We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Seattle has to offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alki Beach

Alki Beach
1702 Alki Ave. SW, Seattle, WA 98116
206 684 4075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 506 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Beach made famous in a scene from the movie "Sleepless in Seattle" where Tom Hanks flies a kite with his son.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The best Seattle has to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although this is not a traditional beach, it is beautiful nonetheless. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Seattle, Alki Beach is very relaxing. You are afforded the beauty of Seattle from a distance. This may be a beach, but the Seattle weather still holds true and it's cold! I would recommend this beach less for sunbathing and more for some exercise or to clear your mind.
Just a tip, this is a rocky beach, and there is little to no sand.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    118
    27
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Seattle proper from here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really nice, long stretch of beach here. It's not like sandy beaches so don't expect to set up chairs and an umbrella. The water meets the sea wall where there is a park-like promenade. I can't imagine what the commute to Seattle proper would be (probably hideous) like but it's a very nice area and very beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I love Alki Beach!! It is my favorite place in Seattle but if you want to visit, here are a few tips on what to expect so you are not disappointed.

What it is....
- A place to find actual sand on the shore of Puget Sound near downtown Seattle.
- A great place to bike or stroll. The paths stretch the entire length of Habor Ave. & Alki Ave.
- Breathtaking sunsets
- Beautiful views of downtown Seattle (Harbor Ave.) and the Olympic Mountains (Alki Ave.). Bring your camera and/or sketchpad!
- Great place to grab a bite to eat with great views.
- A nice place to walk on the sand - by yourself, with a loved one, with kids....
- A great place for the kids to play in the sand.
- A place to people-watch and watch/play beach volleyball.
- Peaceful in winter when it's cold & rainy (see below).

What it is NOT (here's how to avoid the disappointment part)...
- A California (CA) beach. The sand was imported so when you get to the water expect to find rocks and seaweed.
- A swimming beach. Again, it's not CA so no surf or warm water. The water is even cold in the summer.
- Tranquil. Alki is a busy beach, especially in the summer. Expect to hear loud music, get caught in traffic and have a hard time finding parking in summer. (P.S. Don't run over the pedestrians - they have the right of way & they take it very seriously.) Rocky beach around the corner (Beach Dr.) offers a quieter environment without the sand - only rocks (hence, the name). Also, the winter months on Alki are very quiet but the weather is the usual Seattle rain & mildly cold. I actually find it quite peaceful in winter. :)

Alki - If you know what to expect, you can enjoy it for what it is!
P.S. Spuds (restaurant) has historic pictures of Alki.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views and Tai Chi too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

As a west Seattle resident I happily go down to Alki to enjoy the views while having a great stroll or bike ride. I particularly like to go Saturday mornings at 9:00 for Tai Chi on the beach. Class is by donation and held spring through Oct. Plenty of cafes and restaurants if you're hungry. Plenty of public restrooms for those that just want to walk. Beach is nice and sandy but water is about 54 degrees F year around. Great bike, skate, walking path all around the beach. Western (happening) end of beach about 3 miles from water taxi pier. Take the free shuttle and walk part or all the way back if you like.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great way to spend some time near the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took the water taxi to West Seattle and then hopped on the free bus that took us to Alki Beach. It was a nice ride, we got to see a bit of the various neighborhoods.

We got off the bus [it was a Sunday afternoon] and walked up and down along the beach. There were lots of benches where you could sit and people watch. The beach was very busy and it was really nice to be able to walk for a good distance, sit and watch the people walking by and on the beach.

This was our second trip to West Seattle and didn't go to the beach last time. I am glad that we made it there on this trip, it was a great FREE afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Alki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.