We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel In a lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel In a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Dropped on this place by pure accident - managed to pick the weekend when there was a huge conference in town with 4500 delegates attending and the New York Yankees were playing a 4 series game against the Marriners so rooms were at a premium. My only complaint is I paid over the ods but all rooms were at a premium when we stayed.

The hotel is about a mile from the main city and offers a free transfer service but unless it is raining or you have mobility issues I would recommend the walk along the lake edge past the boats as the scenery is stunning.

The roms are huge and spotless and the breakfast is lovely. The cost can be a bit high but given the price of parking in Seattle and the fact that breakfast is included do go someway to evening the cost out as many hotels closer to the centre charge for both.

The staff are helpful and happy to help at anytime and the pool and gym are clean and an excellent addition.

I would thoroughly recommend this place as a base for Seattle

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    270
    55
    11
    9
See reviews for
323
274
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were staying 2 nights in Seattle, one day before our cruise and one day after our cruise. Seattle has a lot of hotels, but after coming across this hotel, somehow I felt this was the one for us. Our flight arrived at 12:40p.m. and we arrived at the hotel about 1:45p.m. and they were happy to check us in early. I asked her to confirm our reservations for our second night's stay, and yes they were there. She then asked if we were going on a cruise and we made some friendly small talk. Our room was well appointed and had beautiful views of Lake Union, the sea planes taking off and landing and downtown Seattle. Loved the french doors that opened up to the tiny balcony and the wonderful views. Shuttle service was prompt and friendly and tried to answer every question passengers had. When asked on the first evening where a steak/seafood restaurant within walking distance was, we were shown several menus. After deciding on one the shuttle driver offered to give us a ride. On the way he called ahead to the restaurant to get us on the list. When we got there and sat down they brought us an appetizer compliments of Silver Cloud Inn-Lake Union. Now that was just beyond anything I would expect of a hotel, it really just took our vacation to another level of enjoyment. Check-out was a breeze, we asked them if they could please call us a cab, unfortunately their shuttle does not, to the cruise pier, and we will see you in a week.
The first thing when we returned that the front desk clerk said to us was how was the cruise and did we enjoy Alaska? It was 10a.m. in the morning surely we can't check in this early? I'd be wrong yes they could go ahead and check us in this early and with another awesome room, just maybe 4 rooms away from our last one. Same wonderful appointments in the room and same gorgeous views. I used the hot tub and pool with no problems, after so much walking that hot tub was a welcome relief and after the heat of the hot tub the pool was also refreshing. The continental breakfast was one of the best I've been to, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, yogurt, cereal, milk, bread and bagels and accompaniments. I'm sure I missed something there was so much and ample indoor/outdoor seating with nice views of Lake Union. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again in the future and recommend anyone we know and love to too.

Room Tip: Lake views on the 6th floor afford the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The shuttle service, enhanced breakfast options, clean and well equipped fitness center as well as free use of laundry services made this an incredible value. The staff was always friendly & helpful, the rooms & customer areas were clean & well maintained. I only wish the surrounding area had better dinner options although I felt 100% safe anytime of the day or night on the pier and in the general area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I did not have a real friendly welcome - in fact it seemed like the check-in staff were doing me a favour by checking me in. No real introduction to the hotel - I found most facilities myself. That said they were good facilities, coffee available 24 hours, free shuttle to Downtown Seattle; great breakfast and bonus - complimentary laundry facilities. Also I wasn't impressed that the hold they placed my debit card was nearly $100 over the total for our entire bill - apparently that was to cover incidentals? What incidental, the shuttle, breakfast, laundry, pool use, Wi-Fi were all complementary - there is no room service. Would have been happy for them to put a hold on the entire stays bill but the extra was unnecessary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staff was very friendly and got checked in quick, room was clean and better than I expected. the gym was big and had a lot of machines free water and clean towels. breakfast was great and the dining area was huge. I didn't use the shuttle service but it does take you to the piers (if you are going on a cruise)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family stayed here the night prior to a cruise. I picked it based on reviews i had read. The hotel itself is beautiful. The breakfast area is great! The pool area is very basic and i was a little disappointed with our room. We got put into a room with a view of the parking lot which was very disappointing after reading most room have waterfront views. Traffic noise was there, all night. The fan setting for " constant" was broke so we were stuck listening to it all night. The staff was very friendly and the shuttle service was efficient

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the silver cloud inn. The staff was really nice. We also enjoyed the shuttle that took us to the main attractions in seattle. The room was very nice I had got a room with a whirlpool tub, which was my favorite part. I wished the pool would have been heated, but other than that I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#2 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#48 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#8 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TV's, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Seattle Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.