We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 5 Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Save Saved
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union
1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Spokane, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family of 5 Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I knew last year that we were coming to Seattle, I just did not know where to stay. After doing hours of research I decided on staying here. There were other options that may have been on the surface cheaper but the amenities offered here are a very good value. We are a family of 5 and we reserved a standard 2 queen room. We had more than enough room and were very comfortable. The things that we loved about staying here were the 24 hr. pool, the delicious breakfast, and the free shuttle. Also included was free secure parking. We used the shuttle everyday of our stay, and even the last day of our stay. It was so nice to relax and ride the shuttle without the worry of driving in crazy traffic. We enjoyed our vacation so much we are coming back again this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    212
    49
    10
    6
See reviews for
233
211
19
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Silver Cloud Lake Union is pretty convenient for a short stay. It is across the street from Lake Union and many restaurants. More restaurants are within walking distance. There is a downtown shuttle service. A reason to choose this location is the proximity to the city, but the feel of being away from the hustle and bustle. Check-in and departure were quick and easy for this pet free and smoke free hotel. There is laundry service as well as complimentary washers and dryers. There are ice machines. There is a fitness center, a business center with printer, a pool and a whirlpool. Parking is gated and free. The included breakfast buffet includes waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, cereals etc. Lots to choose from.
The rooms are pleasant although access is a bit of a journey through a maze of corridors. The rooms have iron and board, hairdryer, micro, fridge, a 42”TV with many cable stations, free wired and wireless internet, a coffee machine and a gas fireplace. The heat/AC is an in room model that isn’t particularly noisy and the windows open. The one complaint I had is poor soundproofing. The guests upstairs were the wake-up call. I have stayed there before and will again. Free parking, free shuttle, free breakfast and free internet make this place a good value.

Room Tip: Lakeside has views and top floor is quieter. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have recently had some health issues requiring me to stay in Seattle. This hotel is right next door to The Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and even offers free shuttle service! Anybody out there needing the services of this center should check it out. A great way to simplify a traumatic time. Staff is very helpful and the view is very peaceful and the rooms are quite nice and WARM when you walk in! Breakfast is a plus as well.

Room Tip: Lake union side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staff at Silver Cloud Inn, Lake Union proved to be more than helpful. They offer a shuttle, every half hour, to downtown Seattle and it's free of charge. Not only that, but we were attending a wedding at a venue close by, and the shuttle driver offered to take us there that evening. If the wedding ended before 11am when he went off work, he said he would return to pick us up.

When we checked out, we found our battery had died on our vehicle. Two Inn maintenance men happened to be in the underground parking area. They immediately came to our aid, gave us a boost, and we were on our way.

Add this to the exemplary service experienced at the front desk and it made for a wonderful weekend for us.

Room Tip: Room 624 had all amenities. Because of the fog, a water view room would have been wasted at this tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed at the Lake Union Silver Cloud. Needless to say, our first stay was very good so when we came to Seattle again, we chose to stay at this hotel again. Our family consists of young children.

We stayed during the last week of December. Around this time, the hotel was not as crowded as during the summer, and we had very relaxing time for our breakfasts. And speaking of breakfast, it is free every day, and served in a room with view of the Lake Union. The sausage and waffle are our favorites! They are really good and we had them every single day.

The rooms were clean, nice and big. The staff are nice. The location is great and so is the view. They provide free parking and free shuttle to downtown Seattle.

In short, we will stay here again when we come back to Seattle.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Located in central downtown and free shuttle to the Space Needle and museums. Pool and hot tub was nice. Rooms a bit run down for the amount of money paid. Wouldn't stay here again because it's overpriced for the shabby rooms. Nice breakfast selection that was included in the cost of the room. I would rate this hotel as 2 and 1/2 or 3 stars. Not that much better than your average motel room as far as furnishings go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a good sized room with 2 queens and a queen pull-out couch for $164, which when you factor in 4 free breakies each day & free parking and a pool and nice work out area is very good by Seattle standards. Also a free shuttle so we parked Fri when we checked in and didn't move car until we left on Monday am as we used shuttle to get to & from. Also right by the I-5 ramp so easy to find & leave from. Very good sea-food house 2 blocks away called Dukes, and nice view of Lake Union and Space Needle, so we were pleased. Friendly staff & lovely library area on 3rd floor with a fireplace and pleasant view as done like a solarium. We would for sure stay there again either with our without the kids. Also has a nice business area with 3 stations and printers & no issues with in-room wi-fi. Free local calls as well. Overall very pleased, as we were with the Redmond Silver Cloud this summer, but Lake Union Silver Cloud is more up to date.

Room Tip: View side (so facing Lake Union) & higher up would be best to minimize street noise. Sea planes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.