We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for Seattle Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #17 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for Seattle Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed at the Hampton late November for the Marathon. The room I had booked was located next to the elevator, so I asked for a change, which was accommodated. I likely should have kept the initial room; the elevators were quiet and I ended up in part of the hotel which looked older (though in good repair and clean) and a farther walk from the entrance.
The hotel is about 350 metres from the Marathon start, close to the Space Needle and Monorail. Rooms are spacious and staff was friendly and engaged, in spite of being a very busy weekend with many requests for "late checkout" due to the Marathon on Sunday.
Reasonable rates, attentive staff and free breakfast - would happily return!

Room Tip: Higher floor in the "newer" section
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    285
    75
    12
    4
See reviews for
225
257
38
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to Seattle for my niece's wedding last August. Most of the family voted to stay at this Hampton Inn because it was relatively close to the wedding site (Rose Garden - Woodland Park Zoo) and it was affordable for everyone.

We were pleasantly surprised at how close it was to the Seattle space needle, Ducky tours (that was a blast!), monorail (which then brought us to Pike's Market). We were in Seattle for just an overnight stay, just to attend the wedding, but because of the hotel's lcation, we were actually able to see and enjoy Seattle's top attractions. What a treat!!!

The hotel itself had pretty standard amenities. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, even though our room was by the street, it was quiet. Breakfast was what you'd expect and was adequate.

The staff, however, was pretty good. They were very helpful, courteous and accommodating.

I have no problems recommending this hotel and would stay here again.

Room was comfortable, we weren't Sleepless in Seattle. LOL.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendig
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon and check-in staff arranged for us to get into our room straight away (we'd been traveling from Australia and *really* wanted to get some sleep before we fell down). Amina at the front desk was cheerful and friendly and got us checked in and up to our room in short order, which was great.

The room is average size, and feels very warm and welcoming. The beds are great.

Room Tip: Not so much a room tip - but if you like Greek food, walk about a block down 5th Avenue and find Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Arrived from Australia & stayed here for 3 nights in early November. Great location for visiting the Space needle (5 min walk). Pikes Market (5 min monorail then short walk), Boeing Factory (45 min drive) and Seattle outlet shopping (50 min drive). The mono rail station is at the Space Needle and takes you right into town where you can walk to shops & restaraunts. Had dinner at the Cheescake Factory (very busy). There are many restaurants & bars to choose from. After dinner it's simply a short walk to the mono rail to come back to the hotel. The hotel is a 45min drive from the airport. Seattle was much more than I expected and we really enjoyed our weekend in this great city. This Hampton is typically great value, good staff, clean rooms and convenient location. Our room was large and had a view of the Space Needle. Only gripe was having to pay for parking but it was easy and safe to access the hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willow, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is very nice. It is convinient to downtown Seattle and has really good restaurants close by. There is a QFC grocery store that is just a block away and a seven Eleven that is really close.
The rooms are very spacious i stayed in a regular room it did not have a frdge or a microwave. But if you book a suite than the room is quite a bit bigger and better equipted with appliances..
The breakfast is really good it has all the foods you need for breakfast..
overall really nice place...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Checked in with no issues, staff was courteous and was quite willing to answer our questions. My major issues with this hotel were basically about the security....We were walking back to the hotel after getting off the lite rail about 6pm and were being followed by someone who was verbally abusive and attempting to catch up to us and make contact and not in a nice way. We were actually trotting by the time we reached the lobby of the hotel. When we got inside there was no one behind the front desk, no one in sight and the person followed us in to the hotel. We dashed for our rooms and locked ourselves in. Later, when I left the room to go get coffee the person was outside on the sidewalk and started back in when he saw me. Again, no staff in the front and had to dash for the room again as this person came in. This was just wrong! Safety in a big city needs to be primary and it was not. I personally would never stay in this hotel again and would advise anyone else to be careful if they choose to.

Room Tip: I would choose a room not on ground level for security sake as the window of our room looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here with a very large group of people from New York. Even though there were a lot of us arriving at once, check-in was smooth and the staff was very courteous. The room was nice and clean, with great water pressure in the shower. Free hot breakfast was nice too. The staff helped us a lot with getting around the city, and referring us to car services and cab companies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Address: 700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
Hampton Inn Seattle
Seattle Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.