We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Center for Wooden Boats

The Center for Wooden Boats
Waterway 4, South end of Lake Union, 1010 Valley Street, Seattle, WA 98109
206 382 2628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum of wooden boats allows you to take some of the exhibits out for a test-row on Lake Union.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we were looking for something a little different a d low key so we headed down to Lake Union to the Center for Woden boats. And, it happened to be the Air and Boat Festival! So much fun, great boats, seaplanes, beautiful views. Great little pond to sail radio controlled sailboats, fun fountains, great time watching the seaplanes take off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a wonderful find! Lots of learning about Northwest sea history. We enjoyed our time. Near the new Museum of History and Industry in Lake Union Park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Boats, boats everywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely side trip. It was enjoyable seeing a variety wooden boats. My friend and I went on a Sunday afternoon after a long wknd of adventures so we did not go out on the boats. Maybe next time. But we did enjoy walking around looking at them and taking pics. Simple, yet enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Plank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Worth a look after we had a boat trip, nice to see the boats still being made this way good photo shots

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Messing Around In Boats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you like messing around in boats, and like sail and row boats, especially wood ones with some historical significance, this place is great. You can rent rowboats and you can take a test to rent a sailboat. Or you can just look at all the boats and talk to the staff and the volunteers.
The location on Lake Union is perfect.
The have many youth programs but are aimed at residents.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Center for Wooden Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Center for Wooden Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.