We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Family of 4 on vacation in the Pacific Northwest (M, D, 16yr boy, 14yr girl).

We were trying to figure out if we wanted to stay downtown, on the waterfront or at the Maxwell and were not sure if it was too far out of the way. It was in the PERFECT spot. The Maxwell is located just North of the EMP and the Space Needle and in a very pleasant neighborhood that had a cool vibe. We started our walk around Seattle from here and it was the perfect location to get to the Waterfront, then up through Pike Market, then up to downtown for some shopping. After shopping, we hopped on the Monorail to get back to the EMP and Needle and enjoyed the time there. After this, we hit a close by restaurant and then it was a quick walk back to the hotel.

Great price, 2 queen beds, spacious room, great location, great perk ($20 coffee shop, 4 one way monorail tickets). Got a passcode to stay at a discount in the future. Great experience and my wife and my kids were very pleased with my choice to stay at the "Pineapple".

Note cost from airport in a Town Car was $50. From Maxwell to airport was $42.

Room Tip: 2 Queen beds worked well. No other tips or tricks for us on this great rate from Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    447
    52
    8
    7
See reviews for
427
585
69
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were so impressed. The location was perfect for us - just a few blocks to Seattle Center and the Space Needle, as well as the Monorail which we took to Pike's Market.
The front desk staff was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms are so clean - we loved the wood floors and the decor. They did not look like the typical hotel rooms.. It was nice to have a little refrigerator and microwave. and even microwave popcorn. The beds were so comfortable and we really liked the big walk-in shower. We really appreciated the free parking. The pineapple emblem on the doormat was very indicative of the welcome we received there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Maxwell hotel is a lovely boutique hotel nestled in the Queen Anne district of Seattle - just mere blocks away from the Space Needle and the duck boats!

I was traveling to Seattle for a meeting with Google (cool stuff!) and was very impressed with their amenities, service, & style. Though I had a bit of a snafu with the reservation (double check the dates on your PDF confirmation!) but thanks to sweet Jessica Scott & the Maxwell manager Tyler Suddith it got sorted handily. YAY! Impressive!

The lobby is lovely, modern, and very welcoming with many comfy lounges & chairs to meet friends & co-workers. They do provide mini-cupcakes & complimentary coffee every day but was too busy to partake.

My room #524 was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had a lovely view of the Space Needle. Knowing that the hotel rooms have hardwood floors I requested a room on the top floor (5th) so as not to hear any footsteps over my head. I do wish they had had an area rug or two or a runner for cold feet - thank goodness for comfy slippers & fuzzy socks!

Knowing that they provided single serve Keurig coffee makers I brought my favourite K-Cups (Jet Fuel!) and I really enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee every morning! However, the BEST amenity that they provide guests is the FREE FAST Wireless Internet! It's 2011, why can't ALL hotels do this already!? /rant

The Maxwell is within walking distance of several restaurants including Bahn Thai and McMenamins Queen Anne's pub. It's also a short block away from the Teatro ZinZanni which provided an amazing evening's dinner & entertainment my last night! Make sure to mention the Maxwell when buying tickets for a significant discount! (see my other reviews)

Though getting a cab in this residential neighborhood was sometimes a bit of a challenge & a wait thanks to Helen at the front desk who arranged the night before for a town car ride to the airport. The car was lovely, a flat rate ($42), and arrived early. Now THAT's the way to go!

Honestly, I was very pleased by this lovely property with it's attentive service and would both recommend it to anyone and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 5th floor near elevator facing Roy street with a view of the Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel was across the street from Seattle Center. It was very easy to get around and see all the sites by walking and taking public transportation. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The "Aria" room was nice and clean and the perfect size for a couple. It had a microwave and fridge which was a nice addition. There was a free parking garage under the hotel and there were always plenty of spaces. The only downside was the tiny workout room and pool. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This boutique hotel turned our first Seattle visit into a "let's come back here again" experience. The free parking and convenient location allowed us to experience the area by foot. The hotel is nestled in lower Queen Anne, just a few short blocks walking distance from the Space Needle. The beds were soft & comfortable; and the hard wood floors & tiled bathroom made the room much cleaner than traditional carpeting. The lobby's contemporary decor was conducive to casual lounging & relaxing after walking all day in the nearby Seattle Center. As we sat in the spacious lobby, we enjoyed complimentary pineapple mini cupcakes and a reasonably-priced latte. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable each time a guest asked for recommendations or directions. We especially noted the area was safe & quiet to walk around; even at night. It was more than we expected and will absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Maxwell staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Regrettably no breakfast capability at the hotel but there are endless options outside the hotel within a few minutes walk. Rooms are spacious and clean and the afternoon bottomless coffee pot and cup cakes is a welcome pleasure when returning from a long day enjoying Seattle. Downtown Seattle and the Pike Market are easily walkable (about 20 minutes) and the hotel fits neatly into the $32 fixed price taxi ride to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Talk to the folk on reception desk. Their antennae work perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

one of the best things about the hotel, especially in seattle, is the free parking!
i have had tons of bad experience parking just about anywhere and its a nice change. the lobby was different, the rooms were clean and nice. everything had a different feel than an ordinary chain hotel.

I was here a couple months after its opening and i got a good price for it. it is probably a lot more expensive than the price i remember paying.

this spot is also a pretty good location. you can take a train/tram downtown so you save yourself money parking downtown. you can just walk and hangout without having to woryr about the car. the tram is quick and is actually pretty good in terms of view.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, T4B, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.