We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union
1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good place to stay at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent 4 nights there. Hotels in Seattle are relatively expensive, but this hotel on the Lake Union offer a good quality for the price requested. Room was large and the price included a great breakfast.
Only one suggestion: the breakfast room at 3rd floor panorama-windowed was always too cold!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    240
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
268
236
20
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We started our 3 wk holiday here with a 2 night stay. We had a large bedroom with 2 queen beds overlooking the lake. Underground parking which was very convenient. There was a shuttle service to take us into the centre and picked us up when we wanted to return. No restaurant but breakfast was included albeit continental but was more than adequate. Staff were extremely helpful, special thanks to David originally from Wigan for his advice. Ate both nights at a Terrible Beauty, a local Irish pub.

Room Tip: Choose one at front of hotel for view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The location was great, it is right on the trolley that goes downtown. From there you can walk to Pike Market. Be sure to get a room with a lake view. You can see the seaplanes take off. We used the free shuttle to go to the Space Needle and Pike Market. That is a great benefit instead of taking cabs. The breakfast was good, and included eggs and waffles. I would stay here again on my next trip to Seattle.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I keep returning to this hotel even after the 20+ times I've stayed in Seattle. Why?
a) Rooms have a feel of home, most have fireplaces, a small kitchenette. This is not a sleek, swanky trendy hotel. It's comfortable, clean with superior guest services. It feels like a home in Seattle for me and centers me when I am in town for work.
b) Free (better than Fairfield Inn or Hyatt Place) breakfast, Free parking, Free wifi add to services that make a guest keep coming back.
c) Away from the bustling Seattle traffic and neighborhoods but close enough to drive to Pike's Place, downtown shopping, Queen Annes
d) Free shuttle pickup and service within the area. If you don't like driving, they will drop you off and pick you up. This has been one of my favorite services because parking in Seattle is a b*$ch close to New York prices. I've used the free shuttle a lot.
e) Can be a romantic hideaway....fireplaces
f) Focused and Responsive Hotel Staff.
g) Location feels like you are in a comfy Seattle neighborhood, away from it all yet you are really in downtown Seattle's backyard.

Cons: Turning in the snug parking lot can be a chore. Some of the views may feel a little industrial so ask for another room if you're not feeling the view.

Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake Union view (one side of the hotel). The higher up the better. You will see planes land on the water, super cool

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake Union view (sometimes, during peak, there is a $20 upgrade but worth it). Stay on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were participating in a Dragon Boat festival in Seattle Lake Union. This hotel offered competitive rates, parking, breakfast, and convenient access to the festival.

The hotel is dated, but has been refurbished relatively well. You can smell the age of the hotel and feel some humidity from the pool as soon as you enter the building.

The rooms had very comfortable beds, standard amenities and somewhat modern finishings in the bathroom. I shared the room with two others, and there was enough room for the three of us to move about comfortably.

Breakfast was most impressive. I do not traditionally get excited about hotel breakfast, but the Silver Cloud had many healthy choices. All the items were well presented and it was clean and stocked with many staff on hand to help.

Front desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

A great stay - would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the start of our holiday and booked this on recommendation of trip adviser, it was a good choice great rooms, clean, good breakfast, staff very helpful, location was good with Irish bar across the road and other facilities, also a free shuttle service we used to get to down town (pike place market etc) I highly recommend this hotel and glad I chose it.

Room Tip: We just had a normal room middle of hotel and found it quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is clean and the service was terrific. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We have stayed in several other hotels throughout Seattle (in fact, this is our 10th different hotel) and the Silver Cloud was surprisingly nice. I expected less (because of the price) but was very happily surprised. Free downtown shuttle, free wi-fi, free breakfast, free parking... and the final bill was MUCH less than downtown hotels. It is right next to the Fred Hutchison Cancer Center and directly across the street from Lake Union. Several restaurants and bars were within walking distance. The only downside is parking can be awkward at first as you have to have a room key to enter the parking garage and it is difficult to describe to guests where to park (I still am not clear on this).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#14 Family Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.