We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B & B close to Broadway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bacon Mansion to your Saves list
Bacon Mansion
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102 (Broadway / Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
A small town in Northwest Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice B & B close to Broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly owner and staff. Rooms are diverse and all very nice. I have stayed five times in different rooms. Easy walk to Broadway and food and fun. Lighter Breakfast. Be sure to check out the different rooms for bed size and amenities before you book- or call.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found the Bacon Mansion to be very pleasant, very clean and a great location. The décor is beautiful. Parking was not a problem in this neighborhood, but we were driving a very small car. The neighborhood was very quiet during our 5 days there. The Asian Art Museum was a great find and we probably would not have found it if it had not been so close by. The lookout from the top of the water tower in Volunteer Park was splendid.

The service was great from the moment we arrived to the day we left. The breakfast is (as many others have pointed out), very tasty, but minimal. Yogurt with fresh fruit, granola and cereal is not enough from a B&B. The homemade muffins (they were not store bought) were delicious, but that still does not constitute a full breakfast. Now everyone is different, but breakfast was served from 8:30-9:30am. That is too late for us. We like to get an early start to the day so we can accomplish things and beat the crowds. Nonetheless, we adjusted.

My suggestion would be that they should have a computer station available for people to use for small limited amounts of time. Every B&B we've been at in the past 15 years has always had computer access so that one can check email and do an online check-in with the airlines.


Please do not take this has harsh criticism. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went with a friend and we were accommodated with two beds -- the room was lovely, clean and well appointed. The hosts were extremely helpful, with maps, directions and advice. THe common areas were very beautiful and the location is great. All in all, I highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs, near a common coffee area - I was afraid it would be too noisy for me, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My teenage children and I were going on an overnight trip to Seattle and found Bacon Mansion on line. We usually stay in hotels so a B and B was a new experience for the kids. The Capitol Hill area of Seattle is great - restaurants, small shops and lots of atmosphere. It is about a thirty minute walk ( and 25 minute bus ride back) from Pikes Place Market. We had a cool, comfortable and spacious room in the lower level of the house, wonderful in the 25 degree heat. Darryl was welcoming and gave us a quick orientation to the area. Parking was easy on the street. Other reviewers have mentioned the lack of cooked breakfast, but the yogurt, ample fresh fruit salad and fresh muffins was more than sufficient ( and good - and I hate places that smell of bacon!). The kids liked the chat around the breakfast table. Overall, we would love to find an excuse to come to Seattle again and stay at Bacon Mansion!

Room Tip: Call Darryl directly and discuss your needs as there are lots of different room options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had never felt unwelcome at a B&B before. We may have started off on the wrong foot when I asked if there was air conditioning, which there is not. The room fan was great and having windows open. We felt very uncomfortable asking for breakfast at 7:30, like we really was putting Daryl out. Otherwise, we enjoyed the room and ambience of the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location was very good in a safe upscale part of town. House and rooms were as good as the pictures suggested. Our host did a first rate job. Bed was comfortable. The only negative was with a name like Bacon one would have assumed that we might see a slice at breakfast but no. No bacon, just fruit cerial, and muffins.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from four days of "girl time" in Seattle with a friend and we were delighted to stay at the Bacon Mansion. Capitol Hill affords all the amenities of numerous restaurant varieties, boutique stores, bookstores, grocery store and frequent bus service to downtown and yet, the Bacon Mansion is a couple blocks off the main street so is in a very quiet neighborhood. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated; breakfast is served in the elegant dining room; we were welcome to play the baby grand piano in the living room; and there is a nice area outside for sitting with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Free wifi. Friendly and informative host and a fantastic location!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacon Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.