We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cost effective hotel around the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union
1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best cost effective hotel around the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is clean and the service was terrific. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We have stayed in several other hotels throughout Seattle (in fact, this is our 10th different hotel) and the Silver Cloud was surprisingly nice. I expected less (because of the price) but was very happily surprised. Free downtown shuttle, free wi-fi, free breakfast, free parking... and the final bill was MUCH less than downtown hotels. It is right next to the Fred Hutchison Cancer Center and directly across the street from Lake Union. Several restaurants and bars were within walking distance. The only downside is parking can be awkward at first as you have to have a room key to enter the parking garage and it is difficult to describe to guests where to park (I still am not clear on this).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    240
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
270
236
20
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Huge room , super comfy bed, fireplace, very large tv (that we never watched), room 705 was very quiet! Big bathroom, nice soft towels. Breakfast included, very good coffee. Only suggestion is more non-dairy foods at breakfast. Maybe offer a tofu or veggie dish. After we stayed here all the other hotels on our trip were bad in comparison! NICE PLACE

Room Tip: 705 was quiet and had a bit of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is ok but not wow. On Lake Union and if you pay extra you can actually see the lake from the room. Staff good and friendly. A free shuttle will get you to downtown for touristy stuff. Hotel is older without being nicely older. There are a few restaurants that are good but very pricy with quantities small...just not worth the money. No restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Go ahead and pay the extra for the king lake view...small window but you can see lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A large room, a large Jacuzzi - clean, well maintained, and suprisingly quiet. Breakfast had hot and cold options (Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, muffins, fresh juice, coffee, tea and more. The staff was very friendly. We stayed a week, and when we called for towels for some other need they responded quickly and with enthusiasm. I felt as if we were truly welcome guests not an intrusion after check in. We chose this hotel because it included free parking and breakfast at near the same price as others nearby, (all of them expensive). They only thing I can think of that they could improve is better towels, a hotel like this needs big fluffy ones! We would stay again. Best of all, great food within walking distance - lots of it, for every comfort level. Check out the Irish Pub and Dukes if you want to be casual.

Room Tip: You'll need to choose: a view or the Jacuzzi. The noice on the water (float planes land and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely location, enjoyed the shuttle service, front desk and rooms were clean.
Beautiful view and had a fab weekend :)
Only negative was the mattresses need a serious upgrade....
It is within easy walking distance to a few places for dinner

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a frugal family. When we go anywhere, much research is conducted on all aspects of the trip. Seattle is a wonderful place, but does tend to have more expensive lodging than we are used to. However, the Silver Cloud Lake Union certainly eased that concern. Staff was more than helpful, free breakfast was good, the shuttle service to various places - well, everything about the place was excellent. No complaints from here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a bunch of guys for a convention at the WSCC.

Complimentary breakfast was great with waffle makers, bagels, eggs, sausages, slices bread, muffins, and an assortment of fruit. The breakfast seating area was cozy with some outdoor patio space.

The rooms were functional with the standard trimmings. The room we were in included a pullout sofa, with extra linens in the closet.

Wifi was also complimentary which helped immensely as we were travelling from
Canada.

The shuttle service was also very convenient as it ran every half hour and you could call the front desk for spots on the outgoing shuttle or arrange a pick-up to be taken back to the hotel.

Overall this is a great place to stay if you need a base in Seattle that isn't in the downtown core but not too far away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.