We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchovies and Olives

Anchovies and Olives
1550 15th Ave, Seattle, WA 98122-4008
206-838-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anchovies and Olives is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #398 of 3,488 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th & Pine
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came with 6 of us and were led to a table right away. Had to ask for our drink order to be taken and was then told of the three items from the menu they were out of (it’s not a very big menu and what they told us we couldn’t have, we would have preferred to what came, I’m sure).

I wasn’t overly impressed with the menu; not really a lot of things looked appetizing or appealing to me. I ended up ordering some spicy peppers to start (recommended by our waiter) and they came and yup, there was a white plate with about 6 peppers on it and a blob of aioli. I don’t know what, exactly, I was expecting, but I wasn’t impressed. They tasted okay, but it just seems strange to be handed a plate of hot peppers to eat.

Someone else ordered a crab pasta and she said the pasta wasn’t cooked properly (too al dente) and the noodles were all stuck together. Another at our table sent her main course back, as part of it was burnt (though they claimed it was meant to be). The only thing which looked great, that I didn’t try were the sea scallops. Three of them for like $26. Maybe it was an off night, but I wouldn’t go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Oyster lover heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love oysters on the half shell. This restaurant serves them several different ways (with different toppings). I loved them all -- the toppings enhanced the delicate flavours of the oysters. Other food is great also. Ambience is cozy, low light, kitchen in full view -- I can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice happy hour...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The oysters at "Power Hour" are only $1 and the best thing on the menu. The additional choices, including a couple nice pasta dishes, were flavorful and a good value. The happy hour wines were only two dollars off the regular price but this is a nice alternative to the Pike/Pine corridor on Capitol Hill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went here to try something new and were quite pleased. Of the 4 dishes we ordered, the Gnocchi was excellent as was the Casarecce. We also had the Spaghetti Neri, which was really delicious but the clams could have been rinsed more there was a bit of grit. Last dish was the Fettuccine and this was a disappointment, it really lacked flavor. We also had the Padron peppers for an appetizer and they were quite good. Enjoyed the Montepulciano d'Abruzzo red wine. Overall a great experience and will definitely go back again. Service was excellent, friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Bucatini was delicious! Service was ok. Would have like the server to have been a little more attentive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchovies and Olives also viewed

 

Been to Anchovies and Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchovies and Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.