We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Good location, professional staff, nice rooms, free parking, not really for families IMO. It seemed a bit on the pricey side though ... might just be a Seattle in the summer thing though. Not really for small kids. No tub.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back soon. All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    446
    52
    8
    7
See reviews for
426
584
69
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at The Maxwell Hotel for six nights in July, in town for a family wedding. The area felt safe and was humming with activity. We were within blocks of the Seattle Center and only once had trouble getting a cab (because so much was going on in the city ... ) We had an awesome ever-changing view of downtown and the Space Needle, as evidenced by my photos. Our room was nicely appointed and clean, and the staff were friendly. We took advantage of the in-house pizza restaurant twice (great!) and also visited "Pineapple Espresso" almost every day for coffee and a treat. The complimentary coffee and pineapple cupcakes put out each afternoon were a nice touch. My only VERY MINOR negative comment is that I would have chosen different art for the room (not a big fan of circus/clown posters). However, we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Space Needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. What a great review! We are here for you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the area where it's located is beautiful , the staff is very friendly. They offer a shuttle service and the driver was very friendly too. The cupcakes in the lobby are delicious, we couldn't stop grabbing one everytime we walked through the lobby. Yumm! The only downside was the noise in the room, we had a room in the third floor, but we still could hear the humming sound ( with the windows closed) from the huge fans ( aircondition maybe?) on the back of the hotel and it was very disturbing, we hardly fell asleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Hanna289! We are so very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, the location, and the friendly staff. I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping with the fans outside. We do provide ear plugs for those that are sensitive the the white noise and I'm so sorry for the inconvenience. All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I found this hotel in the Fodor's Guide to Seattle and on Tripadvisor and it seemed to be better than one of the chains in the Queen Anne district. The location was what I wanted so we could park the car (free) and walk everywhere for three days. However, we were blown away by the classy decor, well-appointed rooms, and friendly helpful staff. The Pineapple Express group has a free shuttle that will drop you off around town and bring you back which is a huge bonus. Ask the staff where to have breakfast, lunch and dinner (all within three to four blocks) and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review marbel815! We are glad that you found us and that the team went above and beyond for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon. All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Maxwell hosted our entire family of 27 members, from 4 different states, before our Alaskan cruise. We chose this hotel, mainly due to the hotel shuttle, to accommodate our senior parents. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. So many little perks; free bicycles to use, umbrellas in each room, coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free bottled water and the pineapple cupcakes in the afternoon. The lobby is spacious and great for socializing or just relaxing. There is an indoor pool! The staff was very helpful and friendly. We booked on Priceline and got a great deal! The rooms are modern and spacious, with wood floors, and the showers are huge! The location is great! We will definitely return and recommend this gem to other family and friends!!!!!

Room Tip: The disability rooms are even more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It was truly our pleasure to host you and yours! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to take good care of you. What a great review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. The decor is very funky and well done. It is environmentally friendly in many ways. At first I thought that I would not like the shampoo, soap dispensers on the wall but it actually makes a lot of sense and worked out fine. The location is terrific. Close to the Seattle Center and Space Needle. The hotel is very clean. The staff are helpful, too. The cupcakes in the afternoon are absolutely delicious!!! The only negative was the view from our room that was of a rundown house!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello albusthecat and thank you for the wonderful review! I'm very happy that you loved the hotel and enjoyed your stay. The neighborhood is actually a very good one but the apartment complex behind us could definitely use some work. We apologize for the view! Come back and see us soon and get one of our Space Needle view rooms.
Very best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a split stay--so we stayed 1 night, then traveled to a wedding, then returned to the Maxwell for 2 more nights. I was drawn to this hotel (and the other Pineapple Hospitality hotels) because my husband and I enjoy cycling, and the hotel has bikes to use....and use we did! We used them all 3 days we could, they were in good working order, had a convenient lock, and the hotel provided a great map of the city for us. The staff was very friendly, answered our questions, and when our town car service was late, did the appropriate follow-up for us. As far as aesthetics, everything was very neat and clean, fresh looking without looking too cold or edgy. And since I love color, the lime greens, yellows, and turquoises really were a feast for my eyes. It's also very convenient to the Centre City and the various performing arts venues. The shuttle was a great perk as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Derky17 (good name!). We appreciate you giving us your feedback and we are excited that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us soon. All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, T4B, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.