We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice, with a few caveats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #16 of 95 hotels in Seattle
st.paul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good choice, with a few caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business. The hotel has a lot going for it, starting with a wonderful staff. Everyone is friendly and professional, and they make you feel at home. Other positives are the location near the Space Needle, the size of the rooms, and the "easy upgrade" to a suite.

Where this hotel loses a star for me is the noise in the rooms. I like a humming hvac system, but in the summer the air conditioning is downright noisy. In addition, there is a lot of noise from other rooms or "in the walls" from plumbing and such. And (this could be easily remedied), there isn't a single towelbar in the bathroom (I've stayed in 5 different rooms and found this to be the case). Vanity size varies from tiny to normal...a tiny vanity with no place to hang a towel is very inconvenient.

Back to the positives....there is a nice selection of food for breakfast: cereal, fruit, muffins and bagels, yogurt, a waffle maker, and a rotating selection of meats, potatoes and eggs. Juice, milk, coffee, tea are all provided. There's plenty of room in the lobby to eat breakfast, or you can bring it back to your room.

There's a small exercise room, and no pool. As mentioned I've stayed here 5 times, so it has definitely worked for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger vanity in the bathroom if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    267
    71
    10
    4
See reviews for
197
244
36
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff bent over backwards for our family memorial. Booked 12 rooms and used their conference room too. The family felt very good about the hotel and staff. It is nice to get eye contact and a hello from all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the PERFECT hotel for celebrating New Years Eve at the Seattle Center. The staff is attentive and friendly, the rooms are great, and it is SO CLOSE to restaurants, QFC, and of course, the Space Needle! The only thing I wish they would improve on is their breakfast choices... but, it is a nice, hot, FREE breakfast. Three years in a row, now, and counting! See you next year, Hampton!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Hampton Inn's hospitality far surpasses many hotels we have stayed at this year. The hotel had great rooms, and our suite was amazing for the price. The location is close to the Space Needle, which has the tram that will take you to City Center, which puts you in walking distance to Pikes or the waterfront. The fitness facility is really lacking, but they do partner with a neighboring hotel and will give you access to theirs. Breakfast is good, and once again staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If you have a family, consider the suites. They have full kitchens, separate bedrooms, and even two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip to Seattle recently. The rooms are very nicely maintained, even for Hampton standards. I would stay here again for sure. Here are my pros and cons for the Hampton Downtown Seattle:

Pros
- the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly
- the rooms were super clean and they even added a personal touch by adding who had cleaned the room that day
- the hotel felt new and fresh, from the fixtures in the rooms to the decorations in the lobby
- very short walk to the Space Needle
- I asked to move rooms due to a strange noise and the helped my immediately

Cons
- the layout of the hotel is very strange and one could easily get lost going from one side to another
- the gym was very minimal with only 3 total machines and no weights (but lots of "waits" for the machines!...see what I did there?!)
- was hoping for complimentary upgrade due to status, but they didn't even mention anything

All in all a very pleasant experience at this Hampton.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a two-room suite. The service is outstanding, but The hotel layout is really odd (feels like it is converted from Motel 6), and you will hear street traffic all night. I could not figure out how to turn on the heater in either room (don't think the thermostat works).

Parking space is very tight, so you better not driving a big SUV.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton in downtown area of Seattle. Perfect location to be close to the main attractions of the city.

Very efficient staff, who always made me feel welcome. I could have stayed much longer as i felt almost at home.

All in all i enjoyed from breakfasts to my accommodation and all that was provided during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Address: 700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Seattle
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#19 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
Hampton Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
Hampton Inn Seattle
Seattle Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.