We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Maxwell!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you, Maxwell!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Thank you, Maxwell!! You gave my friend and I the best 4-day Seattle experience ever!! During our stay we could not think of even one negative thing about your hotel. Honestly! We stayed from April 22-25th and I just wanted to let everyone know how great your hotel is. To begin with your beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on outside of my home. We stayed in Room 425, which is a double Queen bedroom and very quiet. The AC was quiet, too. All the staff, particularly the front desk, were the best. Always with a smile and friendly word. And helpful. The shuttle was a special bonus and was a great convenience to our coming and going to the Seattle attractions, including the Woodland Zoo. We felt totally safe at the hotel and when walking in the area. In our room we enjoyed the Keurig coffee, the popcorn, and the convenience of having a microwave and fridge. It was also nice to have a DVD player in the room as well as having available at the front desk a selection of movies for our use. The bathroom was well lit, clean and the shower was spacious. The towels were so nice and fluffy. I will also mention that having the safe in our room was great feature. And the Wi-Fi worked perfectly in the room. We did not use the pool or exercise room but checked it out and found it to be good. And the free underground parking was another added bonus.

Each afternoon, after a long day of sightseeing and shopping, we always looked forward to the coffee (also decaf) and little pineapple muffins available for free in the lobby. It was a nice reward at the end of our day. There were so many welcoming little corners to relax and enjoy our treat. We had dinner at the Rock two nights and were definitely not disappointed. The selection was great. The pizza and pasta we had was so delicious and at a really good price.

I would positively recommend the Maxwell Hotel to anyone who wants to go to a comfortable, clean, friendly, convenient and great value hotel. And believe me I did my research before we left. I hope I have not forgotten to mention a detail. It was the hotel's attention to detail that added so much to our enjoyable stay. I will definitely come back to this hotel any time I am in the Seattle area again. Keep up the good work, Maxwell, and thanks again for making everything in our first-time visit so perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
What a wonderful review! Your feedback is so helpful for us to improve our services and also share what our hotel has to offer with fellow travelers. We are just so grateful to have you as a guest and to have gone above and beyond for you.

Please come back and see us soon!

All my best,

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    858
    397
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
378
529
64
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a trip to Seattle for our anniversary and chose the Maxwell Hotel based on positive reviews. We found it charming, clean, and inviting, but there were a few issues. We spilled leftover food onto the bed, so we left the card out saying we wanted the linens changed, but they weren't. Luckily, we had a room with two queens so we could just hop over to the other one. Also, the conditioner dispenser in our room was leaky, so by the time we woke up to shower, all of it was on the shower floor, and there wasn't any left. Lastly, and worst of all there was an incredibly loud, trashy, obviously drunk wedding party(or something along those lines) that ran around our floor until well after bar time both Friday and Saturday. I called the front desk to complain, and they said they'd be up to take care of it, but the obscene yelling, and noise persisted intermittently until well after 2:00am. Perhaps because they were a large group their comfort superseded my own, but I know others must've complained because of excessive shhhs and at least one crying baby coming from nearby rooms.

Overall, the hotel was a lovely place, but if the typical clientele is as sloppy and rude as our fellow floor mates from this trip, then I don't see us staying here for our next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are certainly happy that you enjoyed our charming and inviting hotel! We very much appreciate the feedback as we can improve on our services. I can assure you that our normal guests are not rude and unruly like the past weekend. We had a wedding party in house and we had trouble confining the noise. We are taking steps to ensure that our peace loving guests enjoy the environment of a family-friendly and quiet hotel.

I hope that you come back and see us soon. You will see that it was just an exception to the amazing environment that we are trying to have here at the Maxwell.

All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Here's the review I just sent to them - I LOVED the hotel! If in Seattle proper, choose this. If Seattle airport...well, there's one close to that which is awesome, so have to differentiate the two. We ADORED the Maxwell!

I selected this hotel based on rate (and free parking!), location, and reviews. And all three were fantastic, the latter of which, well-deserved and true! Although we arrived early, the friendly, efficient, and helpful staff checked us in without delay or problem. The complimentary shuttle was easy to book and incredibly helpful. The room was fantastic, roomy, and awesomely decorated in retro-chic. The room was sparkling clean, beds comfortable, and very quiet. Anytime we had a question, the staff was incredibly helpful, super-friendly, and very knowledgeable. From the shuttle driver to front staff, housekeeping to barista – all were fantastic! And location, location, location! A short walk to the Space Needle, a short (FREE!) shuttle ride to almost any downtown location, walking distance to fantastic Queen Anne area restaurants, parks, and pubs – couldn’t have been better! And since they have free parking – the rate is even better! When we had to travel to another part of WA for our trip – we missed this hotel and the staff! I could not say better things about it, and highly recommend it. As someone who tries to find the best value in location, quality, and overall price, I have stayed in a variety of hotels (from Motel 6 to Four Seasons), and the Maxwell is at the top of my list. We even took pictures of it from the Space Needle :) My best friend and I were in Seattle to celebrate my 40th birthday (and my friend’s 39+?? Birthday) thank you to your staff for adding to the fun, housekeeping for an exceptionally clean room, the shuttle driver for laughing at our lame jokes, the barista for being nice & super-quick, especially when we needed that espresso ASAP, and the decorators for making the hotel beautiful and chic! We loved it so much that I have already recommended it to two other friends who have already booked their stays! And if I’m lucky enough to visit Seattle again – this is the only hotel I want to stay at!

Room Tip: Not a tip for room - but for nearby food & happy hour: NY Pizza (happy hour 2x/day, great pizza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing with everyone the wonderful time you had at the Maxwell Hotel. We aim to please and I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle and driver along with it.

Come back and see us soon!

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor Wa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Diva’s Dressing Room suite for three nights March 21, 22 and 24.

We purchased a Seattle City Pass for $74; this gets you into the EMP, Pacific Science Center, a ride to the top of the Space Needle, the Aquarium, an Argosy harbor tour and either the Museum of Flight or Woodland Park zoo. The pass is a 43 % discount off of admission to all these places and can be bought at any of these attractions. We skipped the harbor tour as we’re boaters and the ride to the top of the space needle because I’m terrified of heights.

The Maxwell was an excellent base for us.
We walked over to the Seattle Center and took the Monorail one day, did the Market and Aquarium then walked back through Bell Town to the Maxwell.

We ate at the Rock which is attached to the hotel and just across the street at McMenamins,
I highly recommend both places.

I don’t know what more I could say about the Maxwell that all of the great reviews here haven’t already covered. It’s a great hotel; the staff was amazing and the room as well.
I loved the fact that all of the soap and lotions were in dispensers not little bottles.
The parking was free and in a secure underground garage, free parking in a big city is worth its weight in gold.

My only complaint and I’m stretching here….is that this room is the only room with a balcony and there are no chairs to sit on out there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you for taking the time to leave it for us and for sharing all the amazing sights that you and your daughter enjoyed. We hope to see you back with us soon.

Very best,

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels I ever stayed in. Keurig coffee makers in the rooms, mini fridge and microwave. They even provided free popcorn. I loved how the rooms were hardwood floor and the shower was really neat. Quick walk to the space needle but a long walk to Pike's Place. Upon checking out we noticed they provided bikes for their guests (wish we knew about that option). Overall fabulous stay and I would recommend to every one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We know Pike's Place is a bit of a hike but we also have a complimentary shuttle that can take you there as well as the complimentary bikes.

Come back soon and I'll drive you down there in the shuttle myself!

All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would rate the Maxwell as a high value stay for the price. For $150/night, it's tough to beat. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 15 min radius of the hotel. Very convenient and a $$ saver. Within blocks is the Seattle Center, Queen Anne neighborhood and space needle. Its a 2 mile hike or ride to the water front or pikes place market. Complimentary bicycles are available too upon reservation. Not a high frills hotel though. No conceirge or room service. The staff and front desk are very helpful though. Free Wifi. I would go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle and the friendly staff. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is my (new) favorite of all the Seattle hotels I've stayed in, so far.

The location is excellent - it's a couple blocks from the Space Needle, EMP, tram, etc. If you get a room on a side of the building other than the side we were stuck with, you might get an awesome view! Our view was mostly of residential homes in Queene Anne, but that's ok too.

There is free covered parking and plentiful handicapped spots. Major kudos for that.

They have a small indoor pool downstairs (no spa) that was kept quite clean.

I know they also lend out bicycles for free, which is a neat idea.

There's no continental breakfast served here, but they do have a small "cafe" (booth) downstairs that will sell you similar items.

There are free mini pineapple (the fruit seems to pop up in much of their branding) cupcakes served in the lobby every afternoon. Yum!

The decor is extremely updated and much higher-end than the price might suggest. The bed was probably my favorite part; the matress is extremely comfortable and the bedding was very nice. The flat screen tv included a dvd player (there are free dvd's to rent downstairs) and more cable channels than you expect to see at a hotel. The only thing I didn't like in our room was the water pressure in the shower. It was kind of ridiculous, really. Yes, the shower itself is gorgeous and the whole suite is for that matter -- but a girl needs to rinse her hair.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write such an amazing review! We truly appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed all that the Maxwell Hotel has to offer. Please come back and see us soon.
All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Hotel features stunning design and decor, blending fun, artful elements with traditional elegance. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction begins at check-in; a gorgeous inlaid tile pineapple, the symbol of True Hospitality, is at your feet before the front desk; a reminder that you are our honored guest. The experienced staff in this downtown Seattle hotel delivers genuine,heartfelt service. Reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.