We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for hospital families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - University

Save Saved
You added Silver Cloud Inn - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn - University
5036 25th Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Tumwater, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for hospital families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are regular's at silver cloud seattle, with being a patient at Seattle Childrens, my daughter. They offer a discount if you mention that you are a patient at Childrens also. The hotel also makes a FANTASTIC continental breakfast. The kids just love this place!

Room Tip: This hotel has an indoor pool, and sauna. Kids request this every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    73
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
33
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here, while visiting the University of Washington.
My room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet, with free wifi.
Staff at the lobby were particularly helpful.
The hotel offers a free breakfast, which is simple but varied and wholesome,
and if you choose the right time to go to the breakfast room it can be quite pleasant.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the "University Village" shopping centre,
and about 15 minutes walk from the UW campus.
It also has a free shuttle to take guests to places within 3 miles of the hotel,
and it's situated close to several different bus routes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We are staying for the second time here because of the comfortable beds,amenities, location and spacious rooms. Our stay is indefinite and we left for a short period of time to stay at a lesser expensive hotel. Wrong decision. We quickly returned because the beds are great. There is a microwave, a fridge,laundry, great food and shopping nearby. If you are here for a medical issue it is easy to navigate this community from the Silver Cloud. Trust me it is so worth the extra money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A fine location for the university, obviously popular with visiting sports team, perhaps because of the good breakfast offerings and location too. Rooms vary from a suite with a kitchen, but strangely no plates, utensils or pots, to smaller rooms that are more than adequate for a weekend stay.

Haven't tried the pool yet, but it lloks OK if somewhat exposed to the breakfast room. The latter is usually cool in the AM by the way. The blueberry muffins are recommended, as are the "make it yourself" waffles.

Nice place, also convenient to the University plaza which has more shopping than you need and a really nice new pizza place.

Room Tip: The larger ones with the kitchenette have a nice desk..... Get one overlooking the neary jogging tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just love that this hotel is allergen free for me. It's in my favorite area of Seattle. Good walking, University Village shopping can't be beat, loaded with great neighborhood restaurants. Can take a bus or hike up the hill to U of W.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the 3rd floor at the back, but the everywhere is quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

All that went wrong was promptly and appropriately made right by the very accommodating staff. The first room I checked into had heating blasting to dry a rug that for reasons I didn't want to know, just been cleaned. The second room had a stereo of noises, one from air conditioning of room next door, another from my room's overhead light (I was advised by the maintenance guy (who actually was very, very nice) to keep the light off unless I needed it for makeup or something). Not wanting to sit in the dark, I was moved to a third room, which was, as they would say in The Three Little Pigs, just right. Or, just right enough for my purposes. Standard room,no surprises. Complimentary breakfast full and tasty. Location great.

Room Tip: Ask not to face 25th Ave. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Silver Cloud hotel (University District) is in a good location, walking distance from University Village (an upscale shopping area with many choices for shopping and dining) and is walking distance to many other restaurants. It is close to the University, but to go to the main campus there is a 20+ minute walk up a very steep hill.
Checking into the hotel, the service was friendly enough, although the charm was turned on only after the receptionist realized that I was a guest. The hotel is a little tired looking and is in desperate need of updating. The room was nothing notable, though again tired. I was surprised to find Aveda products, but the only bath products they left was one little bar of soap and a lotion – no shampoo or conditioner.
The breakfast was free – who can fault a free breakfast – but it was unorganized and made getting breakfast difficult when there were multiple people. Checking out, I encountered a very surly young lady who gave an attitude when I asked about a receipt.
This hotel had the important amenities that I look for in a hotel when I travel (free internet, free parking, microwave, refrigerator), but I am unlikely to choose this hotel again.
It’s not a bad hotel, but this traveler simply was not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sciuniversitymanager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn - University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are extremely disheartened that this guest experienced less than a high quality stay with us. While the issues of the property's aesthetics for this guest are, clearly, being addressed with a thorough renovation to the hotel occurring over the next few months, the service level experienced by this guest is disconcerting. It is our objective to provide the highest level of quality service to every one of our guests and that they each deserve. Although it is not an excuse, when a reservation is made through a third party, we are not able to provide an invoice as the room charge was processed by the third party. The third party utilized, however, is always able to provide either a reciept or additional copy of the receipt upon request. Regardless, we clearly did not clarify this information in a correct manner.

We definitely hope that this guest will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves with a future visit to our hotel and see for themselves first hand our ongoing improvements as well as the quality level of service we pride ourselves on providing - and that they are entitlled to experience on each and every visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - University

Address: 5036 25th Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#20 Family Hotel in Seattle
#45 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - University Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel University
Silver Cloud University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.