We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Tuesday Night Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchovies and Olives

Anchovies and Olives
1550 15th Ave, Seattle, WA 98122-4008
206-838-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anchovies and Olives is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 3,490 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th & Pine
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Very Good Tuesday Night Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After driving around the city looking for a place to eat that was open (post Labor Day Monday extended closings), my friend and I came upon Anchovies & Olives.

I have always seen this place but never bother to give it a try. Not sure why I didn't but I will be back for sure. Two out of three appetizers rocked us but one didn't. Can't win them all.

Our entrees were both pretty delightful, too. One linguine and clams with slightly under done pasta was redeemed but an amazing sauce that used preserved lemons. Great twist to save the dish. The second dish was house made pasta with a heavy tomato and meat sauce. Hearty meal on a cool autumnal night.

The service was spotty since the server was not well informed about the wine list or the menu. Surprisingly the food runner had a better grasp on the whole show. Someone needs a promotion, boss!

Would return again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“All my favorite things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I LOVED this restaurant. I and friends started with oysters on the half shell. I especially liked the citrus ice and chili ice toppings. Then we shared a melon, cucumber and anchovy salad -- it was incredible. Next came yummy pasta dishes. There were several fish entrees on the menu also. I didn't know what to choose -- they all sounded fabulous. Also indulged in a very tasty Pinot Grigio. My friends ordered a very decadent dessert that they raved about. The service was absolutely tip top. I'm already planning a return trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, odd music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Anchovies and Olives has a completely open kitchen, and the dining room vibe is laid back and relaxed. Our starters of roasted cauliflower and dungeness crab risotto were excellent; the smoked trout salad was light on the trout but otherwise tasty. My 19-year-old daughter loved the bucatini with pancetta and spicy pomodoro, and my sockeye was excellently prepared. My husband enjoyed his sea scallops with eggplant caponata. The only complaint--and this is mild--is that the background music was energetic and discordant, which did not mesh with the atmosphere in the dining room at all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Two of us ate at Anchovies and Olives on a Friday night and had a wonderful experience. The walk to the restaurant from downtown was fun - the Capitol Hill neighborhood was bustling with a fun crowd preparing for the block party. The restaurant has a great feel. The windows were open, the kitchen is front-and-center upon entry and it's nice to be able to see the crew work with such deftness and rhythm.

We shared the Burrata appetizer which was amazing. Their house bread is just killer (why can't more restaurants have great bread?). My wife tried a quartet of oysters and said they were by far the best of our trip to the Pacific Northwest. They were wonderful on their own but were accented (I think that was the key) with delicate and creative touches - I believe one was topped with a little touch of iced rhubarb shavings. Each flavor complimented and accentuated the distinctiveness of the different oysters.

I don't normally select chicken but saw two come out of the kitchen and had to try it. It was wonderfully savory, juicy...it just made me happy. So happy that I forget what my wife ordered for her entree but I know she loved it.

From start to finish, our meal at Anchovies and Olives was a terrific experience and I'd highly recommend it. If you're not from Seattle and staying back near downtown center (e.g., The Westin) and it's a nice evening, walk back! It's 'downhill' and gives you fun exposure to a great neighborhood and marvelous city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting food, too loud to have a conversation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved the food, a bit too loud. Parking is difficult. Wait staff were quite busy but handled it well. Restaurant is tiny. No place to wait for a table if you do not have a reservation.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchovies and Olives also viewed

 

Been to Anchovies and Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchovies and Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.