We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Part of Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fremont

Fremont
Seattle, WA (Fremont)
Improve this listing
Visit Fremont like an insider
Top Rated
$119*
and up
Seattle in One Day: Sightseeing Tour including...
Ranked #85 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The statue of Lenin on the corner should clue you in to the fact that everything about this neighborhood is alternative. Vegetarian cafes, eclectic shops, coffee houses, bookstores and street artists abound.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quirky Part of Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent one night in a hostel in Fremont and explored the area on foot. There are some quirky things worth seeing in this part of town. We picked up a walking guide to Fremont that provided the locations of all the art installations in Fremont. We had a rental car, but since it was Sunday, we were able to part it on the street for the night for free. It was nice to walk and a car wasn't needed. There are some great things to see including a slab of the Berlin Wall, a statue of Lenin, a troll under the Aurora Bridge, a 53' Cold War era Rocket. It's worth spending an afternoon or evening exploring here. But it was enough out of the way, it was nice to drive to the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    66
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
643 reviews 643 reviews
205 attraction reviews
Reviews in 507 cities Reviews in 507 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“In a city of neighborhoods this is a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The troll under the bridge, the giant statue of Lenin, the naked bicyclists in the parade, how good does it get?

We are from Montana and it is fun to get to the city. This is a funky part of a funky city and great fun. Great places to eat, to see, to walk about.

We have to visit the troll every time we come to Seattle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Interesting visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Last time I was here was for the Solstice Parade in June so a revisit in the Autumn with my wife was somewhat different. The feel of the area was somewhat quieter although still very attractive and well worth the time. Visited the Lenin statue and Troll as well as walking to the Centre of the Universe and visiting several of the shops. Worth a visit at any time if year!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting artistic neighborhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fremont is full of sculpture, artistic vibes, interesting restaurant and a cool chocolate factory. If you go there, make sure to take one of the "Fremont by walk brochure" as you will enjoy the principal attraction of this place. There are a really nice turkish restaurant "cafe Turko" if you are hungry as the food is excellent and the price is affordable.

However, if you don't like modern art, nor chocolate, please don't go there as you will think you lost your time,.

Personnaly, I enjoy taking 4 hours of my day going there (1h30 round trip, 1 hour Theo, 30 minutes eating and the rest wandering around.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I loved visiting this neighbour hood. We were lucky and were there on a day when they had the market and a doggie costume competition. This is a lively, funky and fun side trip when your in the Seattle area, I was suprised how short of a drive it was from downtown Seattle. I think only 10 min or so. It was also nice to dip our feet in the river and relax on the dock as we tried to cure our hangovers from a late night in Seattle. I would say its a "must see"

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremont also viewed

 

Been to Fremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.