We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your basic hotel, but very nice and good value - especially for Seattle!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nexus Seattle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nexus Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nexus Seattle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2140 N. Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Aspen CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Your basic hotel, but very nice and good value - especially for Seattle!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There's nothing particularly new, fancy, or original about this hotel, but if you spend any time at all looking for hotel options for this section of town, you'll come to appreciate what a gem the Hotel Nexus is. Clean rooms, friendly staff, easy access to I-5, and there are shops and a mall within very easy walking distance for any of your needs.

Because the rooms do face the exterior of the building (with no interior hallways), you do get noise penetration; however, I didn't find it any worse than any hotel in an urban location. You're pretty safe from it unless an ambulance or firetruck goes by ... which would be the case most anywhere.

The concierge service I received from the front desk personnel was above my expectations. Again, very friendly and very helpful, and saved me money getting to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for an even-numbered room ... this puts you on the side of the building away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you enjoy your stay at the Hotel Nexus!! We strive to provide excellent service and are happy to read that we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    98
    64
    34
    30
See reviews for
101
71
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ive stayed here many times. Walking distance to North gate mall and right across the street from McDonalds and Starbucks if you like tho places. breakfast is good and staff is friendly. I always stay with my two small kiddos when we visit Seattle Children's and its only a few miles from here. Right by I-5

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Nexus. We are glad you enjoy your visits here and we are very happy to be host to you and the kiddos when you are in the area... We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Nexxus 2 nights and received a very good rate that they offer for patients at UW Medical Center. Great I-5 access and free parking. We last stayed at this hotel over 20 years ago when it was Ramada. It has since been renovated. I am not a big fan of it's "retro" decor but was willing to overlook that for the rate and location. The hotel is clean, front desk staff is friendly. Great restaurant, Saffron Grill, is located in front of the hotel and I highly recommend.

The room itself was adequate. Flat screen TV was fine, bed was OK but sheets were not very good quality. We had problems with the toilet constantly running and the coffee maker was sluggish. One lounge chair in the room was not comfortable to use. The biggest issue was the walls are paper thin. You could hear conversations quite clearly As a light sleeper, this was a problem.
Their continental breakfast was in a very small room, inadequate for the number of people staying here, and the choices were pretty blah. Not enough fresh fruit.

I honestly don't know if I would stay here again. I would probably check out other properties first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to reduce freeway noise. Of course, you still have paper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Nexus one night. Room was modern, obviously remodeled in last couple years, and was clean. Staff at front desk was very friendly and I liked that they had working computer with a printer in the lobby. I was able to pull up an email and print in with a couple minutes. Breakfast in the morning was okay, nothing exciting but can't complain it was free and eating area was clean. I was lucky to have a room with the unique hydrotherapy tub. It was a pretty cool 3 foot deep tub and I was surprised with the fast flowing, crazy hot water, that filled the tub fast considering how big it was (earth friendly, probably not). Location was pretty good, restaurants and lots of shopping very close and only a minute off I-5. I would of rated hotel 4 stars very good but I had a terrible night sleep because of the noise! I could hear traffic, people in the rooms above and beside, cars coming and going out front (it is a motel style with door opening to outside), alarms going off, and the heater in the room sounded like an airplane (and yes, I turned it off but got cold and was forced to turn it back on). Between the noise and the hot/cold all night I hardly slept and by morning I packed up and went to another hotel. Maybe it was bad luck and just a loud night.

Room Tip: I had room on first floor, back side and it was very loud. I can't imagine the front being any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you have enjoyed the hydrotherapy tubs and that you found the staff friendly. I want to apologize that you found the hotel noisy. We do have several areas of the hotel that are more quite and would have been happy to accommodate a room move upon request. Thank you for your review and we hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Conveniently located 200 yds from highway I-5 but not noisy. Was visiting friends downtown and this was half the price of hotels in their area and only a 10 minute hop away. Seems to be a renovated motel that is now a very hip and student friendly place. Great updated in-room facilities include big desk, refrigerator and Microwave; Nice bathroom. Free Wi-Fi and a very helpful desk staff. They have a van that will take you downtown etc. if you ask them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for the Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and found the amenities and location a great fit and value. We look forward to having you return in the future should your travels bring you to the area again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband I stayed at Hotel Nexus in July 2012 for a total of eight nights. As we scheduled this trip just a few days prior to arrival, the options for available hotels in Seattle were very slim. Other options included SeaTac, Everett & Bellevue hotel/motels. As we knew we would be house hunting within the Seattle metro area, we went with Hotel Nexus. The hotel is more of a motel – no frills with simple rooms. Check in went smoothly & the staff is great. We were given an accessible room, which was a bit larger than their regular room, but it was located on the first floor right by the staircase on the front side of the hotel. As the hotel was very full we didn’t try to get another room location, but I wish we had – the location was horrible. As we were right by the stairway door, we had to listen to it being slammed throughout the night, constantly waking us up. The bed was also too soft for our taste in this room – our backs were really hurting. We originally were scheduled to leave Seattle after five nights, but on the fifth day, my husband’s back was hurting so much that he collapsed to the floor. Long story short, there is a great ER right around the corner from the hotel – Northwest Hospital. Turns out my husband had herniated a few discs in his back & he could not fly for a few more days. As we were scheduled to check out the next day (& it was still cruise season with limited room availability) the hotel scrambled & found us another room (there had been a cancellation). The next day we checked out of room one & moved to a room on the second floor, located on the front side of the hotel, to the right of the lobby. This location was SO MUCH BETTER! The room was smaller, but quiet & there were two double beds which were much more firm than the king bed in the other. We both finally got some much needed sleep & we ended up finding a house the very next day! While I’m not sure I would choose this hotel again, the staff members that we dealt with were all great! They really came thru with the second room for our extended stay. Not one person was every rude & they always smiled – even at 2am. The bathrooms were adequate – never ran out of hot water & the TVs worked. The wireless was sporadic – we received a much better signal in our second room than in our first. The breakfast was ok – eggs, breads, juices, cereal, coffee, etc. We always found something to hold us over for a while. If I ever needed to stay at this hotel again, I will make sure to request a room far away from the slamming stairway door.

Room Tip: Request a room far a way from the stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel Nexus. We value honest feedback from all of our guests. Summer in Seattle can get a bit crazy when looking for hotel accommodations and we are glad you found us.
I hope your husband’s back is making a recovery and that you are enjoying your new home in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

WHY YOU'D STAY HERE:

You're right off of I-5, it costs about half as much as a hotel downtown, it includes breakfast, there is a cool aquarium in the lobby, it has HBO, it has a mini-fridge and a microwave, wi-fi is included. There are restaurants and services within walking distance, a shuttle will take you downtown about every 2 hours, it's near the Northgate Mall. Free parking

WHY YOU'D STAY ELSEWHERE:

Thin walls, breakfast scene might be a little chaotic for some (particularly travelers not used to all that goes with small children "eating" breakfast) mini fridge seems like a good idea but it's really noisy, heater/blower easily overshoots comfort zone.

BOTTOM LINE:

Once again, you get what you pay for. The Hotel Nexus isn't luxurious by any stretch, but it has a lot of amenities, a pretty convenient location if you need to be in North Seattle or even downtown, and it is very reasonably priced. Seems like a no-brainer for a budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your honest and thorough review of Hotel Nexus. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found value in the property and location. We try hard to provide travelers with a great place to stay in a convenient location... while still offering all the amenities you would get in a hotel downtown at a much higher rate. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nexus Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nexus Seattle

Address: 2140 N. Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nexus Seattle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nexus is a non-smoking establishment located in north Seattle close to shopping and area medical centers, convenient to all of greater Seattle. The hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet; complimentary area shuttle, high-speed Internet; free parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, restaurant and room service. Guestrooms include granite countertops, hardwood furnishings, Serta Perfect Presidential Suite Diamond Plush beds, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and cable TV. Pets allowed in specific rooms (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nexus Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nexus Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;