We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely hotel. We're locals and wanted to roll out of bed and to the start line for a St Pat's Day run the next morning. Mission accomplished! Room was immaculate, with an eclectic, bright decor, and well-designed for the modern, connected traveller (free wifi, wired connections throughout room, plenty of outlets). Our only gripe: the sheets were obviously synthetic and felt like a mix of paper and plastic... I'd happily pay more for better sheets! Also, the shower, while promising (large, walk in), had a disappointing, immovable showerhead. This might be a reflection of water pressure/conservation ratios, but I've seen better. Another miss is the lack of proper breakfast availability - but then, this is Lower Queen Anne, so you don't have to travel far for that. Having a "Rock" on the property is a good move, for those who like good/gooey pizzas (and classic rock)! Free, secure parking in basement of the hotel, with easy access to the property via elevator. Overall, great addition of a modern, clean, and reasonably-priced hotel in the LQA/Seattle Center area.

Room Tip: "View" rooms are a bit more, but the higher you are (Floor 4 or above), you'll see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    469
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
456
620
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice location with easy access to everything by foot or by car. I was most intrigued by their unique mini pineapple cupcakes that welcomed you in the lobby. They were a whimsical way to reinforce their brand.

The bathroom was my favorite - spacious and sleek. The rooms were very clean and the bed was full of pillows you could sink into, prop your feet on or just squish as you sleep the night away. I'll say we didn't spend much time here but we used it as our book end for our trip from Seattle, to Victoria, to Vancouver and back to Seattle. We were easily able to walk from here to the Space Needle, Pike Place, the piers and even uphill to Queen Anne.

I will say, their reservations process was not as smooth as the stay - my friend experienced multiple charges and phone calls required to correct it. However, they did correct it and our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Loved this hotel. Beautiful laminate wood floors so no carpet to cause me to ponder what might be in there!! Smart layout including dispensers so no small bottles taking up space and creating trash. Keurig coffee machine, produces waste but no more than others and so efficient for guests. King room was large and comfortable, free wi-fi which should be a basic for all hotels. Staff personable and helpful with free shuttle around the city. Nice walk to the markets. Not high-end posh but highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My only complaint is that I had only 1 night at this lovely hotel. Great service, perfectly located, lovely views from the King rooms, comfortable beds, and clean, clean, clean. We walked to the Space Needle, and the monorail which we could ride to walking distance of the Pike Street Market. the hotel staff were all friendly and knowledgable about the area. I had a Queen room with views of the hillside lit up at night. The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel had window views of the Space Needle. I really appreciate the extra clean rooms, large screen TV, & walk-in shower. I will be back to this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the Space Needle were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is very much what the other reviews say. It is trendy, friendly and comfortable. The rooms are quite large with good amenities like a mini-fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and flat screen tv. I was particularly happy there there was a great local brewpub called McMenamins right next door. There are also many other nice neighborhood restaurants in close walking distance. A little further away (about 2 miles) in the Fremont neighborhood are even more hip bars, restaurants, and boutique shops. Don't miss the Theo Chocolate factory.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothell
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a sat for a friends b day party.Free parking!! Very clean with fun decor.Lots of places to eat within walking distance.Everybody at the hotel were very friendly in person and on the phone.Love the shower and Tommy Bahamma s/p ,cond, body wash.Very comfortable bed, nice floors.The microwave and popcorn were a fun extra .We are staying here again in two weeks while we catch a dinner show at Teatro .This is such a great hotel for the $.Great rates.We hope to take out the complimentary bikes

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We're delighted you enjoyed your time at The Maxwell Hotel! We've gotten our bikes ready for you in hopes that you will visit us soon! The weather report calls for continued wait-and-see weather! But we're certain Spring is around the corner!

Thanks again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Even though it was during the off season, we had the best time.

The hotel seems brand new and all the employees are very helpful. The man that checked us in (I believe his name was Brian) gave us great tips on where to eat in the area and helped us all week long. There are a lot of great restaurants in the area and we enjoyed walking to the metropolitan market for snacks to keep in our room during our stay. Don't bother bringing your toiletries, they have wonderful smelling shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispensers in the bathrooms! It seems their anemities are endless, we were leaving to go on a walk and the same man at the front desk handed us umbrellas because there was a slight drizzle. They also have a shuttle that was available immediatly at our request several times, which saved us money on taxi rides. If I could have changed one thing about our stay, it would be softer sheets.

Overall, I feel we could not have picked a better place for our first Seattle trip! I have a feeling there will be many more to come, and The Maxwell Hotel will be our go-to getaway!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.