We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Foodie place worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spur Gastropub

Spur Gastropub
113 Blanchard, Seattle, WA (Belltown)
206-728-6706
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spur Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 3,492 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Belltown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Description: Spur Gastropub An intimate urban pub in Belltown. Plates to share. Cocktails to entice. Chefs Brian McCracken and Dana Tough opened Spur in Seattle’s Belltown in 2008 and already it’s been recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the country’s top restaurants. Acknowledged for turning out some of the best dishes and cocktails in town by local media, the Chefs were selected as "Rising Star Chefs" nationally by the industry insider magazine StarChefs. In addition to earning the attention of Wine & Spirits magazine, their cocktails have made Spur one of Seattle’s top 10 bars. The Chefs’ collaboration dates back to their time in the kitchen at Maria Hines’ Earth and Ocean restaurant, together on Hines’ traveling team at the 2005 James Beard Dinner in New York, and today creating their menus at Spur.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Foodie place worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came for a culinary adventure during our anniversary. The service was exceptional, the food was really good and we were introduced to new flavor combinations that were exciting. The only place it fell short for us was the desserts. They were self indulgent in creativity and lacked flavor. Our favorites were the salmon crostini (a must), merguez sausage, and the seared gnudi. The restaurant was very dark but definitely helped add romance where another gastropub may not shine in that category. Would definitely go back. The servers were informative without being condescending and very attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed the scene as well as conscientious food. Sincere service. Great small space with high-end hip decor (sparse/modern). Had an excellent old-fashioned with rye. Creative food options like pork belly sliders were all yummy. The tab for 2 was $132.00 including drinks and tip. I woke up at 5 am hungry (maybe I should have ordered more). Bartender had an unpleasant exchange with one in our group over a mis-mixed cocktail. I didn't hear it but can say that our friend who has owned a restaurant for 25-years is never rude or inconsiderate, so maybe the bartender was having a bad night. For those of us over 50, the noise level was a little high making it hard to hear with a group of 7.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy Taste Buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great dinner! My companion and I shared everything we ordered. We started with the Chicken Liver Terrine and I knew I had found a new favorite. The flavor was intense and memorable. The Tagliatelle and Pork Belly Sliders were also favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice informal environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is small, in a not particularly attractive neigh borough of Seattle.
But the food is really special and put the place in the list of the best place to eat in the city.
We tried a 5 course menu with wine pairing. All the courses were memorable. And all were extremely well executed and presented. My personal choice for the evening would be the "veal sweetbreads" where the extremely tender meat, perfectly cooked, came wrapped in a light bread crust and accompanied by a sweetcorn pave.
I appreciated the strong personality in the execution of the dishes with an excellent and original use of acid tones, spices and herbs and some daring combination.
This is not the place were you expect a waiter waiting in formal attire, or an extra speedy service.
Take your time and enjoy the food (and the good wine list). Reservation are recommended (space is really limited). And don't bring under age kids.... Seattle regulations are very strict for business were alcohol is served.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, be ready to try something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food at Spur was fantastic (Sockeye Salmon crostini were amazing!), as were the rather strong and creative drinks. The food is very eclectic/gastropub style obviously, but all prepared very well and tasted great. The service is a bit slow, but you're not there to get in and out quickly, so expect to spend some money and have a great meal.

Definitely make a reservation if you have anything more than 4 people, the place really isn't set up for groups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spur Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Spur Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spur Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.