We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Chique by the Space Needle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Boutique Chique by the Space Needle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I just loved this friendly, clean and funky hotel. It is perfectly located just 5 minutes walk from the Space needle. and the Duck Tour of Seattle (this is a MUST). The rooms were spacious and pristine. It has a really funky 60s bar with a Beatle's theme and great beers from its micro brewery. There is fresh coffee all day. It serves free cream cakes in the foyer in the afternoon and there is a wee tuck shop in the lobby which is open all day.We liked it so much we went back after we had finished our Alaskan cruise.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, 4th floor or more for great views of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
IH,

We appreciate you taking a few moments to comment on your stays at The Maxwell Hotel. It says a lot that you came back a second time! Thank you for being a repeat guest. We’re happy to read that you found our hotel rooms to be spacious and pristine.

The next time you are in Seattle, we hope that you come back to visit us!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    390
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
368
525
64
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Maxwell for a week over the 4th of July last year and it was a great stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. We took advantage of the free shuttle and free guest parking while we were there. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Drew Jaeger,

Thank you for commenting about your stay at The Maxwell Hotel over the 4th of July last year. We’re happy to read that you found our hotel to be enjoyable and friendly. Thank you as well for commenting on our shuttle service.

We hope to play host to you again in the future.

Cheers!
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was lovely - from the decor to the trendy bathroom, the hotel had everything we were looking for. The restaurant/ bar The Rock served delicious meals and had great drink specials (I enjoyed the buckets) on a daily basis. We had City Passes and were happy that the majority of the attractions we wanted to see were within a short walk from the hotel. We spent quite some time in the centre of town and the cab fare wasn't ridiculous.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel, I just wish I had paid extra for a room with a view of the Space Needle!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Katrina R,

Thank you for this great review of your stay at The Maxwell Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. Your recommendations of our hotel to your friends and family are greatly appreciated. It means a lot to us that you would suggest us to people you care about. It shows us that we must be doing some things right!

We’re also happy that you enjoyed the Rock - Wood Fired Pizza. (And their buckets) I will be sure to pass on your praise of the restaurant to their management team. They love hearing good news.

Should your travels bring back to Seattle (which is a quite a ways away from Brisbane) we would LOVE to have you stop in and say hello!

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had business on this side of town and the Maxwell was a perfect location. Great lobby for hanging out and waiting for other members of our group. I would stay here again if I'm back in Seattle on business or pleasure. A very short walk to the Gates Foundation and the Space Needle. Great surrounding neighborhood to walk in.

Room Tip: Great rooms on the 4th floor. It is very quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
8282Kathleen,

Thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay at The Maxwell Hotel. We’re really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s nice to hear from our guests that whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is well situated for their needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us. It was in a quiet but trendy and central neighbourhood, it allowed dogs and was very laidback, and because it wasn't downtown we were able to take the dogs for walks in the neighbourhood. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is very friendly and keep the place immaculate, and the beds are really comfortable. We had no complaints at all (oh, except could not use the wi-fi in the room, not sure why). There is also a gym and a pool, and you can borrow bikes. We are going to do that next time. The free parking is the icing on the cake. There is a shuttle to downtown but we walked there and back easily. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Roundtheworld71,

We’re DELIGHTED that you are already planning your next trip to Seattle and The Maxwell Hotel! We will make sure to have those bikes in top notch shape for you!

Thank you for leaving us a great review. We really appreciate you using your time to talk about our hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

See you soon,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent choice for a unique Seattle experience near Seattle Center and Space Needle. Free parking and an easy walk to the monorail. The rooms are nice with king size beds, wood floors, Kuerig's in the room, and a mini fridge. Bring your DVDs as each room is furnished with a player and flat screen television. There is a small pool and exercise room - but really, who needed it when you could easily walk to fun Seattle attractions. There are great rooms with a view of the Space Needle. Also, aside from the in room restaurant, there are great neighborhood eats nearby. The rooms were clean and I slept great - there was very little noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
SharalDc,

Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. We’re really glad to read that you had a relaxing & peaceful stay while you were our guest.

Great guest tip regarding the DVD’s by the way! Also, we keep a stock of DVD’s at the front desk for guests to browse through and borrow during their stay. So IF you do forget a DVD, please feel free to borrow one of ours.

We hope to see you again soon!


Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel by the Space Needle. Free parking, though on a first come first serve basis, and no need to drive into downtown Seattle as they have a shuttle. They did say on their website they had a pool so we brought our swimsuits but it was so small you couldn't actually do any swimming in it. More like something to just get wet in. Has a restaurant on site which was handy as we didn't feel like going out for dinner. Served pizza, hamburgers, etc. and was fine. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. The only problem was that when we tried to connect with the wifi on our IPad, there was no connection. We called down to the front desk and they gave some sort of lame excuse that there was a problem with Apple's IOS6 operating system. Strangely enough, we stayed at two other hotels the previous nights and had no problem. They didn't seem terribly concerned about helping us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
BlazeVancouver,

Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We appreciate you taking a few moments of your time to do so. We’re really happy that with the exception of the WiFi, you enjoyed yourself at the hotel. I am sorry though to read that you felt brushed off in regards to our explanation and handling of the issue. I assure you we absolutely were concerned by the lacking wireless service. We spend all of last week working with our IT team to install all new equipment that would provide a much more consistent wireless signal for our guests. I am happy to report that our wireless is now working as advertised.

We hope that the next time you need a place to stay in Seattle you will choose us again. I feel confident that you will be pleased with our wireless service, thus making the ENTIRE stay a success!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Hotel features stunning design and decor, blending fun, artful elements with traditional elegance. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction begins at check-in; a gorgeous inlaid tile pineapple, the symbol of True Hospitality, is at your feet before the front desk; a reminder that you are our honored guest. The experienced staff in this downtown Seattle hotel delivers genuine,heartfelt service. Reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.