We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EMP Museum

EMP Museum
325 5th Avenue N, Seattle Center, Seattle, WA 98109
206 770 2700
Website
Improve this listing
Visit EMP Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Seattle CityPass
Ranked #28 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Arts and crafts, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit a museum like no other on earth. EMP Museum, located next to Seattle’s historic Space Needle, houses some of the world’s most legendary pop culture artifacts. Test your DJ skills in Sound Lab, take over the spotlight in On Stage, and get the scoop on the world’s most mesmerizing producers of pop culture. Hands-on experiences, iconic artifacts, and award-winning exhibitions featuring luminaries in the fields of music, literature, television, and film make EMP a destination unlike any other.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So cool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Any rock and roll or sci fi fan should come here. Five exhibits for $15, all awesome. I was able to see the horror movie, sci fi movie, Jimi Hendrix, Nirvana, and leather jacket exhibit, all awesome. Cool, comfy open theater and guitar sculpture on second floor. Lots of interactive stuff to do unique to each exhibit. Right next door to the Space Needle, convenient to go there on the same day. Modern architecture that looks awesme from the Space Needle. Control your kids if you go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    561
    255
    92
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Guitars everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The original intent was to build a Jimi Hendrix museum, but I heard they couldn't get enough investors without expanding the scope. I think they did a really good job. They have great examples of the evolution of the guitar. The gift shop has interesting books and items for music lovers of all ages.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Museum of Contemporary Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was supposed to skip this attraction thinking that it was geared towards “modern day hippies” and sci-fi convention nerds, but upon finding that the Duck Tour across the street was a tad too expensive ($36), I decided to go in anyway as I suddenly had free time in my itinerary.

Boy, did I realize that my initial hunch was totally misplaced. Generally, whenever you’d hear of the word “culture”, you’d think of musty museums and art galleries, not leather jackets, rock concerts, guitars, Jimi Hendrix, Curt Cobain and science fiction movies. Then again, culture “consists of the beliefs, behaviors… and characteristics common to the members of a particular group or society” (from Cliffs Notes) and culture and history are continually evolving and taking place as we live. Today’s electric guitar circa 2013 will certainly be in some museum 500 years down the road, so why not showcase it now while its still in the present right? This museum does exactly that and does it well.

While still not on my top list of “not to miss” attractions if you have a limited amount of time, I’d say this place is definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Jimi lives!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had heard about the museum through a friend and was glad to go.

They were having an exhibit about the early years of Jimi Hendrix while he earned his chops in Britain and the London music scene in the '60's. Lots of his music and pictures and memorabilia were there. It was very cool. If you a Jimi fan, its a must see!!

They also had a tribute to Nirvana/Kurt Cobain and the Seattle grunge scene and its evolution. Again good to hear and see.

They has a huge screen in the middle of the museum that plays the same video but to different music all the time. Great to hear that as well.

Other exhibits were the science fiction all stars (Star Trek and Star Wars aficionados should visit for sure) and the scary movie exhibit with some of my favorites there.

Again, if your a Jimi fan, don;t hold off, go now. It was mid week and not too busy. Have fun!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“plan a whole day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

So much to do.... and time just passes kids from 7-19 all had a blast and we opened the place and were part of the group being asked to leave so they could close.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EMP Museum also viewed

 

Been to EMP Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EMP Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.