We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union
1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Top Choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Silver Cloud at Lake Union is an excellent hotel for leisure travelers and very good for business folks. It is on the northern edge of downtown Seattle, a little too far from the CBD to walk to a meeting, but close enough to be convenient to the entertainment areas. Seattle Centre is an easy walk. Walking in Seattle has never felt unsafe. The location makes the Silver Cloud feel a little less harried than other hotels right in the core. We've seen a couple reviews mention that dining is hard to find in the hotel's neighbourhood. Not true. There at least 7-8 restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Most of them across the street from the Cloud, on the lake shore.

The front desk staff are almost always welcoming and enthusiastic. Occasionally though, the check-in crew will turn a little less welcoming when the room has been booked through Priceline or one of the other discount sites. Upgrading to a lake view room when a booking is done outside the Silver Cloud system can be a challenge.

A lot of good stuff is included in your room rate; 24 hour indoor pool/hot tub, shuttle to or from different spots downtown (take it to the baseball/football/soccer game and walk back along the water), a decent breakfast in a nice room, and free parking. This may be the only hotel in downtown Seattle that charges less than $25 a night for parking.

The rooms are large, with a fridge, desk and a great television. Everything is always spotlessly clean throughout the property. Aveda products in the bathroom. The lake view rooms with 2 queens come with Juliet balconies but the king rooms do not.

You are not likely to be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Double queen view rooms have Juliet balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    240
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
268
236
20
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a small chain of hotels in the Seattle area. We reserved a room for the weekend at the recommendation of an associate we were visiting. Great value for the money. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel. There is no restaurant, but the hotel is within easy walking distance to a number of fine restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We love you guys. The service was perfect. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and made us feel special. We took her advice to ck out down town and have some fun. It was wonderful and our room was a perfect with a beautiful view of the lake. The sail boats playing on the water that day was an added bonus to our room view. The breakfast was wonderful too. Something for everyone. We will be back as soon as we can fit into our plans!
Thank You Very Much!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancovuer BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A good middle of the road Inn just off the shore of Lake Union in North Seattle. Complimentary Shuttle made trips to downtown very easy. The rooms were clean, the complimentary breakfast was basic but you could fill up as it is a buffet. The space available for breakfast was a little crowded, but with reasonably fast turnover it was not a major issue. Staff were very helpful, always cheerful and efficient at their work. Short walk to Joeys' that was a great place to eat. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A little off the beaten track but so worth it. Large, clean rooms, an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, complimentary internet and breakfast and free parking. Oh and then there's the free shuttle to key downtown areas. I have stayed here each time I go to Seattle and will do so again.

The desk staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and providing good directions when we chose to use the car. The shuttle drivers will go beyond the set route when they are not busy. One night they even took us to an area restaurant...and picked us up afterwords.

Amenities: No restaurant or bar on premises, but several across the street. A buffet breakfast with decent choices is offered every morning. There is a small indoor pool and coin operated laundry facilities on alternate floors.

The bathroom is decent size and there is a second sink just outside of the bathroom... Travelling with my sister...this came in really handy. We each had our own area and plenty of room for all of our "stuff". Decent lighting at the mirrors too.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Super easy access off I5 if heading south from Vancouver, BC. GREAT view of Lake Union (WHY stay on the south side I say) clean rooms, comfortable beds - nice restaurants close by AND free parking, free shuttle van with the friendliest drivers... a pool a small but complimentary breakfast - seriously - a great place to stay. I have travelled here for business AND with family and was never disappointed. In fact, during our last stay - my son left his camera on the shuttle van. We did not discover this until we hit our next destination. We called the hotel in a panic - and sure enough! The van driver had turned it in.
The rooms overlooking the lake were of concern on my first stay as the hotel does look across a busy street to the lake - however we were pleasantly surprised to find that the windows are extremely well insulated - and our sleep was not affected. It is an interesting, working dock view of the lake - which we quite enjoyed... watch the yachts, the float planes - just great.

Room Tip: As everyone has said - higher floors - facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Not right in the centre of everything and because of this I think it is rather expensive for what it is. Nice comfy rooms though, very large and clean, but breakfast nothing to write home about. They do however offer a shuttle every half hour into downtown and to the space needle so that is really great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#13 Family Hotel in Seattle
#29 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.