We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice Beacon Hill gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Squirrel Pizza

Flying Squirrel Pizza
4920 S Genesee St, Seattle, WA 98118
(206) 721-7620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #551 of 3,525 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Another nice Beacon Hill gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Quiet area, easy to get to. Friendly service - our waitress was great with suggestions and info. The menu is full of seasonal, local ingredients. Prices are a bit steep but portions are big. Comfy, casual decor. Pizzas were yummy, with eclectic ingredient combinations. WARNING - when my wife and I visited, there were many screaming babies, very loud, taking away from the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Family friendly, good pizza, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Maple Leaf location on a Friday night. The place was packed at 6:30, with 10-12 people waiting for tables. Nearly every table had at least one child under 3, so the place was full of screaming kids. If you have no kids, I would not go here as the place is just too noisy. There is a small bar area but it is still noisy and you will be jostled by the people picking up pizzas to go.

The pizzas was good, with a thin crust. There are several creative pizza recipes on the menu. The spinach salad was good, fresh, with a unique dressing. We put the pizza and salad quality on par with Pagliacci (local Seattle pizza chain), and not as good as Zaw (another Seattle chain of take and bake pizzas).

Might try again on a weeknight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great for Friday when you don't want to go far or during the week when you just don't want to cook. We get their take out and eat in all the time. The pizza is very good, the staff is very friendly, and it has a good atmosphere. It is full of families early in the night and then more couples and friend groups as the night moves on. Great local joint!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent, but Pricey Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Food was super. I thought the restaurant could have been a bit cleaner. Staff friendly and efficient.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food in an easygoing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Maple Leaf, in north Seattle may not be a destination in and of itself but Flying Squirrel Pizza Co should make it one. The pizzas are unique blends of high quality, local foods. Pizzas are thin but tasty crust. The red sauce is really something special. Their salads are big and flavorful. I don’t eat meat but am never at a loss to find an interesting combo for my pizza. Not that you’d need more food, but their appetizers are scrumptious as well. Local craft beers (as well as Oly –for those not into crafts) and Blue Bird ice cream will round out an amazing foodie dinner. The atmosphere is kid friendly, large group friendly and has a lot of local regulars. The staff is welcoming and easy going. Pizzas generally bake very quickly, but hanging out isn’t frowned upon. I generally go after 7 pm to avoid the big rush, when it can get a bit hectic and loud. Definitely worth the trip to Maple Leaf.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Squirrel Pizza also viewed

Been to Flying Squirrel Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Squirrel Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.