We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Courtesy Bicycles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Nyack, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location and Courtesy Bicycles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the Maxwell before our Alaskan Cruise. We had two days in Seattle. The Maxwell is very contemporary and that was fine. It's location near the Space Needle was great to walk around the area. There was some good breakfast places and a nice bar with local beers right next door. The Queen Anne district was good to explore.
The best part, however, was that they offered courtesy bicycles. Seattle is very bike friendly. There are some hills, but almost always there are bike paths around. We were able to explore Fremont and the Ballard area and the locks so much more extensively because of the bicycles. Their bus system is wonderful also to get to these areas but the bikes made it so much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    447
    52
    8
    7
See reviews for
427
585
69
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I are staying here now and we really like it. Great places to visit and go eat right in the neighborhood. Nice to have the parking for free! Also we lived the coffee and popcorn that was in the room. Beautiful hotel, big room!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My wife and I booked the Maxwell for a vacation and it was a great choice. The location is quiet, but within easy walking distance of the Space Needle and the Monorail, which is a cool and short ride to downtown.

The rooms are trendy and clean with some great amenities. Our door's internal security lock somehow became loose and actually prevented us from entering the room. The manager was able to open it and moved us into a different room with views of the Space Needle. It is great to look out and enjoy the view at night.

There is also a great Thai restaurant just down the block as well as other eats nearby. I would stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors on the side with the Space Needle. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pueblo, Co
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Maxwell July 11th-13th. We enjoyed our stay very much. We arrived early on monday checked our bags and headed over to the Space needle park to do some site seeing the hotel staff called us as soon as our room was ready, This gave us time to unpack and change for a 3:30 appointment we had. The room was very well decorated the bed comfortable. We requested a space needle view and we were given a room on the 3rd floor facing the space needle, unfortunitly due to the parking garage accross the street the space needle is the only thing you can see.The location was very convient, a short 6 minute walk and we were at the space needle $2.00 for the monorail ride and we were in the heart of down town seattle. We also rode the mono rail to downtown caught the light rail to the airport for a total of $6.00 per person.
The room was very quiet and comfortable the staff pleasent and helpful, we will stay at the Maxwell the next time we are in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We really liked our room and it was very comfortable sleeping. Its in a great location...only a short walk to the Seattle Center/Space Needle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

Perfect for Seattle Center exploring, clean,comfortable beds, huge lobby w chic furnishings, pool, free parking which is unheard of in Seattle(most hotels charge $40+), also free bike rentals.

I live south of city but stay here when I am n town late for shows, parties etc. I have recommended this to numerous out of town visitors who loved this place.

Note it is not right in hub of downtown but a long walk or short cab. It is however right next to the Space Needle. Right out front door in all directions are great restaurants, pubs, coffee shops and stores. The Duck tour is super close too.

We really like this place. Only quirk is showers are walk in with no shower door and rooms only average size...but u are there to explore great city of Seattle!
(Walk to.these places : cafe lladro for espresso, Crow for casual gourmet dinner, Dicks for a cheap burger, McMENNAMINS for craft brew and pub food, and Tolouse Petite for breakfast, lunch, dinner or famous huge happy hour.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We wanted to get away from the usual Holiday Inn /Best Western etc. routine and out of the downtown core but close enough to use transit. The Maxwell fit the bill. Our room (we were upgraded without asking - thank you!) was very spacious, great beds, wonderful bathroom. Initially we were not too pleased that there was no restaurant for breakfast. However, there is a great market almost next door where you can pick up any kind of bread, cheese, fruit, yoghurt etc. And with the in-room fridge and microwave, not to mention the Keurig coffeemachine, it worked out perfectly for us. Nice touch with the complimentary mini-cupcakes and cofffee in the reception area and free newspaper at your door in the morning. The friendliest housekeepers around. Spaceneedle a ten-minute walk, where the monorail takes you right downtown. Others have commented on not finding free parking underground. We always found a space in the 3 days we were there. I would say the only negative was hearing the upstairs guests' every footstep on the wooden (albeit a lovely) floor.
By the way, if you have a car and time, go visit the Bellevue Museum of Art. Great contemporary art. If you have even more time, go to the sunday Freemont fleamarket.

Room Tip: I believe our room was 348, at one end of the hotel. I was told it was one of the biggest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, T4B, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.