We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Ready for Update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - University

Save Saved
You added Silver Cloud Inn - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn - University
5036 25th Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Bloomfield Hills
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Ready for Update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've stayed here before and liked the hotel, convenience and price. Service is good, as is breakfast. However, hotel seemed tired this time. Carpets dirty. Prices up substantially since last stay. I would stay here again, but would hope management would update.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    72
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
61
33
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent Labor Day weekend here while visiting a friend and could not have been happier with our environment. The staff was pleasant and friendly and our room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good, as well. I particularly liked having laundry facilities, and was super surprised to see that usage was complimentary. Kudos for that! The location next to University Village was also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I needed to find a hotel near UW on very short notice (2 days). My usual "go to" hotels were fully booked, so I chose the Silver Cloud University District based on its location right next to the UVillage mall and close to campus. I found the hotel to be very clean, very quiet, and comparably priced to the other hotels I have stayed at in the area.

Parking is included in the hotel rate, and there were always plenty of open spaces. A nice breakfast is also included in the rate, which included scrambled eggs and sausage, make-your-own waffles, assorted muffins and cereals, juices, coffee, yogurt and fresh fruit. There is a good-sized eating area with comfy seats, fireplace, and library nook. It felt very "homey". Wifi is also included.

The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Maybe the carpet and bedding could have been a bit newer and the towels could have been a bit fluffier, but it was a nice room. The wall heater/air conditioner unit was the quietest I have ever used in a hotel room. I did not hear any plumbing noise in the walls nor people above us or in adjacent rooms.

I used the fitness room one morning. There are free weights, two treadmills, three ellipticals, and a multi-purpose machine. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The Burke-Gilman trail is right next to the hotel, so it is easy to access for a hike, jog, or bike ride when the weather permits.

UVillage is walking distance from the Silver Cloud Inn with its numerous shops, restaurants, a market and a drugstore. All-in-all I highly recommend this hotel for visitors to UW.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed one night while moving out of our house. Living nearby, we had never had any reason to stay there and our impression driving by all the time was that it was a well-maintained, moderately upscale hotel with a great location right next to University Village. After staying there I would say that's all true, but it needs a refurbishment to make it worth the rates they charge.

The staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful, breakfast was what you'd expect for a hotel buffet, and our room was comfortable and clean. Only negatives were the price ($195, definitely a downtown Seattle price) and the dated decor. The hallway carpets need to be replaced, as they give off an "old motel" vibe.

I'm still giving it 4 out of 5 because of the staff and location and perks like free parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My first hotel review ever, and hands down ...it goes to the staff and hotel at the Silver Cloud Inn (University Plaza).

Now we usually stay here because my husband likes clean hotel air!
But this trip was last minute. I was not planning on getting sick while I was away for hospital appointments, but the staff jumped in like family and friends.

(The extra pillows and blankets are sealed for dust, A/C and heat is filtered...everything is clean and sterile looking! Nice touches)

Hospital rates are fine, we get to save up for a free rooms with points, etc.

But what happens when you get sick on a trip by yourself? The Manager Steven comes in to help! I felt well taken care of. Shuttles to the U of W and Childrens Hosp.

The staff including Madison helped me load and unload, everybody set up extra night, great teamwork. Right down to the end, John comes running out to help throw my poorly packed, last minute bags in Subaru!! Did I meantion how clean the air in the room is? Yes, but comfy these mattresses are? No, they actually are.

Room Tip: Location far enough from U district to be safe, yet nice shopping. Quiet room. No noise from A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We come here several times a year for my husband's business trips and enjoy this hotel. Very close to University Mall where there are quite a few good restarants and lots of shopping. Free parking and free laundry for guests. Room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. Front desk staff was usually quite friendly. It's very nice that they provide a hot breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal) but everyday is the same and gets boring if you stay more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is in a great spot near the University. The hotel has a free shuttle within 3 miles of the hotel. The staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable. Check-in was quick and efficient. Free parking. Close to University Village shops and excellent dining options.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - University

Address: 5036 25th Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - University Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel University
Silver Cloud University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.