We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wow, love the Maxwell. Very cool without being stuffy. Great rooms very stylish decor super staff. Located in the Queen Anne district it is close to some attractions but far from others, it depends on what you want. Seems to be pet friendly, Would recommend this hotel for anyone,any age.

Room Tip: Checkout the "Pineapple Express" for quick coffee, breakfast, or light lunch. Hotel has sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Pete!
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We love our Queen Anne location and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your impressions.
Come back and see us soon!
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    424
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
412
566
65
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just stayed in the Maxwell Hotel with two rooms for one night in advance of an Alaska cruise. The property itself is beautiful and very well done. The outside of the building is sorta ho-hum but wait until you step inside! The underground garage parking is secure, convenient and free. Yes, free. You don't get that very often with downtown Seattle hotels. The rooms are well designed and immaculately maintained. The room coffee maker is a higher end tassimo machine and also included are a microwave with microwavable popcorn. The bathroom products are Tommy Bahama and their scents took me right to the Caribbean. The beds were super comfortable with high thread count sheets and perfect pillows. And, while this is indeed a downtown hotel, we heard nary a peep from the streets below. It seems like it has been well soundproofed. The location is great for Seattle touring and we spent most of our free time between the lovely Seattle waterfront and the adjacent Seattle Centre (site of the 1962 World's Fair). At 3pm the hotel puts out Starbucks coffee and these amazing pineapple cupcakes --- they were so good! We came back at about 10:30 at night and mentioned that a couple of those cupcakes would really be a bedtime treat and the desk staff disappeared and then returned with a few for us. That really is testament to the quality of their service. The great people in this place are what makes the place great. They work hard to ensure that everyone has a great stay, which we certainly did. We will be back!

Room Tip: I didn't sense that there was much differential in room locations --- a few upper rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It sounds like you had a wonderful trip and we are happy to contribute to this. The free parking is definitely not normal in downtown Seattle and we love to pamper our guests with cupcakes and coffee in the afternoons and the free extras in the rooms.
We hope to see you soon!
All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights before going on a Alaska cruise. We found the hotel very, very nice with staff eager to help us. About 3 blocks from Space Needle and a hard hike to Kerrie Park (a must see in Seattle). The Maxwell is a short walk from some nice local places to eat and drink and about 5 blocks to the Light Rail. The Link as its called will take you right to Pikes Market and all the center city places to see. We traveled Link to bus to under ground rail to get to air port. If your carring Luggage it may be to much. A cab from Maxwell to Airport is about $40 total.. The Maxwell has wonderful coffee in rooms an free cupcakes each night. The Pizza place (The Rock) at the hotel can not be beat. Best Pizza I have ever had. I would say our stay at the Maxwell Rocked.... LOL

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review Grant E! I'm glad that you found Kerry Park (one of the best views of Seattle and the waterfront) way up on Queen Anne hill. It's worth the hike! The Rock makes some darn good pizza and I'll thank them for the good work.
Come back and see us soon!
Warm regards,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had high expectations going into this hotel because of the tripadvisor rating. It was a good stay. The rooms are nice and the guests are friendly. The Parkade is Tiny and tough to get in and out of but parking was Free. They have internet available and a free computer to use in the Basement which was very Handy. I never ate at the restaurant but I have heard good things from others about it. No Hot tub which was kind of a disappointment but there is a pool. The staff was all very friendly they helped us out and called a cab when we needed one and were great all around. I would recommend this hotel. Its not walking distance to the downtown core but its a 15$ Cab. There are quite a few things to do around the hotel as well. It isn't too far from the Space Needle and that whole thing. It was great value when we went as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Ryan V! Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm glad the staff was friendly and you were able to get around town easily. Please take advantage of our complimentary shuttle next time. We would be happy to drive you around town.
All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful, quiet room with many amenities that we really appreciated. We had a view of the Space Needle from our room. We are walkers so we appreciated the short walk to the Space Needle and the walking proximity of many great restaurants. Very clean, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Alice! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your beautiful, quiet room and the friendly staff! It's a great location to walk everywhere from and, if you ever get tired, then please allow us to drive you around in our complimentary shuttle.
We'll see you soon!
Warm regards,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Eco friendly hotel with hardwood floors which seemed great until guest above us stomped around in the middle of the night, giving me a new appreciation for carpeting in hotel rooms. Otherwise a lovely hotel. Free parking and complimentary shuttle service to major tourist areas. Fun pizza place with bar in the lobby. Clean room and comfy bed. Five minute walk to Space Needle.

Room Tip: No carpet meant we could hear people above us walking around. Ask for room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was nice to have you stay with us here in Seattle! We apologize for the bit of sound from the hardwood floors and we are happy that you enjoyed your clean room and comfy bed.
Come back and see us soon!
Very best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I are in Seattle for a long weekend and wanted to stay all over the area. What a great hotel to start the weekend! Our room is spacious, clean, chic and very comfortable! I love the view of the Space Needle!

We walked about 5 miles last night, getting the lay of the land. Jacob at the front desk was so helpful, giving us great recommendations for things to do, places to eat, etc. The hotel isn't super close to the bay or the Market, but nonetheless, still a great location.

We loved the cupcakes, free parking, free wifi and all the goodies in the room, including the bath amenities! I highly recommend this hotel and would totally stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room is 342. Nice view of the space needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful commendation! It sounds like you started your trip off right with your stay with us and I'm glad that Jacob took such great care of you. I will personally thank him for being awesome!
Please come back and see us again.
Very best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Hotel features stunning design and decor, blending fun, artful elements with traditional elegance. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction begins at check-in; a gorgeous inlaid tile pineapple, the symbol of True Hospitality, is at your feet before the front desk; a reminder that you are our honored guest. The experienced staff in this downtown Seattle hotel delivers genuine,heartfelt service. Reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.