We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Space Needle

Space Needle
400 Broad Street, Broad St. and Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)
800-937-9582
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$64*
and up
Seattle CityPass
Ranked #29 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Architectural Buildings, Monuments/ Statues, Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Climb 520 feet to the observation deck of Seattle's signature building, which is actually 605 feet tall, for spectacular views of the city and its surrounding area. For food and fantastic sights check out SkyCity, the tower's rotating restaurant that makes one complete orbit per hour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The best view one could ever have is of the Space Needle. The elevator takes you up 604 feet into the air and thn you can overlook the city from the top of Space Needle (cost $20). If you get the City Pass (cost $59 and includes other Seattle attractions), you can view the Space Needle once at night and once during the day. ...It was awesome...Don't forget your camera!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,817
    1,612
    668
    96
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Spectacular View from the Seattle Space Needle, the icon of the "Emerald City"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The Seattle Space Needle, is the icon of the "Emerald City" and having dinner at SkyCity is a must do when you visit Seattle. The restaurant is a little expensive and not necessarily the best food as so many have said, but it was amazing to be at the top eating dinner with an spectacular view.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Romantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husband were in Seattle recently and one of the places we had to go was the Space Needle. It was quite an experience. If you are afraid of heights then don't look down when the elevator starts going up. Otherwise, you don't even realize you are 605 feet up in the air on a small pedestal! They did have vegetarian options which was a plus and the view is awesome. We indulged in the Lunar Orbital dessert. Delish!
We are planning on going back this year and can't wait.

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainfleet, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My parents and I spent 2 weeks in Seattle and had bought the Seatlle Attractions passbook, it you are staying and planning to do Seattle's main attractions I highly recommend this to save quite a bit of money. It wasn't too bad a wait, but pretty busy. Our highlight was the pic they took and at the top you got to view it and pick different backgrounds and email it to family and friends. Was a nice way to tell everyone how great Seattle was treating us.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gotta do it at least once in your lifetime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I've lived in the area all my life and visited Seattle often, yet this was the first time up the Space Needle. I was a little taken aback at the price of $18 each for me and my teenagers, however, it was a beautiful night and the moon was absolutely amazing from up above the city like that! We didn't go to the restaurant there as we heard it was expensive and not necessarily amazing. However, a lot of people did opt to eat at the Observatory level where there were many affordable meal-type choices, like salmon, chowder in a bread bowl, even specialty coffees and wine and other tasty adult drinks! We did not know we could order food elsewhere besides the restaurant, or we would have ditched the horrible hotel restaurant we ate it and eaten up there. Prices were decent. With your admission, you get a complimentary digital photo taken as you enter (group or individual) and you choose 1 of 5 or 6 Seattle-themed backgrounds. Then, from the Space Needle, you could go to one of several computers, scan your barcode to retrieve your picture, and email it right there and then to up to 5 people! That was pretty cool. Definitely bring a sweater even if it's a nice evening because it can be windy way up there! My sister and I agreed it would be a VERY romantic place to bring a date .... wasn't so romantic with the 2 of us and our kids though! Don't know if I'd spend the money to go again but you definitely have to go there once in your lifetime! Be a tourist in your own town if you live close by!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Needle also viewed

 

Been to Space Needle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Needle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.