We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I highly recommend staying at silver cloud. The location is great, it's close to downtown but without the expensive parking fee. They have a free shuttle to Seattle center, pike place market, and pioneer square. Rooms are comfortable, free breakfast, reasonable room rates .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    256
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
298
260
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The room was spacious (one-bedroom suite) and relatively quiet. The breakfast buffett was freshly made daily with a good variety of dining options. The hotel location was great with many nearby restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and did some sight seeing while she attended a course. This was our second stay here.
Staff were very helpful with travel, maps, suggestions on venues.....
The gentleman who drove the shuttle was very helpful.
Breakfast was very good. It could have started 30 min sooner for early risers....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wow, besides being a very clean and updated facility, we were very pleased with the extras: free parking, complimentary laundry facilities, fantastic assortment of hot & cold breakfast choices (loved the real china & silverware), BIG screen TV in our room, even a shuttle that runs downtown to the Pike Place Market every half hour! We were so busy that we never took advantage of the pool, jacuzzi or exercise room. The hotel's location was perfect for quick trips to the Space Needle, Chihuly Glass Museum - even to several of the places participating in Seattle's Restaurant Week! The Silver Cloud staff were very friendly, helpful & professional. Here's a Shout Out to the great shuttle drivers! The only complaint is that the hotel sits right below I-5 so the highway noise thru the night was a bit troublesome - running the heater fan helped some. We would definitely return to this location!

Room Tip: Might try a room facing lakeside - could have less highway traffic noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Hills, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Silver Cloud over the weekend while attending a wedding in Seattle.

Staff was friendly though not exactly focused.

Rooms were good for the rate.

Parking was a little tight but no complaints since it was free.

Things I'm a fan of at this hotel. 1) the water pressure and temp of the showers. Absolutely outstanding. I like to take very hot showers with tons of water pressure and our shower was perfect. 2) The room looked out over the lake and my 15 month old son loved watching the sea planes take off and land. 3) the breakfast area on the 3rd floor. Tons of seating open floor plan and very well lit.

Things the hotel could have done better. 1) staff was friendly but not focused. We were part of a wedding group that was supposed to receive little welcome gifts. None of our group received them when checking in, the mother of the groom had to go ask for them and hand them out herself. 2) I needed to get whole milk for my sons bottle at 8pm on a Saturday Night. The front desk agent was very nice and said her best recommendation was to take a trolley about a block away and take that to Whole Foods, which would be about a 10 minute ride. I ended up texting a buddy who I knew worked in the area and he told me of a corner store about 2 blocks away that would carry it. I'm not sure if the front desk agent just thought I wouldn't want to go to a little store and would prefer a name store or if she just didn't know the area.

Things that I would change that the hotel has little control over: 1) we had a suite which was lovely except the bedroom was where you walked in from the hallway was of the hotel and the sitting room was through the bedroom. Seems to me you would make the sitting room be the area you walk into from the hallway and the bedroom offset by itself.

Overall it was a satisfactory stay which could have been a 4 star ranking if just a few little things had gone better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We picked this hotel based upon TripAdvisor reviews and were very happy we did. We had a room with view of the lake and loved watching the planes and boats. Walking distance to several really good resaurants. Some things that others did not mention: Free washer and dryer on every (at least on ours) floor; real china and silverware in the breakfast room; sofas and fireplace at the end of breakfast room where you can read. The staff was wonderful.
You are actually walking distance to the space needle and can get the monorail downtown from there. Also there is a South Union Lake Trolley that stops one block away and goes downtown. We used the bus which stopped out front to go to the campus of Univ Wash. The location cannot be beat.
We did not realize the parking was free until checkout. They might advertise that more. Really nice to be able to come and go as you wish...but we did not use our car much since the location was so good.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a 'lake view' room and thought it was definitely worth the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel has a very comfortable feel and the rooms were lovely and very clean. We had a suite overlooking Lake Union. Restaurants were within easy walking distance. The staff was professional and very helpful. The free parking and shuttle service are a big plus. We will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#23 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TV's, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.