We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza Dangerously Close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Squirrel Pizza

Flying Squirrel Pizza
4920 S Genesee St, Seattle, WA 98118
(206) 721-7620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #395 of 3,561 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good Pizza Dangerously Close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I ordered a couple of pies as we unpacked from our cross country move. The pizza was very good, crust crisp and light with the right amount of toppings. Fortunately, I checked our order as I walked back to the car, and they had given me someone elses pizza. I walked back in just in time to hear her say, This one has pineapple. We made the swap and all was well. We'll definitely be back here - can't wait to try the other options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and beer spot in Seattle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Good choice for families and friends. Affordable pizza. Laid back environment. Service was good enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Another nice Beacon Hill gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Quiet area, easy to get to. Friendly service - our waitress was great with suggestions and info. The menu is full of seasonal, local ingredients. Prices are a bit steep but portions are big. Comfy, casual decor. Pizzas were yummy, with eclectic ingredient combinations. WARNING - when my wife and I visited, there were many screaming babies, very loud, taking away from the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Family friendly, good pizza, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Maple Leaf location on a Friday night. The place was packed at 6:30, with 10-12 people waiting for tables. Nearly every table had at least one child under 3, so the place was full of screaming kids. If you have no kids, I would not go here as the place is just too noisy. There is a small bar area but it is still noisy and you will be jostled by the people picking up pizzas to go.

The pizzas was good, with a thin crust. There are several creative pizza recipes on the menu. The spinach salad was good, fresh, with a unique dressing. We put the pizza and salad quality on par with Pagliacci (local Seattle pizza chain), and not as good as Zaw (another Seattle chain of take and bake pizzas).

Might try again on a weeknight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great for Friday when you don't want to go far or during the week when you just don't want to cook. We get their take out and eat in all the time. The pizza is very good, the staff is very friendly, and it has a good atmosphere. It is full of families early in the night and then more couples and friend groups as the night moves on. Great local joint!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Squirrel Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Flying Squirrel Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Squirrel Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.