We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbia Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky View Observatory

Sky View Observatory
701 Fifth Ave, 73rd floor, Columbia Center, Seattle, WA 98104 (Formerly Bank of America Tower)
206-386-5564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Pflugerville, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Columbia Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you want an amazing view of downtown Seattle, this is where you need to go. The building is 76 stories high with an observation deck on the 73rd floor. While you can go to the Space Needle and get a great view of Seattle, the view from this building is simply amazing. There are large windows almost all around and on a clear day, as it was when we went in 2012, it was panoramic.
The price was more than reasonable, in 2012, as it cost us $15 for me and my wife.
Some of the photos I have included were taken from the Starbucks they have on the 70th floor (I think), but even those are awesome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    185
    37
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our second day in Seattle we stumbled on this lil gem. Well at 76 floors not so little. We were able to get a group on deal for two for 12.50 which normally is the cost of each. We walked from our hotel early in the morning and by the time we arrived it had opened (10am) just looking up from the outside showed the sheer talness of this building. .we entered and took our first elevator to the 40th floor, the elevators are very roomy and very clean, at the 40th we had to switch to another elevator that took us to the 73rd floor. This is where the observation deck is, it is enclosed with huge glass panes all the way around. The view of Seattle is amazing ! we were over a low bank of clouds that covered some of the city, but you can see for miles ..we could see as far as mount Ranier and could make out with ease the mountain ranges in the distance. This is a must see you will not be disappointed. . Make sure you take your camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to see the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nothing to dislike... It overlooks the entire city and on a clear day you can see all the mountains that surround the city. You also look down at the space needle from here, so this is the place to go if you want to be way up there!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Aerial View of Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ascend to the 76th floor of the Columbia Center on a sunny day and you're guaranteed a breathtaking 360-degree view of Seattle and its surrounding lakes and mountains (including Rainier and Baker). Less expensive and more awesome than the view from the top of the Space Needle. Well worth the modest price.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go on a clear day and you won't regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The view from the 73rd floor is amazing! I think the nominal cost for this is well worth it. There's not much too it when you get up there, but its not needed because the view is what you focus on. There are massive windows that loop around the floor, so you get some amazing panoramic views. There is also some basic information about geography and history and a small cafe to buy snacks and drinks. I would suggest going up there around sunset on a clear day.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky View Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Sky View Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky View Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.