We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musical House on Harvard B&B

Musical House on Harvard B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Musical House on Harvard B&B
Save
You added Musical House on Harvard B&B to your Saves list
2612 Harvard Ave. E, Seattle, WA 98102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peaceful haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I had a wonderful stay at the Musical House - the hosts were very friendly, thoughtful, and hospitable. We enjoyed the area a lot, and the delicious breakfast. Gorgeous house!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My friend and I recently traveled to Seattle. We stayed with Albert and Barbra and their family for about 7 days. My friend and I stayed in the double room, the beds were so comfortable thanks to the use of memory foam.

Our hosts were a great blend of engaging and private. They welomed us every morning over a most delicious breakfast, with spirited conversation and a detail of mind to remember how we liked our coffee/ tea in the morning. On the mornings that we traveled early we had a wonderful "To Go" breakfast waiting for us in the guest fridge. They even invited us to their family 4th of July cookout.

While the house is located just across from a very busy street and can be load for those not used to city life, it is perfectly situated for easy access to downtown by bus or car and the the shops and restaurants on Broadway are just a 10-20 minute walk away.

I would and have already recommened it to friends.

Thank you Albert and Barbara for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Musical House on Harvard Street. Albert and Barbara made me feel like one of the family. Every morning, Albert was ready with hot coffee and a breakfast that filled us up for a day of exploring. On the two occasions that we had to leave extremely early, he packed us a "journey box" breakfast that we enjoyed in the car (just as delicious as his sit-down breakfasts).

I had the pleasure of celebrating the Nation's 4th in Seattle, and Albert and Barbara graciously asked us to join them for a delicious dinner that evening and for a view of fireworks on the roof. It was a great location to watch the display.

The room itself was lovely - beds were extremely soft and comfortable. While the house is by the highway, it was still a good night's sleep. The house is located by a great park, for early morning runs, and very near the local bus which takes you right downtown.

All in all, I would recommend the Musical House on Harvard Street to any and all who are headed to Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Albert and Barbara were great hosts. We enjoyed our room and their hospitality. They were very helpful in our planning. House is very well kept. The location is great - close to a houseboat walk, very near a bus stop and walking distance to Broadway. We had several meals on Broadway and enjoyed them all - especially the pumpkin curry!! It was nice to have a relaxed and delicious breakfast and good conversation with other guests. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

albert is a fine figure of a man who is exceptionally helpful. i have not eaten better breakfasts. my wife and i stayed for a week in an upstairs room with a good closet and balcony. the bed was fabulous and the big wide windows and window seats were charming. that the balcony has unpainted plywood did not prevent me from sitting out on it smoking a cigar and enjoying the seattle night.
the bathroom, old, pretty, clean, and tiled, has a nice large clawfoot porcelain tub.
the ocean-like traffic drone was not especially bothersome.
one night we walked the 3.5 miles downtown and got a bus back. otherwise we rode our bicycle. public transportation in seattle is free some times and bicycle-friendly.
here is what the hosts did specifically:
kept the room and bathroom and house spotlessly clean providing plentiful towels.
cooked elaborate healthy 3-course breakfasts every morning with great whole grain bread, organic food, lots of fruit, tea, coffee, yogurt, juices, eggs, bacon, vegetables (in the omelets), etc. the cooking is attractive, gourmand, creative, and delicious.
provided work clothes so i wouldn't soil the clothes i brought assembling and disassembling our boxable tandem.
had friends come over to play guitar and fiddle with us (we play fiddle and harmonica) during which time the host played righteous upright string bass.
stored our large tandem box and empty travel bag for free for a few days while we went to whidbey island, and helped with a fedex pickup after we left.
provided a guest refrigerator full of juicey drinks with room for our milk, yogurt, beer, etc.
let us use the computer (as advertised). provided a great lunchbox (as advertised) for our early morning plane trip.
let us keep our tandem in the living room during the night.
the hostess, who is quiet and sweet, and the host acted like they were there to serve us in any way to benefit our stay. i can imagine albert responding less sympathetically to demanding, entitled consumers than he did to us. Holiday Inn-type expectations are inappropriate for this beautiful, historic house and its justifiably proud host.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We, my wife, daughter and myself had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights. Fantastic breakfast. Very nice rooms and a host that was more than helpfull. Would go again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

we arrived here very jet lagged with a five year old straight off the plane from beijing. we had a wonderful stay with great food and found very welcoming hosts. they let our daughter walk perrito, their dog in the gorgeous little park around the corner which for her was probably the hilight of seattle. our room was right near the highway but the hum of that was like white noise, no honking, and it didn't disturb our sleep. beautiful old house they have and highly recommend this lovely spot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Musical House on Harvard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musical House on Harvard B&B

Address: 2612 Harvard Ave. E, Seattle, WA 98102
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why is it called “The Musical House?” Viewing the front, The Musical House appears to have two treble clefs lying on their side. The home interior has a distinct spatial integrity with well-sized rooms and passageways. Albert, establisher, owner and operator traveled the world as a professional musician for many years. Albert’s philosophy is that people ought to leave their residence each morning prepared to “sing their song” as their revels itself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musical House on Harvard B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.