We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service so bad I will never use Holiday Inn again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Menlo Park, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service so bad I will never use Holiday Inn again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The only positive for this hotel was a good view (but many hotels in Seattle have that). The rooms were outdated and moldy. Hallways had no AC and elevator was too slow to bother. The clincher was the total lack of service. Hotel staff made mistakes on my reservations after I called ahead to confirm and pay for it. They blamed us for their mistake and were unhelpful, making us wait hours for a correction after initially wanting to turn us away even though the booked rooms were available. I called Holiday Inn corporate and they promised to rectify the situation and compensate us, but didn't deliver. I will never book at Holiday Inn for my employees again, and our next time in Seattle, we'll stay at one of the nicer and more reasonably priced neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
SixtyThree63,

My apologies for your experience. I personally embarrassed to see this happened. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me at your leisure.

Thank you,
Gerald Garcia
General Manager
garcia@hotelconcepts.us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    237
    112
    33
    31
See reviews for
151
150
41
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
british columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of December. Overall, we liked our stay. Front desk staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was as good as one would expect in a 2 - 3 star hotel. Breakfast staff worked very hard to keep the supplies up. The room size was very decent for a two-queens room. Everything was very clean. With 3 of us in the room, it worked really well to have the sink outside of the bathroom.

We mainly walked most of the time, so we parked our car at the hotel. Therefore, we did not have any problem with finding parking. It takes about 20 minutes to brisk walk to downtown shopping area and about 30 to Pike Place. The hotel could hire a town car for you to go to local places at a flat fee between $8 - 10. We paid $10 each trip to the Pioneer Square and Pike Place. We don't know how much it would cost with a taxi, but figured that it's $2.75 to get on a bus for each person and there's 3 of us. So $10 seemed like a good deal.

Internet was always slow in the evenings. Garbage truck always woke us up in the mornings, but we all fell back asleep (may not work that well for poor sleepers?)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel: good value for money (average of $110 per night, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, only $10 for parking).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Parking is limited, if you arrive late chances are you need to park in lot across the street. Disappointed that wireless internet doesn't work with apple products. The breakfast was good, with many choices.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dal28,

Thank you for your review. I regret your stay was less than satisfactory especially with the internet. We are looking into it and hope to have i resolved soon. I appreciate this feedback as it helps us to identify the areas we can improve.

Thank you,

Gerald Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Left our room after a brief rest to see the Space Needle. On our return we noticed our ipad and 2 chargers gone. My husband filed a complaint and was told the managers will have a meeting the next morning. I went to see some other reviews and read about the same things, missing electronics. Management should be more careful with the employees they hire. Seems like this thief is getting away from stealing. We have stayed in HI all the time in different places and this is the first time we have experienced such thing...disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear dette27,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very guest friendly hotel.
In spite of late arrival due to stormy weather the desk staff were very helpful suggesting close-by restaurants which would be open,
Complimentary hot breakfast had a good variety of offerings suitable for my gluten-free diet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First thing we noticed was the smoke smell thru out. As we got into our room, Carpet needed to be vacuumed the door to the bathroom is delaminating from water damage due to fact the shower curtain was falling apart. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The big plus was it was nice walking distance to the space needle & other attractions. The other bummer was a lot of construction around in the area, the road to the west was closed and a lot sidewalks where closed as well. your standard deal. I would stay again price is right and location is great. The location make this place.......

Room Tip: upgrade to the west room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
lnfette,

I regret you did not find our hotel to your liking. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel. I invite you to see us once the renovations are done and it is my hope you will find your experience memorable.

Thank you,

Gerald Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have traveled a fair bit this year with work and Holiday Inn has won the title of my go to accommodations. Holiday Inn Express Seattle was conveniently located to everything. The monorail, the Needle, and the Pink Elephant the most photographed site of Seattle or so I am told.

This facility was clean, friendly and service oriented but most important to our account department reasonably priced.

Thank you to all the staff that made our visit a true enjoyment. I will not need to look for other accommodations on my return to Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade from front desk because if it is possible they will make it happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.