We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food, value, service -- but tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location, food, value, service -- but tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Technically I want to give it a 3.5 rating. We'd scored a really great deal on a discount-booking site, so when I called ahead to choose a king bed, I didn't expect they'd feel the need to extend much kindness to us, but they were fantastic. They made sure we had a non-smoking room, too. (There are still smoking rooms in Seattle??) Front-desk staff were super-friendly, and free wi-fi always earns my gratitude. The free morning breakfast had tons of options; the only downside was that on a weekend morning, jockeying for tables and toast was actually getting a little contentious. But that is more a commentary on the clientele than on the hotel.
Our bathroom door was made of a cheap material and looked pretty worn out, but the room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. It's a three-minute walk to the Space Needle and EMP, so if you don't mind walking fifteen minutes (ten flat blocks) to the shopping district and the Market, it's worth the savings. West-facing rooms have really great views, too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    237
    112
    33
    31
See reviews for
151
150
41
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

A great hotel only a few blocks from the Seattle space needle, and within walking distance to my destination, rendezvous and the jewel boc theater. Stayed in room 405, checked ou on jan. 29th.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at this property primarily for its location to the Seattle Center. During our stay we also rode the Monorail to Westlake and the downtown shopping, and then walked back to the hotel. We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express in our travels around the country, and I would say this property is less than the normal experience. The property is older and is definitely showing wear and tear. New carpet and paint are needed. Room is smaller but clean.The staff were not overly friendly, but did take care of requests, etc in a timely manner. The breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express menu but they have definitely trimmed some items ...reducing costs? As Priority Club members we prefer to stay within the Holiday Inn brand, therefore our next trip to Seattle downtown area we will return to staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. More expensive but excellant staff, service, but unfortunately no comp breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing street and Space Needle if you want a view, otherwise you are looking at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Not my usual choice of hotel or even hotel class, as this was an atypical trip I took where budget trumped all else (got a two-queen room with free wi-fi and breakfast for less than $65/nt which can't be beat given the circumstances). Location is OK at best, though really depends on why you're in Seattle and what you want to do. It is located on a rather busy and grimy street but if that's not an issue, Seattle City Center is just a block away and Belltown/Downtown is a 10-15 walk or shorter bus ride in. If you have a car and need to get around, driving to I-5 or other major arteries seems easy. The room was clean, as were the rest of the premises. "Fitness room" really just consists of five outdated cardio machines and a treadmill, and the pool is really only usable if no more than 3 people are in it (or say, 4-6 little kids which, on this trip, were the primary users). Great for 1-2 night business travel, or perhaps a short vacation for young families traveling on a tight budget. Breakfast could really benefit from some fresh fruit, but then again it's there and free if you want it...mostly biscuits, eggs and a meat microwaved in bulk. There is yogurt, instant oatmeal, and some other assorted pastries available as well. I believe overnight parking is $10/nt though we didn't use it.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the Space Needle, ask about the road noise as these rooms do face a busy e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was the 2nd Holiday Inn we stayed at after the first one in Pulluyup WA where we loved everything about the place we decided that for our Seattle trip this was the place to go. It was very good but not as good as the first one service, food cleanlieness and value are all great the Breakfast had a few less items than the first one but other than that it was terrific

It is also near many downtown attractions

Room Tip: this one is near the highway so get a room opposite the highway if you want a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your experience with us! We strive to exceed expectations in our service, cleanliness, and amenities, especially when compared to newer properties, and it sounds like we were able to do that. I hope you will continue to choose our hotel when staying in Seattle! We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful find in downtown Seattle! Free wi-fi and breakfast and a breath-taking view of the Space Needle! And an enthusiastic and greatful nod to Cassidy at the front desk who was especially nice and helpful.

We walked to both the Market and Pier 69, which took about 20 minutes and might be a bit long for little ones...cabs and cars were also available for $10 or less. Westlake Center was also walkable and their foodcourt was ideal for our limited budget and completely opposite cravings for dinner (my daughter had "the BEST" fettucini alfredo and I had a gyro).

Great staff, good location, and all the amenities of Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are extremely delighted to be a partner with Victoria Clipper, and I am so glad you found us to be convenient in getting to the pier. Thank you, too, for your kind words regarding Cassidy. I will make sure your compliments are passed on to her. She is a great asset to our staff, and she will certainly appreciate the recognition. I hope we will be able to host you and your party again in the future!

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel visiting my boyfriend in the military for new years. My first night the room and service was perfect. The second night we were moved into a smoking room that gave me a terrible headache and made my clothes smell like an ash tray. I understood it was NYE and they could not change my room, however, mathew smith who works the front service desk was rude in the manor and smarted off to another employee about me as I walked away from our conversation of not being able to change rooms. He told me there wasn't a manager I could talk to and the holiday inn does not have a cooperate phone number. I have never been treated with such disrespect and be littleness. I will not visit here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
First, I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your feedback. I was unable to access this site for a period of time. Please be assured that I take all feedback either positive or negative very seriously, and I will be following up with the employee involved. I am both surprised and disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. Granted, New Year's Eve is one of the busiest days of the year for us and availability is somewhat limited, but it is the way in which we respond to situations such as this that makes all the difference. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. My email address and phone number are listed below. Please let me know what I can do to encourage you to give us another try. If you choose not to return, I understand. I hope that this experience does not deter you from choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express brands in the future.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
hambrick@hcbmi.com
206-674-6262 (Direct)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.