to get back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont spend the extra money for the room with the view of the Space Needle. Bring your own Keurig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and we hope that the Eagles rocked the Key Arena. We appreciate all of your valuable feedback and we use this to get better and better. Please come back and see us for the next concert!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had no idea what to expect. We booked the Maxwell as an after thought prior to jumping on an Alaska cruise. Given the area just below Queen Ann Hill we were expecting an aged dowdy hotel. NOT! Great location. Safe area. Comfortable bed. Great pillows [choice of soft and firm]. Our room was a basic room but was really stylish functional and comfortable. The bathroom has a curtain-less walk-in shower. Black marble bathroom counter was huge [we value that] - two of us could put our cosmetics & shaving gear out. Free underground covered parking. Lots of thoughtful touches. Desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There were 2 free bikes w/helmets available but we didn't feel comfortable [intense traffic] on the streets. However Seattle Center is a short few blocks away and we could have ridden through there safely. They arranged for a town-car to take us to the cruise terminal. Easy 3 block walk to a series of local restaurants on Queen Ann Street and a 3 screen movie theater which we visited at the end of the day when we were walked out.

Room Tip: No views so we selected a room on the back facing away from Roy Street. Hotel has A/C and double-pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so happy that we took great care of you and we thank you for the wonderful review. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were in Seattle for the Eagles concert and wanted to stay close by. The Maxwell Hotel was perfect! The room was so nice - comfy bed, great shower, quiet, very clean, and well decorated. The parking was included with our room, so we were able to leave the car in the garage. We took the shuttle (also included) downtown for dinner, then took the monorail back to the Center. After the concert, we walked back to the hotel. I was disappointed that there wasn't something more than an coffee kiosk for breakfast, but we got over that. The staff was great, and we really appreciated the upgrade in our room to a view. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are glad that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. It's always great when we can do the little things that make a stay special. The Eagles brought us a great crowd and we hope to see you back again for future concerts.
Warm regards, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stay in the Seattle area quite often, usually downtown close to Pike Street or in Bellevue. However, on this stay we were going to a concert in Key Arena with a group of friends, and wanted to park our car and walk to whatever we needed. We were not disappointed in the least! We were able to park our car (included in the room rate) and take can easy walk to the concert, and even better - return to the hotel after midnight with ease. They have a pizza/brewpub inside the hotel which was still open, as was the McMenemins Brewpub next door, so we stopped in and had a drink before ending the night. We walked 3 blocks to a café they recommended for breakfast, Citizens Café, which was a nice local coffe house. Staff were gracious and friendly. Rooms were clean, had a large shower, and beds were very comfortable. Lobby area was nicely laid out with a lot of areas to sit with friends and plan the days events. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our group had rooms on the 4th floor 449, 451, 453. This was part of a wing that did not have rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad that you enjoyed the location, the lobby, and the complimentary parking. Please come back and see us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.