We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Maxwell Hotel Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #8 of 93 hotels in Seattle
camano island, wa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Maxwell Hotel on 11/15 to attend the RHCP's concert at the Key Arena. We arrived early and received an upgrade at no extra charge. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and staff extremely friendly. It was conveniently located within walking distance to many restaurants and Seattle Center. Missed out on the pineapple cupcakes-so sad. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. From what we’ve heard, the RHCP show was great. Several of our guests enjoyed our proximity to Key Arena for this show. Hopefully you enjoyed the show as well.

We’re sorry to read that you missed out on cup cakes. However, if you are EVER in our area again, stop in and we will be sure to send you home with a couple.

Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    800
    366
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
350
492
60
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We concur with the positive reviews of this hotel, awesome location, very clean, well maintained, newly updated and modern. The restaurant/lounge equally as good. The only cons were, when arriving at 8:45 on a Monday evening, we wonder if the front desk staff felt as though we were returning guests. She was very pleasant and accommodating, however she did not advise us of the included amenities (free microwave popcorn, water in the room and DVD's at the front desk), Wi-Fi access password, or that they don't use hotel info binders in the rooms, it's all online now. We did however discover all this when we asked a very helpful gentleman at the front desk the next day. A nice touch, fresh half & half cream in the room fridge for your coffee/tea, and a Keurig coffee maker. Another small thing, the hardwood floors are very nice, except when the people above you are walking back and forth early in the morning. They have a nice little take away eatery/canteen at the entrance that's open from 6:30am till 4pm. We went to get a quick breakfast snack the morning we left, but the only employee was on a 30 minute lunch break at 10:45? Minor points for the overall pluses of this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a top floor facing South. Hardwood floors can be a little noisy if above you, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Mike and Lynn,

We really appreciate your review. Thank you for taking a few moments to share your thoughts with the traveling community. We’re enjoyed reading your review.

I do apologize that you were not provided accurate property information during your first encounter with our staff. I was happy, however, to read that our staff was very helpful for you during the remainder of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maxwell Hotel the next time business or leisure brings you back to Seattle.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Maxwell Hotel is a great Boutique Hotel right in the heart of The Seattle Center. It is an easy walk to Pike Place Market, The Monorail, The Space Needle and other great activities and areas of Seattle. The Hotel itself is very modern love the decor of the lobby and rooms! They give you a complimentary bottle of wine on your stay, nice touch! Friendly and knowledgeable staff, Clean rooms, European Showers so no doors-kind of neat but not so sure about that...Tommy Bahama Soap and Shampoo and Conditioner. We had a view of the Space Needle from our room. Had a corporate event held here, good food and drinks. The Rock Pizzeria is attached, pretty good food, had a burger. Love the coffee and cupcakes reception from 3pm-7pm, complimentary of course. Downfalls of this hotel: No room service (but you can walk up to Pineapple Espresso) and their wifi connection is very slow, hard to connect too, it kicks you off alot. Overall, however, great place and I will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of The Space Needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hopefully you we’re completely sleepless in our hotel! We’d like to think that you were able to take advantage of our comfortable beds. Kidding aside, we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also glad to read that you found our location to be a perfect fit for your time in Seattle.

Thank you for this thorough review. You certainly hit a lot of our highpoints. That will be very helpful to other travelers researching our hotel. I would like to take a moment and clarify a couple of things from this review though. We do not provide a complimentary bottle of wine to each of our guests, but we do provide complimentary parking, cupcakes, coffee, popcorn, bikes and WiFi to all of our guests. Also, you mentioned that we do not provide room service, this is half correct. The hotel doesn’t provide room service, however the Rock Wood Fired Pizza does provide room delivery of their menu items.

Again, I want to thank you for your review of our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice hotel. A little weird with all the pineapples all over the place. However, clean and nice staff. Nice to have hardwood (or laminate floors) in a hotel. Kind of takes the gross factor out of carpets in hotels. Overall nice experience,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to comment about your recent stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed our flooring choice. We strongly believe that our decision to go with a laminate floor allows for us to keep our rooms cleaner than had we chose carpet.

The Pineapple is the international symbol for hospitality. We’ve adopted it into our logo and culture as our way of showing the world we know how to create positive lasting memories through providing authentic hospitality.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Seattle.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Maxwell one night while in town for an event. The place is adorable, decor is fun, people are friendly and the location can't be beat. Also, the room was immaculately clean which is my top priority. The neighborhood was great with lots of small restaurants surrounding the hotel and walking distance to the major attractions.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the space needle which was very cool. However, I only spent a little ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and found your room to be immaculately clean.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for three days on a recent business trip. Rooms were great- everything I needed at hand and appealing, modern decor. Location in lower Queen Anne a block from Seattle Center was really a plus. Monorail five minutes away. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the decor, the bikes available for use and the cupcakes and coffee in the afternoon. Nice pool and small work-out room available as well. Will definitely stay there again next time I am in Seattle.

Room Tip: The view of the city and Space Needle really made it a Seattle visit- worth the extra if it's in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay enough to come back another time! We appreciate you mentioning all of our offerings. (Bikes, fitness center, pool and location)

We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Tyler Suddith - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Overall I would recommend this hotel. Rooms were nice and whole hotel appears to be updated. Free shuttle was a big bonus and use of bicycles is a nice touch. Promimity to mono rail and arts venues is very good. Only two things keeping me from rating it a 5 - wifi didn't work most of the time and the gym was very disappointing for a hotel is size. Really need to upgrade the gym and add equipment.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel Seattle

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel Seattle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Hotel features stunning design and decor, blending fun, artful elements with traditional elegance. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction begins at check-in; a gorgeous inlaid tile pineapple, the symbol of True Hospitality, is at your feet before the front desk; a reminder that you are our honored guest. The experienced staff in this downtown Seattle hotel delivers genuine,heartfelt service. Reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.