We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good museum and an excellent history of seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of History & Industry

Museum of History & Industry
860 Terry Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109
206 324 1126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of History & Industry is dedicated to enriching lives by preserving, sharing and teaching the diverse history of Seattle, the Puget Sound region and the nation.
Prescott, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good museum and an excellent history of seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very good museum on the history of Seattle and the surrounding area. From the days of indians to Microsoft the subjects are treated with some depth and a bit of humor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    91
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

had an afternoon available down near lake union and my wife and I decided to visit this museum. Was suprised how much historical material was contained and how well it was presented. I've lived in the Pacific NW my entire life and learned tons of new stuff about Seattle.

Lovely area -- suggest you walk around the boardwalk area and, if the weather permits, enjoy a good cup of chowder and a cold NW microbrew in one of the many sidewalk cafes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exhibits are well laid out and great location with a decent cafe. It is small so an hour will take care of visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
“a few hours at MOHAI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When you check in and buy your ticket the CSR is very friendly and knowledgeble.
It's a self guided tour which is very good because there's so much information going back to the 1st settlers to Seattle and the native tribes. You can go at your own pace.
We got there at 10 am, opening time and left at 12:30. We could have easily spent another hour there.
A cup of coffee would have been nice afterward but there was such a huge line. They need more help in the cafe.
When I got back to my car I had a parking ticket. I was supposed to back in park. This was really irritating and spoiled the fun of the museum

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

People had been praising the architecture of this new public library space, so I had to go see it. I'm not sure what all the fuss was about after seeing it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of History & Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of History & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of History & Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.