We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Room, Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

At first glance this hotel did not impress. Looks like they used funky paint to bring a drab old hotel into this decade. Poorly done in the hallways. It looked like a bad elementary student was allowed to design it.
All uphill from there! Free bikes to be used by guests, spacious suite with a 3 head shower and an amazing staff who acted like fimaly for the entority of our 4 night stay.

Other than the ugly hallways and too-soft mattress that should be replaced, this was a great place to stay. Easy walk to most local sights as long as the Seattle hills are not an issue for you. Great price.

Room Tip: Our suite had a large bed and a fold out couch. Two full rooms were spacious for our family of 4 adu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Lambermom,

Thanks for the review! I'm sorry you didn't like our style but I'm happy we were able to win you over on everything else. :) I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed one of our Urban Suites, our largest room, and found it comfortable for your family.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    255
    70
    17
    14
See reviews for
109
293
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way from Vancouver to Maryland. The hotel itself was nicely decorated, hip and stylish, however I think I would have preferred a plain hotel. The biggest plus was the wooden floors - I hate carpet in hotels! The staff was very helpful and upbeat. The rooms were clean.

The issues were that the walls were very thin so you could hear the traffic outside as well as your neighbours. They also had one of those efficient toilets that flush really loudly that actually startled me from my sleep, and with a glass door that has room to the top and bottom that leads into the bathroom, you can hear all the wonderful sounds of your partner in there :)

The location was probably nice but the only time I was able to venture out was around 11pm and the area looked a little scary to be walking around.

Had breakfast at Cafe Max attached to the hotel. the food was okay but they charge $3 for a cup of coffee! That's sad when I can go down the street and get a tall cup of starbucks for $1.75.

So all in all it was an okay hotel for a one night stay but probably wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the monorail
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello TrailBiker_MD,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you were not fully comfortable here, sometimes our style is a bit to out of the ordinary for some that would prefer a more "plain hotel". We wish you all the very best and hope you may give us a second try if you find yourself in Seattle again.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you need to stay in Belltown, this is a good location and a cute hotel (better than some along the nearby Denny Park if you're going to be out after dark). The room was clean, the staff is nice, and there are lots of quirks and perks that really set it apart from other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi 868Loren,

Thanks for the nice review! I'm glad you found Hotel Five convenient and comfortable.
We would love to welcome you back next time you find yourself in Belltown!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Definitely one of the coolest hotels I've stayed in. Decor is awesome and wood floors of the rooms really makes it feel cleaner than most hotels that have carpeting. Staff was awesome and I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a great view of the Space Needle. If you can get one with that view, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review Jen G.,

It's good to see you liked our hotel and our staff! We always enjoy giving recommendations of where to go and what to see.

We hope to welcome you back to Seattle soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here one night when I was in town for a business meeting. I opted for this hotel because of a special the hotel was offering and it's great location near Pike Place and the convention center. The service was excellent, and the amenities were great for the hotel price. They had pineapple cupcakes and coffee in the lobby for guests, as well as complementary bikes to rent.

Both the lobby and room had hip decor, but seemed a little tacky. My bedroom window was nearly at eye level with the light rail, but the train is very quiet. AC/heat was controlled with an under window unit, and worked well. Shampoo and conditioner came in a dispenser in the shower, which I think is a great idea for hotels to keep prices down.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay. The hotel offers good amenities that chain hotels otherwise wouldn't unless you had status. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi Patrick C.,

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found it convenient for work as well at fun! I'm also glad you liked the monorail view rooms, they're my favorites.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked this hotel through hotwire. It falls in the "Space Needle" sector, but is closer to the Pike Place Market than the space needle (better place to be in my opinion).

Very boutique style hotel with colorful paintings, smelly soaps and small touches - like cupcakes in the lobby during the afternoon and evenings.

Room only had a queen bed - would have preferred a king and there is definitely space in the room for a king. Wood floors in the room and a very nice shower - good temperature and water pressure.

They have bikes to borrow and we took these all the way out to Bainbridge Island on the ferry. Get them early though - there are only 6 bikes.

They have coffee in the lobby all times of the day except the morning - when people usually drink coffee. Is this so you will buy it from their cafe instead? Would be nice to have it all day.

I would stay here again if I got a good Hotwire/Priceline deal, but would probably look elsewhere otherwise - there are so many hotels in Seattle with deals to be had. I did enjoy my stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for the nice review Ushela03,

It's good to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our complimentary bicycles. We will also match discounted rates you see online, so feel free to give us a call directly next time at 866-866-7977, we'll save some pineapple cupcakes for you!

Thank you,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel had a perfect location for visiting Seattle. Everything is on walking distance. The rooms are colourfull and modern. Nice design and personal. They have complimentory bicycles. Big parking lot and garage. I world recommend this hotel for visiting Seattle.
Two diners around the corner and they also have a small restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks Gerda M.,

It's great to hear you enjoyed Hotel Five and found our location convenient for exploring the city. I'm glad you were able to check out our complimentary bicycles to help get around while you were here.
Hope to welcome you back one day!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Seattle
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in. Then check out The Emerald City.The sights. The sounds. The scenery. Seattle is known for a lot of things and there’s no better home base than Hotel Five. Located in the heart of downtown on the corner of 5th Avenue and Blanchard, you’re mere steps from the city’s most famous attractions.Just five blocks away you’ll find the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, Experience Music Project and Pacific Science Center. And only six blocks from the hotel is the bustling Seattle Waterfront, World Famous Pike Place Market, and the city’s best shopping areas—Pacific Place, Westlake Center and the Nordstrom flagship store. Even better, the hotel is conveniently located on the Free Transit Bus Line so it’s just a quick ride to Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Sounders, as well as Safeco Field, the Seattle Mariners’ home turf.And after a long day of exploration, come home to a world of creature comforts at Hotel Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5
Ramada Inn Seattle
Ramada Downtown Seattle
Ramada Seattle
Ramada Inn Downtown Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Five Seattle - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.