We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Estiatorio

Plaka Estiatorio
5407 20th Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4004
206-829-8934
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 3,088 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really good food, nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The food here is delicious, and while the menu has all the Greek standards, it has many things you wouldn't ordinarily find (dandelions, smelt) and it's all delicious. The place is pretty in a casual, homey way. The staff is friendly and competent. The place is roomy with lots of tables, but feels cosy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, WA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“We’ll never get tired of going here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Plaka and it continues to hit the mark. This is a small family restaurant that cares and it shows! Our favorite time to go is around 2:00 PM and there’s almost no one there and we order off of the dinner menu. The lamb chops with roasted potatoes and green beans were excellent and the Marcaronda, Greek spaghetti struck by lightening, was fabulous. We ended up with three different dessert cookies- a great way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our Guardian Angel of parking found this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were looking for a place for dinner when a parking place became available immediately next to their back door - fate had spoken and it was fully in our favor.
The atmosphere, friendly staff, and excellent food at a reasonable price makes this a great place to share with friends when we are next in town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, we plan to return soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

6 of us enjoyed an excellent, delicious dinner at this warm, authentic restaurant. Family run with attentive, friendly service. We shared small plates and entrees. The Sanganki was so good, the calamari the best we have had outside of Greece. Portions were large, salad was fresh with an intriguing mix of ingredients, mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumbers, figs, olives, delicious! We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Visit -- Diisappointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We recently moved to the Northwest from the Chicago area. We don't often eat at Greek restaurants, but this was okay, not great Greek food. For small plates, the Spanakopita was dry and had virtually no feta. The prawn dish was just okay. For large plates, the Papousakia (stuffed eggplant) was excellent, but the lamb shank with egg noodles and tomato sauce (a special) was mediocre and way too salty. We split a baklava for dessert. It was not layered like traditional baklava, but it was good. If this is the best Greek food in Seattle, it's not a good sign! It doesn't help that prices are high for the quality level. Fortunately, there are several nearby restaurants in Ballard that have much higher quality and much lower prices.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Plaka Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.