We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mozart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Symphony

Seattle Symphony
200 University Street, Seattle, WA
206-215-4747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a break and take in some Bach or Berlioz here.
ATLANTA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mozart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Gerard Schwartz was conducting His orchestra andit was a beautiful reading of Mozart's last 3 symphonies. Glad we got to hear it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    33
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very affordable venue to hear first class music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ever since Ludovic Morlot became the Music Director of the Seattle Symphony it appears to have broadened its listener base considerably. In part it is due to a smart pricing policy. I often times get very generous offers to buy tickets to single performances that are hard to refuse. As a result I've been frequenting Seattle Symphony concerts and have listened to some amazing performers play with the Seattle Symphony. I particularly enjoy young talent that Ludovic Morlot brings to Seattle. Also worth mentioning is an amazing diversity of musical genres and styles offered as part of the Seattle Symphony program.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience of the arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went to Tchaikfest on the second night and Benaroya Hall was packed! The concert was at 8:00 and we went to purchase tickets at around 6 and there were only 3rd tier tickets left available for purchase. I presented my student ID and my ticket was only 15 dollars! It was the best 15 dollars I've ever spent! The hall was beautiful and the guest musicians were world renowned and outstanding. If you are in town visiting and a lover of classical music this is definitely an experience you don't want to miss!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just attended the 2 night Tchaikovsky Festival featuring 3 young artists who absolutely mesmerized the audience. They were absolutely brilliant, technically in the stratosphere. Then, add the 'normal' outstanding support of the orchestra and it was truly two nights to be remembered. We have attended MANY performances and have yet to hear one that we regret going to. We think this is an outstanding orchestra and attracts outstanding performers, young as well as established.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“New Years "Pops" With Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

For the past two years we have celebrated New Year's Eve with the Seattle Symphony. This year we rang in 2014 with the orchestra playing the theme from Star Wars, and then they alternated performing selections from the Nutcracker Symphony with selections from Duke Ellington's Nutcracker Suite. That was very creative and fun for both the symphony and the audience. There were additional selections performed to round out the concert. That's when the party started! The grand foyer is turned into a ballroom compete with dancing, party hats, and beverage selections. It's a great way to celebrate and it's different every year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.